october 2017, arsenal cinema

Harun Farocki: Year by Year / Side by Side (2)

"Year by Year/Side by Side" is the most comprehensive retrospective of Harun Farocki’s cinema and television work ever held. Alongside the exhibition “Harun Farocki: Mit anderen Mitteln – By Other Means” (curated by Antje Ehmann and Carlos Guerra) at the neuer berliner kunstverein, the temporary “Farocki Now” academy organized by the Harun Farocki Institut at the Haus der Kulturen der Welt and the silent green Kulturquartier (October 18th-21st) and the recent publication of his incomplete autobiography "Zehn, zwanzig, dreißig, vierzig", the program gives audiences a chance to become acquainted, or reacquainted, with the documentarian’s oeuvre and all the many directions it points in. Numerous productions thought lost, or more or less invisible were able to be researched in archives and collected.

We continue the series, that started last month, with numerous film screenings in October.

october 2017, arsenal cinema

Magical History Tour - Cinema in the Plural

Films are collective works: This month's Magical History Tour presents both films that were created in collective working process or have these as their theme, together with ensemble films with suitably starry casts, which forge complex universes in multiple, dynamic mosaics of characters and decentered group pictures.

october 2017, arsenal cinema

Female Gazes from Georgia - Contemporary Documentaries

Europe often has a rather vague image of Georgia, even if the country has been increasingly present of late: Georgian films and books, Georgia as the guest of honor at the 2018 Frankfurt Bookfair or as a tourist destination have all meant that the country has increasingly entered the spotlight. The Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung is taking part in this year’s Year of German-Georgian friendship with a series of documentary films by female directors from Georgia, which will be shown at the Arsenal from October 25-31.

This documentary focus shows us sections of this country in the South Caucasus on the edge of Europe without any need for clichés. The film and discussion series presents documentaries which approach everyday life in Georgia with their own aesthetic style and original journalistic research. The films reflect the ongoing upheaval in the Caucasian country since 1989, which creates a modern image of itself as it searches for its place between East and West.

october 2017, arsenal cinema

Film:ReStored_02: The Festival of Film Preservation

From October 26-31, "Film:ReStored" presents digitized films from seven decades of German film history, accompanied by presentations, and progress reports dedicated to questions surrounding the digitization of film heritage. This year's debates focus on the cooperation between rightsholders, authors, and archives. The selection of films reflects this fruitful collaboration.

arsenal cinema: Film:ReStored_02: The Festival of Film Preservation

11:00 am Cinema 1


Werkstattbericht: Film Heritage and International Cooperation

Werkstattbericht: Film Heritage and International Cooperation (in englischer Sprache). Serge Bromberg (Lobster Films), Martin Koerber (Deutsche Kinemathek), Elżbieta Wysocka (Filmoteka Narodowa

arsenal cinema: Film:ReStored_02: The Festival of Film Preservation

11:30 am Cinema 1


Mir kumen on

*Mir kumen on Aleksander Ford Poland 1936
DCP OV/GeS 62 min

arsenal cinema: Film:ReStored_02: The Festival of Film Preservation

02:00 pm Cinema 1


Mama, ich lebe

*Mama, ich lebe Konrad Wolf GDR 1977
DCP 103 min

Introduced by Korinna Barthel (Omnimago)
arsenal cinema: Film:ReStored_02: The Festival of Film Preservation

04:00 pm Cinema 1


Werkstattbericht: Digitalisierung aus dem Nachlass von Harun Farocki

Progress report: Digitization from the estate of Harun Farocki: "Archive material Peter Weiss"

Presented by Filipa César (Filmmaker), Volker Pantenburg (Harun Farocki Institut)
arsenal cinema: Film:ReStored_02: The Festival of Film Preservation

05:00 pm Cinema 1


Etwas wird sichtbar

*Etwas wird sichtbar Harun Farocki FRG 1982
DCP 120 min

Introduced by Mathias Rajmann, Claus Üblacker (Film Shift GbR)
arsenal cinema: Harun Farocki: Year by Year / Side by Side (2)

08:00 pm Cinema 2


Kinostadt Paris

Image und Umsatz oder: Wie kann man einen Schuh darstellen?

Year by Year:
Kinostadt Paris Cine City Paris Manfred Blank, Harun Farocki FRG 1988
Digital file 60 min
Image und Umsatz oder: Wie kann man einen Schuh darstellen?
Image and Sales or: How to Depict a Shoe
FRG 1989 Digital file OV/EnS 52 min

arsenal cinema: Film:ReStored_02: The Festival of Film Preservation

08:30 pm Cinema 1


Martha

Martha Rainer Werner Fassbinder FRG 1974
DCP 112 min

[Translate to english:] Einführung: Juliane Lorenz (Rainer Werner Fassbinder Foundation)

oktober 2017, kino arsenal

Harun Farocki: Nacheinander / Nebeneinander (2)

"Nacheinander/Nebeneinander" ist die bisher umfangreichste Retrospektive der Kino- und Fernseharbeiten Harun Farockis. Gemeinsam mit der Ausstellung "Harun Farocki: Mit anderen Mitteln – By Other Means" (kuratiert von Antje Ehmann und Carles Guerra) im Neuen Berliner Kunstverein, der vom Harun Farocki Institut ausgerichteten Akademie "Farocki Now" im Haus der Kulturen der Welt und dem silent green Kulturquartier (18. bis 21. Oktober) sowie der Fragment gebliebenen, gerade publizierten Autobiografie "Zehn, zwanzig, dreißig, vierzig" gibt die Reihe Gelegenheit, das Werk des Dokumentaristen in all seinen Verzweigungen zum ersten Mal oder erneut zu sehen. Zahlreiche verloren geglaubte, so gut wie unsichtbare Produktionen konnten dafür in Archiven recherchiert und zusammengetragen werden.

Wir setzen die im September begonnene Reihe mit zahlreichen Filmvorführungen im Oktober fort.

oktober 2017, kino arsenal

Magical History Tour - Kino im Plural

Filme sind Gemeinschaftswerke: Die Magical History Tour im Oktober präsentiert sowohl Filme, die in kollektiven Arbeitsprozessen entstanden bzw. diese zu ihrem Thema machen als auch hochkarätig besetzte Ensemblefilme, die in pluralen, dynamischen Figurenmosaiken und a-zentrischen Gruppenbildern komplexe Universen entwerfen.

oktober 2017, kino arsenal

Female Gazes from Georgia - Contemporary Documentaries

Von Georgien hat Europa oftmals noch eher vage Vorstellungen, auch wenn das Land zunehmend präsent ist: Georgische Filme und Bücher, Georgien selbst als Ehrengast der Frankfurter Buchmesse 2018 oder als touristisches Ziel rücken es stärker in den Blick. Am diesjährigen deutsch-georgischen Freundschaftsjahr beteiligt sich die Heinrich-Böll-Stiftung mit einer Dokumentarfilmreihe von Regisseurinnen aus Georgien, die vom 25.-31.10. im Arsenal gezeigt wird und unser Programm mit georgischen Archivfilmen wunderbar ergänzt.

Der dokumentarische Fokus zeigt uns das südkaukasische Land am Rande Europas in klischeefreien Ausschnitten. Die Film- und Diskussionsreihe präsentiert Dokumentarfilme, die sich dem Alltag in Georgien mit einer eigenen Ästhetik und originellen journalistischen Recherchen nähern. Die Filme reflektieren den anhaltenden Umbruch des kaukasischen Landes seit 1989, das auf der Suche nach seinem Platz zwischen Ost und West ein modernes Selbstbild entwirft.

oktober 2017, kino arsenal

Film:ReStored_02: Das Filmerbe-Festival

"Film:ReStored" präsentiert vom 26.-29. Oktober digitalisierte Filme aus sieben Jahrzehnten deutscher Filmgeschichte, begleitet von Vorträgen und Werkstattberichten, die sich Fragen rund um die Digitalisierung des Filmerbes widmen. Im Fokus der Debatten stehen in diesem Jahr die Kooperationen zwischen Rechteinhabern, Urhebern und Archiven. Die Filmauswahl spiegelt diese fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit.

kino arsenal: Film:ReStored_02: Das Filmerbe-Festival

11:00 Kino 1


Werkstattbericht: Film Heritage and International Cooperation

Werkstattbericht: Film Heritage and International Cooperation (in englischer Sprache). Serge Bromberg (Lobster Films), Martin Koerber (Deutsche Kinemathek), Elżbieta Wysocka (Filmoteka Narodowa

kino arsenal: Film:ReStored_02: Das Filmerbe-Festival

11:30 Kino 1


Mir kumen on

*Mir kumen on Aleksander Ford PL 1936
DCP OmU 62 min

kino arsenal: Film:ReStored_02: Das Filmerbe-Festival

14:00 Kino 1


Mama, ich lebe

*Mama, ich lebe Konrad Wolf DDR 1977
DCP 103 min

Einführung: Korinna Barthel (Omnimago)
kino arsenal: Film:ReStored_02: Das Filmerbe-Festival

16:00 Kino 1


Werkstattbericht: Digitalisierung aus dem Nachlass von Harun Farocki

Werkstattbericht: Digitalisierung aus dem Nachlass von Harun Farocki: "Archivmaterial Peter Weiss"

Präsentiert von Filipa César (Filmemacherin), Volker Pantenburg (Harun Farocki Institut)
kino arsenal: Film:ReStored_02: Das Filmerbe-Festival

17:00 Kino 1


Etwas wird sichtbar

*Etwas wird sichtbar Harun Farocki BRD 1982
DCP 120 min

Einführung: Mathias Rajmann, Claus Üblacker (beide Film Shift GbR)
kino arsenal: Harun Farocki: Nacheinander / Nebeneinander (2)

20:00 Kino 2


Kinostadt Paris

Image und Umsatz oder: Wie kann man einen Schuh darstellen?

Nacheinander:
Kinostadt Paris
Manfred Blank, Harun Farocki BRD 1988
Digital file 60 min
Image und Umsatz oder: Wie kann man einen Schuh darstellen?
BRD 1989 Digital file OmE 52 min

kino arsenal: Film:ReStored_02: Das Filmerbe-Festival

20:30 Kino 1


Martha

Martha Rainer Werner Fassbinder BRD 1974
DCP 112 min

Einführung: Juliane Lorenz (Rainer Werner Fassbinder Foundation)