Arsenal Summer School 2014

LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L'OUBLI, 1978

REANIMATION & REENACTMENT. Forms of Cinematic Reencounter

Since 2009 the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art has been running a Summer School, open to anyone interested in coming together for three intensive days to examine a topic at the interface of the theory and practice of film. The Arsenal Summer School provides a forum for an open-ended exchange, in which the participants' questions and reflections can develop a dynamic of their own.

The Summer School, now in its sixth year, will be held from August 21–23, 2014. It will concentrate on Arsenal's important relation to its own archive, drawing from the ongoing project Visionary Archive. Under the title "REANIMATION & REENACTMENT. Forms of Cinematic Reencounter", it will focus on the specific forms of re-seeing by which the past becomes present in the cinema.

As a central component of this Summer School, participants will come together to watch films from the Arsenal archive. The selection of films focuses on the diverse forms of re-stagings, re-enactments, and the encounter with spaces where the past lives on, transparently or covertly. Particular attention will be given to films from anti-colonialist, non-European cinema and the history of resistance remembered in them. In this constellation, the view to the archive falls on films that themselves act as an archive. They assemble and conserve images, sounds, and viewpoints, they fill in some of the gaps in knowledge and open up others. They allow us to get a view to cinema that faces up to history, collectively experienced, but remembered with contradictions.

The collective visualization of these different techniques of film memory in the Summer School is not meant as an innocuous, distanced view from the outside. Rather, we will make use of the possibilities of reencountering that are inherent in each film, in which there is always something of the past involved in a possible future.

With films by Neïl Beloufa, Vincent Dieutre, Assia Djebar, Ruy Guerra, Philip Scheffner, Ousmane Sembène, Pierre-Yves Vandeweerd.

Summer School conducted by: Marie-Hélène Gutberlet, Tobias Hering

The presentations will be held in German!

Download program (PDF)

Event venue: Arsenal Cinema, Potsdamer Str. 2, 10785 Berlin

Attendance: The number of participants is limited (30 persons).
Attendance fee: 125 Euro / 105 Euro (members, students, Berlin-Pass) / 85 Euro (members of arsenal freundeskreis).

Registration deadline: August 11, 2014

Download registration form (PDF)

Contact: Nora Molitor or Angelika Ramlow | Organization
summerschool(at)arsenal-berlin.de

Program

Thursday, August 21 (#1 Encounter & Reencounter)

2 pm
Arrival and greeting

2:30 pm
Introduction

Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler, and Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art)
Marie-Hélène Gutberlet and Tobias Hering (Visionary Archive)

3–5 pm
JAURÈS
, Vincent Dieutre, France 2012, Blu-ray, OV/GeS, 83 min

Along with a friend, actress Eva Truffaut, filmmaker Vincent Dieutre watches video footage that he has made over the course of several months from the window of his lover's apartment. It shows an area not far from the Paris metro station Jaurès. The seasons pass. We see random street scenes, the overhead railway driving past, the canal, a camp of Afghan refugees built out of plastic tarps and cardboard boxes, police raids, and finally the removal of the camp. In the familiar intonations of a private tête-à-tête, Truffaut and Dieutre comment on the images, which are sometimes altered by drawn-on lines. They sit in a viewing room meant for dubbing and their conversation gets mixed in with the sound on the video footage, with sounds from the apartment, and snatches of conversations between Dieutre and his lover Simon, who never appear in the frame. The second view of these video recordings causes Dieutre to reflect on his nearly clandestine relationship with Simon, a sans-papiers activist, whom he admires for his political engagement, but also on his own distanced observation from the window, his view to the Afghan refugees, who simultaneously seem both very near and yet infinitely far away.

5–7 pm
SANS TITRE
(Untitled), Neïl Beloufa, Algeria / France 2010, DVD, OV/EnS, 15 min

In a set pieced together from cardboard and photo wallpaper, various voices reconstruct the temporary occupation of a luxury villa by a group of occupiers who remain elusive. The commentary draws on rumors, news reports, and observations made from a distance, which still cannot solve the riddle of why the occupiers chose a building that is visible from so far away as a hiding place, and why they left so few traces behind. The picture this creates of the temporary invaders remains as cracked as the flimsy set of the stage.

Afterwards: excerpts from soundtracks from films to be screened the next days, and a discussion about the relationship between sound and image/what is seen and what is said/imagination and hearsay in the construction and reconstruction of cinematic reality.

8 pm
Dinner

Friday, August 22 (#2 Reenactment & Re-narration)

10–12 am
MUEDA, MEMORIA E MASSACRE
, Ruy Guerra, Mozambique 1979, 35mm, OV/GeS, 75 min

Ruy Guerra's MUEDA, MEMORIA E MASSACRE depicts a public reenactment of the events of Mueda on June 16, 1960, when Portuguese soldiers opened fire on a crowd of protesters, killing hundreds of people. The massacre is now considered the catalyst for the anti-colonialist struggle in Mozambique's history, and was commemorated in popular stage plays as early as 1968, while the war of liberation (1964–74) was still going on. The reenactment filmed by Ruy Guerra was one of the first after independence and took place at the original location in Mueda. It represents not only the brutality of the colonial power, but also the ignorance and ridiculousness of its representatives, as well as the shameful role of the local collaborators. In order to achieve the desired didactic effect, the fictional scenes of the reenactment in the film were supplemented by commentary from eyewitnesses and frames of explanatory text. MUEDA, MEMORIA E MASSACRE was a production by the newly founded national film institute (INAC – Instituto Nacional de Audiovisual e Cinema) and made in the context of the political educational work of the new government of Samora Machel. Ruy Guerra, who was born in Mozambique, had previously returned from his exile in Brazil in order to take over the directorship of the INAC. As one of the leading figures of the Brazilian Cinema Novo, he had contributed to the development of a political avant-garde cinema and now found himself confronted with the programmatic expectations for cinema of a post-colonial state apparatus. Through its ambivalent, even contradictory form, the film also speaks to the different expectations for a cinema of decolonization.

Screening followed by discussion

1:30–4:30 pm
CAMP DE THIAROYE
, Ousmane Sembène, Thierno Faty Sow, Senegal 1988, 35mm, OV/EnS, 150 min

CAMP DE THIAROYE narrates the return of the French colonial troops from the Second World War and the massacre at Thiaroye on the night between November 30 and December 1, 1944. The West African soldiers, who were known as the Tirailleurs Sénégalais, had protested against their unequal treatment as compared to their white colleagues. In order to crush the mutiny, the French army opened fire and killed over 300 soldiers from its own troops. The film poses the question of law and justice in a colonial context. It outlines various characters and ways of thinking in dealing with the basic principles of the French revolution, liberty, equality, fraternity, which the colonized were excluded from. Against the backdrop of the Second World War and the participation of the colonial troops in the liberation of Europe from the National Socialists, this contradiction becomes particularly virulent. Sembène addresses the perfidy and horror of the events with burlesque exaggeration, gallows humor, and clever use of language. At the 45th International Film Festival in Venice the film won the special jury prize, but remained banned in France until the end of the 1990s and was also censored in Senegal.

Screening followed by discussion

5–7 pm
TERRITOIRE PERDU
(Lost Land), Pierre-Yves Vandeweerd, Belgium / France 2011, DigiBeta, OV/GeS, 75 min

On a thematic level, TERRITOIRE PERDU is about the so-called West Sahara conflict, about the displacement of the Sahrawi, who had earlier lived a largely nomadic life, by the Moroccan occupation forces, their forced exile in Algerian refugee camps, and their resistance. Vandeweerd accompanies the soldiers of the Frente Polisario, the political and military organization of the Sahrawi, on their patrols and their routines. Since 1973 the Polisario has conducted an armed independence struggle and is recognized by the UN as the lawful representative of the Sahrawi. When Morocco used the truce brokered in 1991 to create precedents and to draw a boundary wall through more than 2,500 kilometers of desert, the military mission of the Polisario became paradoxical, for the soldiers now guard a border that shuts themselves out. As a film and as a sensory experience, TERRITOIRE PERDU, shot on black-and-white super8, is the attempt to provide a visual and acoustic expression to a political situation that seems hopeless, in which the dream of returning to the lost territory has already been carried over into the third generation. While all the images were made on this side of the boundary wall, on the barren terrain controlled by the Polisario, the soundtrack consistently brings in an idea of elsewhere: of the memories of a time when the space was still intact; of the trauma of displacement, the massacres, and the graves left behind; of the unbroken demand to abolish the borders and the civil resistance of young Sahrawis in the cities on the other side.

Screening followed by discussion

Saturday, August 23 (#3 Archive & Remix)

10 am–12 pm
LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI
, Assia Djebar, Algeria 1982, 16mm, OV/GeS, 60 min

Her work as a novelist has made Assia Djebar one of the most familiar and widely read Arabic writers of her generation. As part of her engagement for Algerian independence, she made two films around the end of the 1970s – LA NOUBA DES FEMMES DU MONT CHENOUA (1979) and LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI (1982) – which are highly significant in the context of anti-colonialist historiography, even if they have received relatively little attention. For LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI Assia Djebar and her co-author Malek Alloula spent half a year in the film archives of Pathé and Gaumont viewing films and footage that French documentary filmmakers had shot during the colonial period. By means of montage, these “images of a killing gaze” are in a certain sense scoured for the truth that they precisely do not show, for the resistance that had withdrawn “behind the mask.” This merciless inspection is mixed with a soundtrack on which militant poetry, recitative, and experimental music are linked together into a swansong to colonial power.

Screening followed by discussion

1:30–3:30 pm
THE HALFMOON FILES
, Philip Scheffner, Germany 2007, BetaSP, OmU, 87 min

THE HALFMOON FILES is a ghost story, a documentary, and an audiovisual research project on the interweavings of politics, colonialism, science, and media. The film's starting point is the sound recording of a prisoner of war from India, Mall Singh, who was interned at the time of the First World War in the “Halfmoon Camp” in Wünsdorf near Berlin. His voice crackles from a 90-year-old shellac record, which was among a few hundred found by Philip Scheffner in the sound archive of Berlin's Humboldt University. The recordings conserve the voices of colonial soldiers and were created in a unique alliance between the military, the academy, and the entertainment industry in the last years of the Prussian Empire. Searching for traces, Philip Scheffner follows these voices to where they were recorded. Like in a memory game that remains incomplete to the end, he uncovers pictures and sounds in which sudden connections between faraway places and widely divergent times flare up. But the action of the story evades the narrator and the ghosts return. From the fastidious data of the ethnologists and the sound researchers, the chronicles of their phonographs, the voices of the Indian and North African prisoners of war, and from the absence of their bodies and their stories, their traces in Wünsdorf today, and the process of searching itself, a complex network of voices, noises, and images emerges.

Screening followed by discussion

4–6 pm
Closing discussion with reception following

Biographies

Marie-Hélène Gutberlet studied art history, philosophy and film studies in Frankfurt am Main and Basel (Dr. Phil.) and works as a freelance curator, journalist and film scholar. She is the co-founder of the experimental film series "reel to real" (which has taken place in Frankfurt am Main since 2003) and co-initiator of the "Migration & Media" project which involves symposia and exhibition projects, most recently "Shoe Shop" (Johannesburg 2012) and "The Space Between Us" (Berlin and Stuttgart 2013–2014). She has published numerous articles on African cinema, Black cinema, migration, experimental and documentary film.

Tobias Hering studied philosophy in Frankfurt/Main and Berlin and works as curator and journalist. Alongside freelance curatorial projects with international film and art institutions, he was also a participant of the "Living Archive – Archival Work as a Contemporary Artistic and Curatorial Practice" project (see also "Specters of Freedom"). He also programs the ongoing series "Der Standpunkt der Aufnahme" at Cinema Arsenal, for which he recently published the essay collection "Der Standpunkt der Aufnahme – Point of View". Tobias Hering has been a member of the selection committee for the Kassel Documentary Film and Video Festival (dokfest) since 2011.

Marie-Hélène Gutberlet and Tobias Hering are the artistic directors of the Visionary Archive project.

Arsenal Summer School 2014

LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L'OUBLI, 1978

REANIMATION & REENACTMENT. Filmische Formen der Wieder-Begegnung

Seit 2009 bietet das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst eine Summer School an, als Angebot an alle Interessierten, sich drei Tage lang gemeinsam und intensiv mit einem Thema an der Schnittstelle von Theorie und Praxis des Films auseinanderzusetzen. Die Arsenal Summer School bietet die Möglichkeit eines ergebnisoffenen Austauschs, bei dem die Fragen und Reflexionen der Teilnehmenden ihre eigene Dynamik entwickeln können.

Die nunmehr sechste Summer School vom 21. bis 23. August 2014 greift den im Arsenal wichtigen Bezug zum eigenen Archiv auf und lehnt sich an das laufende Projekt Visionary Archive an. Unter dem Titel "REANIMATION & REENACTMENT. Filmische Formen der Wieder-Begegnung" widmet sie sich den spezifischen Formen des Wieder-Sehens, mit denen im Kino Vergangenes gegenwärtig wird.

Zentraler Bestandteil dieser Summer School ist das gemeinsame Sichten von Filmen aus dem Archiv des Arsenal. Die Filmauswahl konzentriert sich auf die mannigfaltigen Formen der Reinszenierung, des Reenactments und der Begegnung mit Orten, an denen Vergangenes in offensichtlicher bzw. verborgener Form weiterlebt. Ein besonderes Augenmerk gilt dabei Filmen aus dem antikolonialen, außereuropäischen Kino und der in ihnen erinnerten Geschichte des Widerstands. In dieser Konstellation trifft der Blick ins Archiv auf Filme, die ihrerseits als Archive agieren. Sie sammeln und konservieren Bilder, Töne und Sichtweisen, füllen Löcher des Wissens und reißen andere auf. Sie lassen ein Kino in den Blick nehmen, das sich der kollektiv erlebten, aber widersprüchlich erinnerten Geschichte stellt.

Die gemeinsame Vergegenwärtigung dieser unterschiedlichen filmischen Memotechniken, zu der diese Summer School einlädt, ist nicht als unverfänglicher, distanzierter Blick von außen zu verstehen. Vielmehr soll dabei die in jedem Film angelegte Möglichkeit der Wieder-Begegnung in Anspruch genommen werden, bei der etwas Vergangenes in eine mögliche Zukunft involviert wird.

Mit Filmen von Neïl Beloufa, Vincent Dieutre, Assia Djebar, Ruy Guerra, Philip Scheffner, Ousmane Sembène, Pierre-Yves Vandeweerd.

Leitung: Marie-Hélène Gutberlet, Tobias Hering

Die Veranstaltungen finden in deutscher Sprache statt!

Programm als PDF zum Download

Veranstaltungsort ist das Kino Arsenal am Potsdamer Platz, Potsdamer Str. 2, 10785 Berlin.



Die Teilnehmerzahl ist auf 30 Personen begrenzt. Plätze werden nach Eingang der Anmeldungen vergeben.
Teilnahmegebühren: 125 Euro / 105 Euro (Mitglieder, Studierende, Berlin-Pass) / 85 Euro (Mitglieder im arsenal freundeskreis).

Anmeldeschluss ist der 11. August 2014.

Anmeldeformular als PDF zum Download

Bei Fragen wenden Sie sich bitte an: Nora Molitor oder Angelika Ramlow | Projektkoordination summerschool(at)arsenal-berlin.de

Programm

Donnerstag, 21.8. (#1 Begegnung & Wieder-Begegnung)

14 Uhr
Ankunft und Begrüßung

14.30 Uhr
Einführung

Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler und Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst)
Marie-Hélène Gutberlet und Tobias Hering (künstlerische Leitung Visionary Archive)

15–17 Uhr
JAURÈS
, Vincent Dieutre, Frankreich 2012, Blu-ray, OmU, 83 min

Gemeinsam mit einer Freundin, der Schauspielerin Eva Truffaut, sichtet der Filmemacher Vincent Dieutre Videoaufnahmen, die er über Monate aus dem Fenster der Wohnung seines Geliebten Simon gemacht hat. Sie zeigen das Geschehen unweit der Pariser Metrostation Jaurès. Die Jahreszeiten vergehen. Wir sehen zufällige Straßenszenen, die vorbeifahrende Hochbahn, den Kanal, das aus Plastikplanen und Kartons unter einer Brücke gebaute Camp afghanischer Flüchtlinge, die Polizei-Razzien und schließlich die Räumung des Camps. Im vertraulichen Tonfall eines Zweiergesprächs kommentieren Truffaut und Dieutre die teilweise durch Übermalung veränderten Bilder. Sie sitzen in einem für Nachsynchronisierungen eingerichteten Sichtungsraum und ihr Gespräch mischt sich mit der Tonspur der Videoaufnahmen, mit Geräuschen aus der Wohnung und Gesprächsfetzen zwischen Dieutre und Simon, die jedoch nie ins Bild treten. Der zweite Blick auf diese Videoaufnahmen lässt Dieutre über sein beinahe klandestines Verhältnis zu Simon nachdenken, einem Sans-Papiers-Aktivisten, den er für sein politisches Engagement bewunderte, aber auch über seine eigene distanzierte Beobachtung aus dem Fenster, seinen Blick auf die afghanischen Flüchtlinge, die ihm gleichzeitig sehr nah und doch unendlich fern zu sein schienen.

17.30–19 Uhr
SANS TITRE
(Untitled), Neïl Beloufa, Algerien / Frankreich 2010, DVD, OmE, 15 min

In einer aus Pappe und Fototapeten gefügten Kulisse rekonstruieren verschiedene Stimmen die vorübergehende Okkupation einer Luxusvilla durch eine Gruppe ungreifbar bleibender Besetzer. Die Kommentare stützen sich auf Gerüchte, Medienberichte und aus der Ferne gemachte Beobachtungen, die aber das Rätsel nicht lösen können, weshalb sich die Besetzer ein weithin sichtbares Gebäude als Versteck ausgewählt und so wenige Spuren hinterlassen haben. Das Bild, das von den temporären Invasoren entsteht, bleibt so brüchig wie die fadenscheinig werdenden Kulissen des Bühnenraums.

Anschließend: Ausschnitte aus Tonspuren von Filmen, die an den nächsten Tagen zu sehen sein werden, und eine Diskussion über das Verhältnis von Bild und Ton / Gesehenem und Gespräch / Imagination und Hörensagen bei der Konstruktion und Rekonstruktion filmischer Realität.

20 Uhr
Abendessen

Freitag, 22.8. (#2 Reenactment & Nacherzählung)

10–12.30 Uhr
MUEDA, MEMORIA E MASSACRE
(Mueda, Erinnerung und Massaker), Ruy Guerra, Mosambik 1979, 35mm, OmU, 75 min

Ruy Guerras MUEDA, MEMORIA E MASSACRE zeigt ein öffentliches Reenactment der Ereignisse von Mueda, wo am 16. Juni 1960 portugiesische Soldaten das Feuer auf eine protestierende Menge eröffneten und hunderte Menschen töteten. Das Massaker ging als Auslöser des antikolonialen Kampfes in die Geschichte Mosambiks ein und wurde bereits seit 1968, noch während des Befreiungskrieges (1964–74), in populären Theaterinszenierungen erinnert. Das von Ruy Guerra gefilmte Reenactment war eines der ersten nach der Unabhängigkeit und fand am Originalschauplatz in Mueda statt. Repräsentiert werden nicht nur die Brutalität der Kolonialmacht, sondern auch die Ignoranz und Lächerlichkeit ihres Personals sowie die schmähliche Rolle ihrer Kollaborateure. Um den gewünschten didaktischen Effekt nicht zu verfehlen, wurden die Spielszenen des Reenactments im Film durch Zeitzeugenkommentare und erläuternde Texttafeln ergänzt. MUEDA, MEMORIA E MASSACRE war eine Produktion des neu gegründeten nationalen Filminstituts (INAC – Instituto Nacional de Audiovisual e Cinema) und stand im Kontext der politischen Aufklärungsarbeit der neuen Regierung von Samora Machel. Der gebürtige Mosambikaner Ruy Guerra war zuvor aus dem brasilianischen Exil zurückgekehrt, um die Leitung des INAC zu übernehmen. Als einer der Köpfe des brasilianischen Cinema Novo hatte er ein politisches Avantgarde-Kino mit entwickelt und sah sich nun mit den programmatischen Erwartungen eines postkolonialen Staatsapparats an das Kino konfrontiert. Durch seine ambivalente, sogar zwiespältige Form erzählt der Film daher auch von unterschiedlichen Erwartungen an ein Kino der Dekolonisierung.

Screening mit anschließender Diskussion

13.30–16.30 Uhr
CAMP DE THIAROYE
(Das Lager von Thiaroye), Ousmane Sembène, Thierno Faty Sow, Senegal 1988, 35mm, OmE, 150 min

CAMP DE THIAROYE erzählt von der Rückkehr der französischen Kolonialtruppen aus dem 2. Weltkrieg und dem Massaker von Thiaroye in der Nacht vom 30. November auf den 1. Dezember 1944. Die als Tirailleurs Sénégalais bekannt gewordenen westafrikanischen Soldaten hatten gegen ihre Ungleichbehandlung gegenüber den weißen Soldaten-Kollegen protestiert. Um die Meuterei niederzuschlagen, eröffnete die französische Armee das Feuer und tötete über 300 Soldaten aus den eigenen Truppen. Der Film stellt die Frage des Rechts im kolonialen Kontext. Er skizziert verschiedene Charaktere und Denkmodelle im Umgang mit den Grundprinzipien der französischen Revolution, Freiheit, Gleichheit, Brüderlichkeit, von denen die Kolonisierten ausgeschlossen sind. Vor dem Hintergrund des 2. Weltkriegs und der Beteiligung der Kolonialtruppen an der Befreiung Europas von den Nationalsozialisten, bekommt dieser Widerspruch besondere Virulenz. Der Perfidie und Grausamkeit der Ereignisse begegnet Sembène mit burleskem Übertreiben, Galgenhumor und Sprachwitz. Auf dem 45. Internationalen Filmfestival in Venedig gewann der Film den Spezialpreis der Jury, blieb jedoch in Frankreich bis Ende der 1990er Jahre verboten und wurde auch in Senegal zensiert.

Screening mit anschließender Diskussion

17–19 Uhr
TERRITOIRE PERDU
(Lost Land), Pierre-Yves Vandeweerd, Belgien / Frankreich 2011, DigiBeta, OmU, 75 min

Auf einer thematischen Ebene handelt TERRITOIRE PERDU vom sogenannten Westsahara-Konflikt, von der Vertreibung der früher überwiegend nomadisch lebenden Sahraui durch die marokkanische Besatzung, ihrem erzwungenen Exil in algerischen Flüchtlingslagern und ihrem Widerstand. Vandeweerd begleitet die Soldaten des Frente Polisario, der politischen und militärischen Organisation der Sahraui, auf ihren Patrouillen und bei ihren Routinen. Seit 1973 hat der Polisario einen bewaffneten Unabhängigkeitskampf geführt und ist bei der UNO als rechtmäßige Repräsentanz der Sahraui anerkannt. Als Marokko den 1991 vermittelten Waffenstillstand dazu nutzte, Fakten zu schaffen, und einen über 2.500 Kilometer langen Grenzwall durch die Wüste zog, wurde die militärische Mission des Polisario zum Paradox, denn die Soldaten bewachen nun eine Grenze, die sie selbst ausschließt. Filmisch, sinnlich, ist der in schwarz-weiß und auf Super8 gedrehte TERRITOIRE PERDU der Versuch, einer ausweglos erscheinenden politischen Situation, in der sich der Traum von der Rückkehr auf das verlorene Territorium bereits in die dritte Generation übertragen hat, einen visuellen und akustischen Ausdruck zu schaffen. Während sämtliche Bilder diesseits des Grenzwalls entstanden sind, auf dem kargen Gelände, das vom Polisario kontrolliert wird, handelt die Tonspur konsequent von einem Anderswo: von den Erinnerungen an die Zeit, als der Raum noch intakt war; vom Trauma der Vertreibung, den Massakern und den zurückgelassenen Gräbern; vom ungebrochenen Anspruch auf die Aufhebung der Grenze und dem zivilen Widerstand junger Sahraui in den Städten auf der anderen Seite.

Screening mit anschließender Diskussion

Samstag, 23.8. (#3 Archiv & Remix)

10–12 Uhr
LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI
, Assia Djebar, Algerien 1982, 16mm, OmU, 60 min

Als Romanautorin gehört Assia Djebar zu den international bekanntesten und meist gelesenen arabischen Autorinnen ihrer Generation. Im Zusammenhang ihres Engagements für die algerische Unabhängigkeit machte sie Ende der 1970er Jahre zwei Filme – LA NOUBA DES FEMMES DU MONT CHENOUA (1979) und LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI (1982) – die im Kontext einer antikolonialen Geschichtsschreibung von großer Bedeutung sind, auch wenn ihnen wenig Aufmerksamkeit zuteil wurde. Für LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI verbrachten Assia Djebar und ihr Koautor Malek Alloula ein halbes Jahr in den Filmarchiven von Pathé und Gaumont und sichteten Filme und Filmreste, die französische Dokumentaristen während der Kolonialzeit gedreht hatten. Mittels der Montage werden diese "Bilder eines tötenden Blicks" gewissermaßen auf die Wahrheit abgesucht, die sie gerade nicht zeigen, auf den Widerstand, der sich "hinter die Maske" zurück gezogen hat. Verbunden ist dieses schonungslose Hinsehen mit einer Tonspur, auf der sich kämpferische Poesie, Sprechgesänge und experimentelle Musik zu einem Abgesang auf die koloniale Gewalt verbinden.

Screening mit anschließender Diskussion

13.30–15.30 Uhr
THE HALFMOON FILES
, Philip Scheffner, Deutschland 2007, BetaSP, OmU, 87 min

THE HALFMOON FILES ist eine Gespenstergeschichte, ein Dokumentarfilm und eine audiovisuelle Recherche zu den Verflechtungen von Politik, Kolonialismus, Wissenschaft und Medien. Ausgangspunkt des Films ist die Tonaufzeichnung eines Kriegsgefangenen aus Indien, Mall Singh, der zur Zeit des ersten Weltkriegs im "Halbmondlager" in Wünsdorf bei Berlin interniert war. Knisternd erklingt seine Stimme von einer 90 Jahre alten Schellackplatte, von denen Philip Scheffner einige Hundert im Lautarchiv der Berliner Humboldt-Universität vorgefunden hat. Die Aufnahmen konservieren die Stimmen von Kolonialsoldaten und entstanden in einer einmaligen Allianz aus Militär, Wissenschaft und Unterhaltungsindustrie in den letzten Jahren des preußischen Kaiserreichs. Philip Scheffner folgt in seiner Spurensuche diesen Stimmen an den Ort ihrer Aufnahme. Wie in einem Memoryspiel, das bis zum Ende unvollständig bleibt, deckt er Bilder und Töne auf, in denen plötzliche Verbindungen zwischen entfernten Orten und weit auseinanderliegenden Zeiten aufblitzen. Doch die Handlung der Geschichte entgleitet dem Erzähler und die Geister kehren zurück. Aus den akribischen Daten der Ethnologen und Lautforscher, den Aufzeichnungen ihrer Phonographen, den Stimmen der indischen und nordafrikanischen Kriegsgefangenen und aus der Abwesenheit ihrer Körper und ihrer Geschichten, den Spuren im heutigen Wünsdorf und dem Prozess des Suchens selbst entsteht ein vielschichtiges Geflecht von Stimmen, Geräuschen und Bildern.

Screening mit anschließender Diskussion

16–18 Uhr
Abschlussdiskussion mit anschließendem Umtrunk

Biografien

Marie-Hélène Gutberlet
studierte Kunstgeschichte, Philosophie und Filmwissenschaft in Frankfurt/Main und Basel (Dr. Phil.) und arbeitet als freie Kuratorin, Publizistin und Filmwissenschaftlerin. Sie ist Mitgründerin der Experimentalfilmreihe "reel to real" (seit 2003 in Frankfurt/Main) und Ko-Initiatorin des Projekts "Migration & Media" mit Symposien und Ausstellungsprojekten – zuletzt "Shoe Shop" (Johannesburg 2012), "The Space Between Us" (Berlin und Stuttgart 2013–2014). Zahlreiche Veröffentlichungen und Zeitschriftenbeiträge zum Afrikanischen Kino, Black Cinema, Migrations-, Experimental- und Dokumentarfilm.

Tobias Hering studierte Philosophie in Frankfurt/Main und Berlin und arbeitet als Kurator und Publizist. Neben freien kuratorischen Projekten mit internationalen Film- und Kunstinstitutionen war er Teilnehmer des Projekts "Living Archive – Archivarbeit als künstlerische und kuratorische Praxis der Gegenwart" (s.a. "Gespenster der Freiheit"). Zudem programmiert er im Kino Arsenal die fortlaufende Reihe "Der Standpunkt der Aufnahme", in deren Kontext er unlängst die Essaysammlung "Der Standpunkt der Aufnahme – Point of View" herausgegeben hat. Tobias Hering ist seit 2011 Mitglied im Auswahlkomitee des Kasseler Dokumentarfilm- und Videofestivals (dokfest).

Marie-Hélène Gutberlet und Tobias Hering sind gemeinsam für die künstlerische Leitung des Projekts Visionary Archive verantwortlich.