General Info on the Berlinale Forum

Berlinale Forum – International Forum of New Cinema and Forum Expanded

The Berlinale Forum, or the International Forum of New Cinema to give it its full name, is an event organized by Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art as part of the Berlin International Film Festival. Since 2006, Forum Expanded has extended the program to encompass experimental film and video art shown both in cinema and exhibition contexts. The Berlinale Forum is funded by the Kulturveranstaltungen des Bundes in Berlin (KBB) GmbH.

Films submitted to the Forum must have been completed within one year of the start of the festival, have a running time of at least 60 minutes, and may have not been shown previously in Europe, with the exception of the film’s country of origin. Film and video works submitted to Forum Expanded can be of all formats and lengths.

Contact for the Forum 
Christoph Terhechte (Director)
Anna Hoffmann (Program Coordinator)
Karen Peek (Administration)

Contact for Forum Expanded 
Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (Director)
Uli Ziemons (Program Coordinator)

International Forum of New Cinema
Potsdamer Straße 2
10785 Berlin
Telephone: +49-30-26955-200
Fax: +49-30-26955-222
Email: forum(at)

The next Berlinale Forum will take place from February 5-25, 2018

The submission regulations and online registration portal for the 2018 Berlinale will be available from mid-September 2017.

International Forum of New Cinema 2017

Team: Christoph Terhechte (Director), Karen Peek (Head of Administration), Gerd Werner Schnabel (Film Coordinator), Anna Hoffmann (Program Coordinator), Marie Kloos (Communication), Caroline Pitzen (Guest Coordination), Hanna Keller, James Lattimer (Press and Publicity), Bernd Buder (Cinema Coordination), Sara Dutch, Corinna Mehl, Anna Schwietering

Selection Committee: Anna Hoffmann, Hanna Keller, Birgit Kohler, James Lattimer, Anke Leweke, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, Christoph Terhechte, Ansgar Vogt, Dorothee Wenner 

Program Advisors: Karen Arikian (New York), José Carlos Avellar (Rio de Janeiro), John Badalu (Jakarta), Bernd Buder, Vincenco Bugno, Jutta Doberstein, Hans-Joachim Fetzer, Dominque Green (London), Alexis Grivas (Athen),Tanja C. Horstmann, Merle Kröger, Paz Lázaro, Elisabeth Lequeret (Paris), Annette Lingg, Stephen Locke, Claudius Lünstedt, Javier Martín (Paris), Luciano Monteagudo (Buenos Aires), Nikolaj Nikitin, Pamela Pickering (Studio City), Caroline Pitzen, Gabriela Seidel-Hollaender, Meenakshi Shedde (Mumbai), Kerstin Stolt, Cécile Tollu-Polonowski, Maryanne Redpath, Norman Wang (Hong Kong), Jacob Wong (Hong Kong)

Online Editor: Hanna Keller

Catalogue Editors: Karin Herbst-Meßlinger, Milena Gregor, Sabine Seifert

Program Brochure Editor: Christoph Terhechte, Hans-Joachim Fetzer, James Lattimer

Magazine Editors: Anna Hoffmann, Hanna Keller, Marie Kloos, James Lattimer, Christoph Terhechte

Forum Expanded 2017

Curators: Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (head curator), Khaled Abdulwahed, Anselm Franke, Nanna Heidenreich, Ulrich Ziemons, Bettina Steinbrügge (consultant)

Staff: Uli Ziemons, Nora Molitor (Organisation), Angelika Ramlow, Nathalie Knoll (Guest Office), Paulina Kutschka (Assistance), Angela Anderson, Mascha Nehls (Exhibition Design, technical Director), Iris Ströbel (Editor Publications), Nina Eckhardt (Press and Public Relations)

Advisory Board: Christa Blümlinger, Birgit Hein, Wulf Herzogenrath, Marc Siegel, Ala Younis