Arsenal Summer School 2013

Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre in Cairo © Julien Siehr

Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art has been putting on a summer school every August since 2009. It is open to anyone from the various different fields of film and video art interested in taking part. The goal of the three-day event is to hold in-depth discussions on a particular topic where film theory and practice meet without any pressure to reach predefined conclusions. Ten different modules are offered by the invited speakers and consist of presentations, discussions and workshops of a range of different types.

The fifth Arsenal Summer School will take place from August 21 to 23. "Experiment Institution: Dialogues on How to Build an Independent Film Culture in Cairo and Berlin" will consist of eight events – discussions, film talks, and screenings – at which different contributors from theory and practice will reflect on the tasks and challenges of working with film. While the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, the Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre in Cairo has only just been founded. Two institutions with many interfaces and similar visions discuss and pose questions: What do we understand by the concept "subversive/alternative" cinema – both historically and today? Have there been shifts in meaning? What are the tasks and missions of curatorial practice within an institutional framework? What contemporary ideas are available for this? What is the significance of film archives with respect to the contemporary practice with film?

Dialogues between the two institutions, represented by: Mohamed Beshir, Hana Al Bayaty, Tamer El Said (Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre in Cairo) & Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art)
With participation by: Michel Balagué, filmmaker, producer (Mengamuk Films, Berlin/Vienna), co-founder of Labor Berlin, Marcin Malaszczak, filmmaker, co-founder of Mengamuk Films, Berlin/Vienna, Michael Zryd, York University Toronto

The Presentations will be held in English!

Download program (PDF)

Attendance:
The number of participants is limited (30 persons).

Attendance fee:
125 Euro
105 Euro (members, students, Berlin-Pass)
85 Euro (members of the arsenal freundeskreis)

Registration deadline: 15 August 2013 Event venue:

Arsenal cinema, Potsdamer Str. 2, 10785 Berlin

Download registration form (PDF)

Contact: summerschool@arsenal.de


PROGRAM


Wednesday, 21 August  

3:00 p.m.
Experiment Institution: Dialogues on How to Build an Independent Film Culture in Cairo and Berlin
Welcome of participants and introduction Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler und Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art), Mohamed Beshir, Hana Al Bayaty, Tamer El Said (Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre in Cairo)
location: Cinema 2  

3:30–5.30 p.m.
Cinema as a Contemporary Practice
While the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year, the Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre in Cairo has just been founded. Two institutions with many interfaces discuss and pose questions. What are the tasks and challenges of working with film in a living and timely manner in various social and political contexts? What do the terms public and counter-public mean today? What strategies of mediating film are being sought out? There is a self-reflexive question at the center of all this: What are the distinguishing characteristics of a living cinematheque, a film institution, a film cooperative, a living film archive?
location: Cinema 2  

6:00–7:00 p.m.
Capacity Building – Where Does the Institutionalization of the Experimental Begin? Forming institutions in the area of alternative, experimental, or independent film seems just as inevitable as critiquing them. Often, however, what institutions offer artists, but also ‘comsumers’ or cultural producers, is above all the opportunity for self-organization, without which they could not exist. To what degree does institutionalization contradict the anti-conformism of experimental filmmaking, or to what degree does the formation of institutional structures promote the cinema as a site for subversive art, and film as the expression of it? (Michael Zryd, York University Toronto)
location: Cinema 2

8:00 p.m. dinner


Thursday, 22 August

10:00 a.m.–12:30 p.m.
SIENIAWKA – A Classic Forum Film?

Filmmaker Marcin Malaszczak and producer Michel Balagué discuss film visions and the possibilities of financial and creative autonomy in the production process. Screening with discussion following: SIENIAWKA, Marcin Malaszczak, Germany, Poland 2013, 126 min Future, past, and present meet in SIENIAWKA, a film of few words. The men in the “outside world” live in the “freedom” of a zone that bears the geographical, political, and film historical marks of an apocalyptic present. Other men have fled to the “inside world” of an institution, resigning themselves to rigid everyday routine. How real can life be in place forgotten by history? “SIENIAWKA is an intelligent film about a place not far from our border to Poland. It is surrounded… by an apocalyptic landscape scarred by open-cast coal mining. Over two long, but never too long hours of this classic Forum film, we even come to understand this image. The madmen are still us.” (Philipp Bühler)
location: Cinema 2

1:30–3:30 p.m.
Alternative/Independent/Subversive Cinema
What do we understand by these terms – both historically and today? Have there been shifts in their meaning? What socio-cultural and political frames of reference are bound up with this kind of terminology? What meaning do they take on within an institutional framework?
location: Cinema 2

4:00–6:00 p.m.
Archive Work as a Contemporary Artistic and Curatorial Practice
What does it mean to do curatorial work with films? What does the curator’s responsibility look like within an institutional structure, as well as within a political system? What is the mediating task at hand, and how should we understand the relationship to censorship and social critique? To what degree is curatorial practice an expression of collection consciousness and/or the curator’s individuality?
location: Cinema 2


Friday, 23 August


10:00 a.m.–12:00 p.m.
What is a Revolutionary Film?
Screening with discussion following: AL-KHOROUGH LEL-NAHAR (Coming Forth by Day) Hala Lotfy, Egypt, United Arab Emirates, 2012, 96 min One day in the life of Soad, who lives with her mother and bed-ridden father at the edge of Cairo, resigned to caring for her father. The camera patiently follows her routine activities, capturing both her frustration and also moments of great tenderness. Hala Lotfy’s impressive debut focuses the gaze on the relationship of light and shadow, of inside and outside, of life and death. Soad’s longing is palpably directed outward. But when one evening she leaves the apartment and drifts alone through the Cairene night, it becomes clear how far away she is from her own needs.
location: Cinema 2

1:30–3:30 p.m.
Archive Work as Looking Back to the Future
Over the course of the last 50 years, a comprehensive archive of around 8,000 films has been collected at the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art, without any systematic collecting mission ever having existed. In Cairo, there is currently no film archive at all. Artistic works and films that might serve as witness to the past revolutionary upheavals in the country, and which might be able to focus interest on the cultural identity and history of the country, are scattered about – in private homes, at censorship boards, abroad … Despite the differing starting points, both institutions are faced with the question of how doing archive work as a contemporary and artistic practice can be understood and implemented within these two institutions.
location: Cinema 2

4:00–6:00 p.m.
Closing discussion with reception following
location: Cinema 2

Arsenal Summer School 2013

Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre in Cairo © Julien Siehr

Seit 2009 bietet das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst in jedem August eine Summer School an. Sie richtet sich an alle Interessierte aus den verschiedenen Bereichen der Film- und Videokunst. Ziel der Summer School ist, in drei Tagen ein Thema, das sich im Grenzbereich zwischen Theorie und Praxis des Films bewegt, ohne Leistungsdruck tiefer zu erörtern. 



Vom 21. bis 23. August findet die nunmehr fünfte Arsenal Summer School statt. Unter dem Titel  “Experiment -- Institution. Dialogues on How to Build an Independent Film Culture in Cairo and Berlin“ reflektieren ReferentInnen aus Theorie und Praxis in acht Veranstaltungen – Diskussionen, Filmgesprächen und Screenings – die Aufgaben und Herausforderungen einer lebendigen und zeitgemäßen Arbeit mit Film. Während das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst dieses Jahr seinen 50. Geburtstag feiert, hat sich die Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre in Kairo gerade konstituiert. Zwei Institutionen mit vielen Schnittstellen und ähnlichen Visionen diskutieren und werfen Fragen auf: Was ist unter dem Begriff "subversives / alternatives" Kino zu verstehen – in der Vergangenheit und gegenwärtig? Gibt es Bedeutungsverschiebungen? Was sind die Aufgaben und der Vermittlungsauftrag der kuratorischen Praxis innerhalb eines institutionellen Rahmens? Welche zeitgenössischen Ideen gibt es hierzu? Welche Bedeutung haben Filmarchive im Hinblick auf die zeitgenössische Praxis mit Film?

Dialoge zwischen: Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst), Mohamed Beshir, Hana Al Bayaty, Tamer El Said (Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre in Kairo)
Unter Beteiligung von: Michel Balagué, Marcin Malaszczak, Michael Zryd 

Die Veranstaltungen finden in englischer Sprache statt!

Programm als PDF zum Download

Veranstaltungsort ist das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst im Filmhaus am Potsdamer Platz, Potsdamer Str. 2, 10785 Berlin.



Die Teilnehmerzahl ist auf 30 Personen begrenzt. Plätze werden nach Eingang der Anmeldungen vergeben. Anmeldeschluss ist der 15. August 2013. Teilnahmegebühren: 125 Euro / 105 Euro (Mitglieder, Studierende, Berlin-Pass) / 85 Euro (Mitglieder im arsenal freundeskreis).

Anmeldeformular als PDF zum Download

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an: Nora Molitor oder Angelika Ramlow | Projektkoordination summerschool(at)arsenal-berlin.de


PROGRAMM

Mittwoch, 21.8.

15 Uhr 
Experiment Institution. Dialogues on how to build an independent film culture in Cairo and Berlin
Begrüßung der TeilnehmerInnen und Einführung Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler und Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst), Mohamed Beshir, Hana Al Bayaty, Tamer El Said (Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre in Kairo)
Ort: Kino 2, 2. UG  

15.30 – 17.30 Uhr
Kino als Praxis der Gegenwart
Während das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst dieses Jahr seinen 50. Geburtstag feiert, hat sich die Cimatheque – Alternative Film Centre in Kairo gerade konstituiert. Zwei Institutionen mit vielen Schnittstellen diskutieren und werfen Fragen auf. Was sind die Aufgaben und Herausforderungen einer lebendigen und zeitgemäßen Arbeit mit Film in unterschiedlichen gesellschaftlichen und politischen Zusammenhängen? Was bedeuten heute die Begriffe Öffentlichkeit und Gegenöffentlichkeit? Welche Strategien der Filmvermittlung sind gefragt? Im Zentrum steht die selbstreflexive Frage: Was zeichnet eine lebendige Kinemathek, eine Filminstitution, eine Filmkooperative, ein lebendiges Filmarchiv aus?
Ort: Kino 2, 2. UG  

18 – 19 Uhr
Hilfe zur Selbsthilfe – Wo beginnt die Institutionalisierung des Experimentellen?


Die Bildung von Institutionen im Bereich des alternativen, experimentellen bzw. unabhängigen Films scheint genauso unabdingbar wie ihre Kritik. Häufig bieten Institutionen KünstlerInnen aber auch 'KonsumentInnen' oder Kulturschaffenden vor allem eine Möglichkeit zur Selbstorganisation, ohne die diese nicht bestehen könnten. Inwiefern widerspricht die Institutionalisierung dem Antikonformismus experimentellen Filmschaffens, bzw. inwiefern fördert die Formierung institutioneller Strukturen das Kino als Ort und den Film als Ausdruck subversiver Kunst? (Michael Zryd, York University Toronto)
Ort: Kino 2, 2. UG

20 Uhr Abendessen


Donnerstag, 22.8.

10 – 12.30 Uhr
SIENIAWKA – ein klassischer Forumsfilm?
Filmemacher Marcin Malaszczak und Produzent Michel Balagué diskutieren über filmische Visionen und die Möglichkeiten einer finanziellen und gestalterischen Autonomie im Produktionsprozess.
Screening mit anschließender Diskussion: SIENIAWKA, Marcin Malaszczak, 
Deutschland, Polen 2013, 126 min Zukunft, Vergangenheit und Gegenwart begegnen sich in dem wortkargen Spielfilm SIENIAWKA. Die Männer in der "Außenwelt" leben in der "Freiheit", einer Zone, die geografisch, politisch, filmhistorisch von einer apokalyptischen Gegenwart geprägt ist. Andere Männer sind in die „Innenwelt“ einer Anstalt geflohen, resigniert haben sie sich einem rigiden Alltag ergeben. Wie wahr kann das Leben in einer von der Geschichte vergessenen Gegend sein? "SIENIAWKA ist ein kluger Film über einen Ort, der unweit unserer Grenze in Polen liegt. Umgeben ist er (…) von einer apokalyptischen Braunkohlelandschaft. In den langen, aber nie langweiligen zwei Stunden dieses klassischen Forumfilms begreift man auch dieses Bild. Die Irren sind immer noch wir." (Philipp Bühler)
Ort: Kino 2, 2. UG

13.30 – 15.30 Uhr
Alternatives / unabhängiges / subversives Kino
Was ist unter diesen Begriffen zu verstehen – in der Vergangenheit und gegenwärtig? Gibt es Bedeutungsverschiebungen? In welchen soziokulturellen und politischen Bezugsrahmen werden diese Begrifflichkeiten eingebunden? Welche Bedeutung erlangen sie innerhalb eines institutionellen Rahmens?
Ort: Kino 2, 2. UG

16 – 18 Uhr
Arbeit mit Film als künstlerische und kuratorische Praxis der Gegenwart
Was bedeutet die kuratorische Arbeit mit Filmen? Wie gestaltet sich die Verantwortung des Kurators / der Kuratorin innerhalb eines institutionellen Gefüges als auch innerhalb eines politischen Systems? Wie ist der Vermittlungsauftrag, wie das Verhältnis zu Zensur und Gesellschaftskritik zu begreifen? Inwiefern ist die kuratorische Praxis Ausdruck eines kollektiven Bewusstseins und/oder einer individuellen Handschrift?
Ort: Kino 2, 2. UG

Freitag, 23.8.

10 – 12 Uhr
Was ist ein revolutionärer Film?
Screening mit anschließender Diskussion: AL-KHOROUGH LEI-NAHAR (Coming Forth by Day
) Hala Lotfy
, Ägypten, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate 2012, 96 min
Ein Tag im Leben von Soad, die mit Mutter und bettlägerigem Vater am Rande Kairos lebt und schicksalsergeben ihren Vater pflegt. Geduldig folgt die Kamera ihren routinierten Verrichtungen und fängt dabei sowohl ihre Frustration als auch Momente großer Zärtlichkeit ein. Hala Lotfys beeindruckendes Debüt richtet den Blick auf das Verhältnis von Licht und Schatten, Innen und Außen, Leben und Tod. Soads Sehnsucht ist spürbar nach draußen gerichtet. Doch als sie am Abend die Wohnung verlässt und einsam durch das nächtliche Kairo treibt, wird deutlich, wie weit sie sich schon von ihren Bedürfnissen entfernt hat.
Ort: Kino 2, 2. UG

13.30 – 15.30 Uhr
Archivarbeit als Blick zurück nach vorn
Während im Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst im Laufe der letzten 50 Jahre ein etwa 8.000 Filme umfassendes Filmarchiv entstanden ist, ohne dass ein systematischer Sammlungsauftrag bestanden hätte, ist in Kairo gegenwärtig kein Filmarchiv vorhanden. Künstlerische Werke und Filme, die als Zeugenschaft für die revolutionären Umbrüche des Landes in der Vergangenheit dienen und die kulturelle Identität und Geschichte des Landes ins Zentrum des Interesses zu rücken vermögen, sind nur verstreut zu finden – in Privatwohnungen, bei Zensurstellen, im Ausland … Trotz der differierenden Ausgangssituation stellt sich für beide Institutionen die Frage, wie eine lebendige Arbeit mit Filmarchiven als künstlerische und kuratorische Praxis der Gegenwart innerhalb dieser beiden Institutionen begriffen und umgesetzt werden kann.
Ort: Kino 2, 2. UG

16 – 18 Uhr Abschlussdiskussion mit anschließendem Umtrunk