Arsenal Summer School 2015

SCHICHT (SHIFT) Alex Gerbaulet, Germany 2015

Shifting Shapes – Cinematic Transformations
August 27–29, 2015

Each year the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art offers a Summer School. For three days participants engage with a topic located at the interface of theory and practice in cinema.

This year for the first time, the Summer School will also add a second location, the silent green Kulturquartier. This new, independent venue for art and culture is located on the grounds of a former crematorium, built more than 100 years ago. Starting in October 2015 the entire film collection of the Arsenal will be housed there – publicly available to anyone interested.

New locations change what is located there – and vice versa. Especially when it’s about films that come from the past to shape the present.

The topic “Shifting Shapes – Cinematic Transformations” will engage with such transformations over time and space, but also over larger structures and analogue and digital formats. Shape shifters are beings that are capable of changing their own external form. They do this quite on the own accord, but also in relation to the exterior world, for strategic purposes, as an expression of affect or from motives that remain hidden. The focus of the event is on a cinema of the past become present, and on film (and its locations) that are still in the process of emerging.

With contributions by Bettina Ellerkamp, Alex Gerbaulet, Milena Gregor, Jörg Heitmann, Birgit Kohler, Merle Kröger, Susanne Sachsse, Philip Scheffner, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, Tatjana Turanskyj.

The presentations will be held in German!

Attendance
The number of participants is limited (30 persons). 
Attendance fee: 125 Euro / 105 Euro (members, students, Berlin-Pass) / 85 Euro (members of arsenal freundeskreis).

Download program (PDF)

Event venues
Arsenal Cinema, Potsdamer Straße 2, 10785 Berlin
silent Green Kulturquartier, Gerichtstraße 35, 13347 Berlin

Download registration form (PDF)

Contact
Nora Molitor / Angelika Ramlow | Organization
summerschool(at)arsenal-berlin.de

Programm Thursday, August 27

12.30 pm, Arsenal Cinema 2
Arrival and greeting

1 pm, Arsenal Cinema 2
Introduction
Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler and Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.) Bettina Ellerkamp, Jörg Heitmann (silent green Kulturquartier)

2–5 pm, Arsenal Cinema 2
Birgit Kohler, Tatjana Turanskyj

EINE FLEXIBLE FRAU (The Drifter)
, Tatjana Turanskyj, Germany 2010, 97 min
Greta: 40, an architect, mother of a 12-year-old son, separated from her husband, recently unemployed. She starts working in a call center but is soon dismissed once again. She does everything in her power to keep hanging on in there, starts drinking and drifts through the city, torn between the pressure to confirm and the spirit of contradiction.
A WOMAN UNDER THE INFLUENCE, in Berlin at the beginning of the 21st century. The so-called New Berlin, moving from the wastelands to the town houses. Flexible, globalized capitalism. Post-feminism. And the respective vocabulary that goes with it: fragments of theory, empty phrases, buzz words, quotes. A woman with a vision of urban space, of herself, of her profession, of her life with her child. But those aren't the actual circumstances. Greta at parties, at the call center, at sessions with a job application coach, with her son, with her ex-colleagues, at the job center, at bars, walking through the city. Fierce, hysterical, stubborn, almost in a trance, fractious, uninhibited, effusive, desperately unhappy. Situations, encounters, performances. More of a trip than a narrative. Snap-shots of a woman’s fragile contemporary life (at work). A FLEXIBLE WOMAN, an All-Around Reduced Personality. (Birgit Kohler)

5.30–6 pm, Arsenal Cinema 2
Susanne Sachsse

SERIOUS LADIES
, Susanne Sachsse, Germany 2013, 21 min
Susanne Sachsse presents SERIOUS LADIES, a four-part video work that contains a constant and rapidly shifting conversation between three women (all played by Susanne Sachsse herself), communicated over the telephone and doorbell intercoms. We will first see this video, which combines found footage and newly shot material, in the cinema, and then change locations to see its original version as a video projection on an old, dirty, used up billboard made of wood and paper. The work poses the following questions: What are seriously ladies actually? What is so serious about them, these three ladies that could be assembled into a single woman, these three ladies played by a single actress?

6.30–7.30 pm, silent green Kulturquartier
Susanne Sachsse

Installation SERIOUS LADIES
Followed by discussion

20 pm, silent green Kulturquartier
Dinner

Programm Friday, August 28

10 am –1 pm, silent green Kulturquartier
Merle Kröger and Philip Scheffner

REVISION – GRENZFALL – AND-EK GHES... EINES TAGES...
Philip Scheffner’s documentary film REVISION and Merle Kröger’s novel GRENZFALL are both based on the same true story. On June 29, 1992, a farmer discovered two bodies in a grain field in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Investigation reveals the two dead people to be Rumanian citizens. While attempting to cross the external border of the EU, they had been shot by hunters.
REVISION is a kind of film revision of a criminal case that had been closed, bringing together locations, person, and memories that add up to a fragile network of versions and perspectives on a “European story.” The interface with fiction emerged during shooting. The crime novel GRENZFALL provides the opportunity to consolidate emotional and political moments and to rethink reality within a real of possibilities. A realm shared by the families of the murder victims and the filmmaker on this side of the border. In the end, even the cinema as a physical space itself becomes a shape shifter, for the presentation of the film at the Berlin Film Festival in 2014/2015 has led to a new project: AND-EK GHES... EINES TAGES...

In a conscious mix of film clips, reading, narration, and anecdotes, we would like to present how documentary reconstruction resonates in the current day and then back into the parallel fiction of past and present – just as fictional moments from the novel are translated again into reality and push forward into a fictional future, which has deliberate similarities with Bollywood.
Screening followed by discussion

2–4 pm, silent green Kulturquartier
Stefanie Schulte Strathaus

Memory Plays Itself – A Workshop with Memory Protocols
The focus of the workshop is the work of the artist and filmmaker Constanze Ruhm. Her serially constructed films and installations concern the undead of post-narrative cinema. The particular dynamics of memory make it impossible for the characters to die, turning cinema itself into a shape shifter. “A meta-character appears as a metaphor for a possible form of contemporary cinema, which has changed through the practices of new media and is anchored in today’s cultural and technological discourses. This meta-character speaks with the voice of the cinema, but through the syntax of media.” (X Love Scenes, 2006)

“What form must work take on in the struggle against forgetting, and how can we live in peace with ghosts, and should we even want that? Derrida answers that we cannot do anything other than to learn to live with the phantoms: ‘apprendre qu’à vivre avec les fantômes.’” (Invisible Producers, 2015)

4.30–7 pm, silent green Kulturquartier
Bettina Ellerkamp, Jörg Heitmann

KILLER.BERLIN.DOC
, Bettina Ellerkamp, Jörg Heitmann, Germany 1999, 70 min
In May 1998, ten people, wanting to talk about their lives in a changing city, decide to turn their lives in Berlin into fiction. They play "killer", a game in which no one knows of the others, each one is culprit as well as victim. The task is to find a person, designated but unknown to the player, and to plan the perfect murder for the victim. Knowing that yet another person is searching for him or her, the player looks for the designated victim. The players create a web across the city, the paths they take, the places they visit and the encounters with people all draw a subjective sketch of contemporary life in Berlin in the meantime…
“killer.berlin.doc is a documentary with many fissures and fictive elements, a subjective artists’ portrait, an unusually beautiful architectural film, a diary with many voices focusing on two weeks in May 1998. The filmmaker collective combines different techniques successfully and in an aesthetically convincing style (subjective S8 in diary-style, video sequences of players, their "own" sequences). The innovative structuring of images is extraordinary and unique, the flowing transitions between documentary and fictitious elements repeat emotional insecurity on a formal level, an insecurity experienced not only by the players during the game. Berlin is at the same time a dreamscape tinted in blue, a projection of a multitude of desires, an agglomeration of very diverse architectural styles. An aseptic Potsdamer Platz designed on the computer is placed next to the waste land close to the location of the former Wall.” (Detlef Kuhlbrodt)
Screening and discussion, presentation of the CD-ROM/internet project

7 pm, silent green Kulturquartier
Dinner

8.30 pm–12 am
Bettina Ellerkamp, Jörg Heitmann
Bus tour through Berlin at night: Vanished spaces and ghostly encounters

Programm Saturday, August 29

11 am–12.30 pm, silent green Kulturquartier
Alex Gerbaulet

SCHICHT (Shift)
, Alex Gerbaulet, Germany 2015, 29 min
SCHICHT (Shift) is both a reckoning and a search for traces of the past. Layer by layer the film unfolds the portrait of the filmmaker's family – brought to life by records from private archives – and embarks on a dizzying trip through the shrinking industrial city of Salzgitter, Germany.
Award winner of the 61st International Short Film Festival Oberhausen / Prize for the best contribution to the German Competition. “Architecture, personal space, personal history, German history, the history of a town that is nourished by work. A man cleans his dog's paws. A woman loves another woman. And does not lay flowers on her mother's grave. The prize of the German Competition goes to a film that urges us to approach history and stories with deliberation. We were in Salzgitter. From micro to macro, a heavy and beautiful lump emerges. It was created by Alex Gerbaulet and is called: Schicht. We won't be able to shrug it off any time soon.”
Screening followed by discussion

1.30–3.30 pm, silent green Kulturquartier
Bettina Ellerkamp and Jörg Heitmann

"To Hell with the Ugly" (“Et on tuera tous les affreux”)
What does a science fiction story by Boris Vian have to do with a mountain in Thuringia? How does a filmmaker form Berlin end up at a mountain in Thuringia and why won’t it let him go? A mountain as a reversal in fortune, as a projection surface for human fantasies of power, a mirror of German-German history and histories, and a starting point for a documentary film project that is still in the process of becoming…
The filmmakers Bettina Ellerkamp and Jörg Heitmann will show a multi-channel installation from the material they shot and will talk about of the possible course of a film.

4–6 pm, silent green Kulturquartier
Closing discussion with reception following

Arsenal Summer School 2015

SCHICHT, Alex Gerbaulet, D 2015

Shifting Shapes – Kino als Formwandler
27.–29. August 2015

Jedes Jahr im August bietet das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V. eine Summer School an. Drei Tage lang setzen sich die Teilnehmer_innen mit einem Thema an der Schnittstelle von Theorie und Praxis des Kinos auseinander.

Die diesjährige Summer School findet erstmals auch im silent green Kulturquartier statt. Der neue und unabhängige Standort für Kunst und Kultur befindet sich auf dem Gelände eines ehemaligen Krematoriums, das vor mehr als 100 Jahren erbaut wurde. Hier wird ab Oktober 2015 die umfangreiche Filmsammlung des Arsenal beheimatet sein – öffentlich zugänglich für alle Interessierten.

Neue Orte verändern das, was dort verortet ist – und vice versa: Insbesondere, wenn es sich dabei um Filme handelt, die aus der Geschichte kommend die Gegenwart gestalten.

Das Thema „Shifting Shapes – Kino als Formwandler“ widmet sich solchen Transformationen durch Zeit und Raum, aber auch durch Dispositive und analoge und digitale Formate hindurch. Formwandler sind Wesen, die in der Lage sind, ihre eigene äußere Form zu verändern. Sie tun dies ganz aus sich selbst heraus, aber stets im Bezug auf die Außenwelt, aus strategischen Gründen, im Affekt oder aus Motiven, die im Verborgenen bleiben. Der Fokus der Veranstaltung richtet sich auf ein Kino der Geschichte gewordenen Gegenwart, und auf Filme (und ihre Orte) die noch im Prozess der Entstehung sind.

Mit Beiträgen von Bettina Ellerkamp, Alex Gerbaulet, Milena Gregor, Jörg Heitmann, Birgit Kohler, Merle Kröger, Susanne Sachsse, Philip Scheffner, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, Tatjana Turanskyj.

Die Veranstaltungen finden in deutscher Sprache statt!

Anmeldung
Die Teilnehmerzahl ist auf 30 Personen begrenzt. Plätze werden nach Eingang der Anmeldungen vergeben.
Teilnahmegebühren: 125 Euro / 105 Euro (Mitglieder, Studierende, Berlin-Pass) / 85 Euro (Mitglieder im arsenal freundeskreis).

Anmeldeschluss ist der 15. August 2015.

Programm als PDF zum Download

Veranstaltungsorte
Kino Arsenal, Potsdamer Straße 2, 10785 Berlin
silent Green Kulturquartier, Gerichtstraße 35, 13347 Berlin

Anmeldeformular als PDF zum Download

Kontakt
Nora Molitor / Angelika Ramlow | Projektkoordination
summerschool(at)arsenal-berlin.de

Programm Donnerstag, 27.8.

12.30 Uhr, Kino Arsenal 2
Ankunft und Begrüßung

13 Uhr, Kino Arsenal 2
Einführung
Milena Gregor, Birgit Kohler und Stefanie Schulte Strathaus (Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.) Bettina Ellerkamp, Jörg Heitmann (silent green Kulturquartier)

14–17 Uhr, Kino Arsenal 2
Birgit Kohler, Tatjana Turanskyj

EINE FLEXIBLE FRAU
, Tatjana Turanskyj, D 2010, 97 min
Greta, 40, Architektin, Mutter eines zwölfjährigen Sohns, getrennt lebend, verliert ihren Job. Sie beginnt in einem Callcenter zu arbeiten, wird aber schon bald wieder gekündigt. Sie versucht mit aller Kraft, sich nicht unterkriegen zu lassen, fängt an zu trinken und treibt durch die Stadt – zwischen Anpassungsdruck und Widerspruchsgeist.
A WOMAN UNDER THE INFLUENCE – in Berlin zu Beginn des 21. Jahrhunderts. Im sogenannten neuen Berlin, von den Brachen hin zu den Townhäusern. Im globalisierten, flexiblen Kapitalismus. Im Post-Feminismus. Mit dem jeweils dazugehörigen Vokabular: Theorie-Bruchstücke, Floskeln, Modeworte, Zitate. Eine Frau mit einer Vision, vom urbanen Raum, von sich, von ihrem Beruf, von ihrem Leben mit ihrem Kind. Doch die Verhältnisse sind nicht so. Greta auf Partys, im Callcenter, beim Bewerbungs-Coach, mit ihrem Sohn, mit Exkollegen, im Jobcenter, in Kneipen, bei Stadtspaziergängen. Kämpferisch, hysterisch, eigensinnig, wie in Trance, widerspenstig, hemmungslos, überschwänglich und todtraurig. Situationen, Begegnungen, Performances. Mehr Trip als Plot. Momentaufnahmen einer zeitgenössischen, brüchigen weiblichen (Arbeits-)Biografie. EINE FLEXIBLE FRAU als allseitig reduzierte Persönlichkeit.
 (Birgit Kohler)

17.30–18 Uhr, Kino Arsenal 2
Susanne Sachsse

SERIOUS LADIES
, Susanne Sachsse, D 2013, 21 min
Susanne Sachsse präsentiert SERIOUS LADIES, eine vierteilige Videoarbeit, die eine ständige und schnell wechselnde Konversation zwischen drei Frauen (alle von Susanne Sachsse selbst gespielt) darstellt, die durch Telefone und Klingelsprechanlage kommunizieren. Wir sehen dieses Video, welches Found Footage mit neu-gedrehten Szenen zusammenbringt, zuerst im Kino und dann nach einem Ortswechsel in seiner ursprünglichen Fassung als Videoprojektion auf einem alten, schmutzigen, abgenutzten aus Holz und Papier gebautem Billboard. Die Arbeit stellt folgende Fragen: Was sind eigentlich ernsthafte Damen (Serious Ladies)? Was ist an diesen Frauen ernsthaft, diesen drei Frauen, die sich zu einer einzigen Dame zusammen setzen können, diesen drei Frauen, die von einer einzigen Schauspielerin gespielt werden?

18.30–19.30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Susanne Sachsse

Installation SERIOUS LADIES
Mit anschließendem Gespräch und Diskussion

20 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
gemeinsames Abendessen

Programm Freitag, 28.8.

10–13 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Merle Kröger und Philip Scheffner

REVISION – GRENZFALL – AND-EK GHES... EINES TAGES...
Der Dokumentarfilm REVISION von Philip Scheffner und der Roman GRENZFALL von Merle Kröger basieren auf demselben realen Vorfall: Am 29. Juni 1992 entdeckt ein Bauer zwei Körper in einem Getreidefeld in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern. Ermittlungen ergeben, dass es sich bei den Toten um rumänische Staatsbürger handelt. Sie wurden bei dem Versuch, die EU-Außengrenze zu überschreiten, von Jägern erschossen.
Mit REVISION wird ein juristisch abgeschlossener Kriminalfall einer filmischen Revision unterzogen, die Orte, Personen und Erinnerungen miteinander verknüpft und ein fragiles Geflecht aus Versionen und Perspektiven einer „europäischen Geschichte“ ergibt. Bei den Dreharbeiten entstand die Nahtstelle zur Fiktion: Der Kriminalroman GRENZFALL bietet die Chance, emotionale und politische Momente zu verdichten und die Realität in einen Möglichkeitsraum umzudenken. Ein gemeinsamer Raum für die Familien der Getöteten und die Filmemacher von diesseits der Grenze.
Und schließlich wird das Kino sogar als physischer Raum zum Formwandler, denn aus der Präsentation des Films auf der Berlinale 2012 entsteht 2014/2015 ein neues Projekt: AND-EK GHES... EINES TAGES...

In einer bewussten Vermischung von Filmausschnitten, Lesung, Erzählung und Anekdoten möchten wir vorstellen, wie eine dokumentarische Rekonstruktion ins Heute schwingt, von da aus zurück in die parallele Fiktion von Vergangenheit und Gegenwart – wie fiktionale Momente aus dem Roman sich wieder in die Realität übersetzen und in eine fiktive Zukunft aufschwingen, die durchaus beabsichtigte Ähnlichkeit mit Bollywood hat.

14–16 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Stefanie Schulte Strathaus

Memory Plays Itself – Ein Workshop mit Gedächtnisprotokollen
Im Mittelpunkt des Workshops steht die Arbeit der Künstlerin und Filmemacherin Constanze Ruhm. In ihren seriell angelegten Filmen und Installationen widmet sie sich den Untoten des post-narrativen Kinos. Die Eigendynamik der Erinnerung macht es den Figuren unmöglich, zu sterben, und lässt das Kino selbst zum Formwandler werden: „Es zeigt sich eine Meta-Figur als Metapher für eine mögliche Form zeitgenössischen Kinos, das sich durch die Praxis der neuen Medien verändert hat und in heutigen kulturellen und technologischen Diskursen verankert ist. Diese Meta-Figur spricht mit der Stimme des Kinos, aber durch die Syntax der Medien.“ (X Love Scenes, 2006)

„Welche Form muss die Arbeit gegen das Vergessen annehmen, und wie kann man mit den Gespenstern in Frieden leben, und soll man sich das überhaupt wünschen? Derrida antwortet, dass man nichts anderes tun kann, als zu lernen, mit den Phantomen zu leben: ‘apprendre qu’à vivre avec les fantômes.’ “ (Invisible Producers, 2015)

16.30–19 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Bettina Ellerkamp, Jörg Heitmann

KILLER.BERLIN.DOC
, Bettina Ellerkamp, Jörg Heitmann, D 1999, 70 min
In dem Wunsch, vom eigenen Leben in einer sich wandelnden Stadt zu erzählen, entschließen sich im Mai 1998 zehn Personen, ihr Leben in Berlin für 14 Tage zur Fiktion zu machen. Sie spielen "Killer", ein Spiel, in dem niemand vom anderen weiß und jeder sowohl Täter als auch Opfer ist. Der Auftrag lautet, eine vorgegebene, aber dem Spieler vorher unbekannte Person ausfindig zu machen und sich den perfekten "Mord" für das "Opfer" auszudenken. Im Wissen, dass zur selben Zeit auch jemand den eigenen Spuren folgt, begeben sich die Spieler auf die Suche nach der unbekannten Person.
“killer.berlin.doc ist ein vielfältig gebrochener Dokumentarfilm mit fiktiven Elementen, ein subjektiver Künstlerporträtfilm, ein selten schöner Architekturfilm über Berlin im Wandel, ein mehrstimmiges Tagebuch über zwei Wochen im Mai 1998. Ästhetisch überzeugend verbindet das Filmemacher_innen-Kollektiv die verschiedenen Aufnahmetechniken… Die innovative Bildgestaltung ist einzigartig; die fließenden Übergänge zwischen dokumentarischen und fiktiven Elementen wiederholen formal die Gefühlsunsicherheit, die nicht nur die Spieler während ihres Spiels erfahren. Berlin ist hier gleichzeitig blaustichige Traumlandschaft, Projektion unterschiedlicher Wünsche, ein Wirrwarr unterschiedlichster Architekturen.” (Detlef Kuhlbrodt)
Screening und Diskussion, Präsentation des CD-ROM / Netzprojektes

19 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Abendessen

20.30–24 Uhr
Bettina Ellerkamp, Jörg Heitmann
Gemeinsame Bustour durch das nächtliche Berlin: entschwundene Orte und geisterhafte Begegnungen

Programm Samstag, 29.8.

11–12.30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Alex Gerbaulet

SCHICHT
, Alex Gerbaulet, D 2015, 29 min
SCHICHT ist zugleich Abrechnung und Spurensuche nach der (eigenen) Vergangenheit. Alex Gerbaulet begibt sich in ihrem Film auf einen Schwindel erregenden Trip durch Salzgitter: Eine Stadt wie ein Cyborg, in der sich Faser für Faser Geschichte ablagert. Roter Faden ist ihre Familiengeschichte, die durch Aufzeichnungen aus dem Privatarchiv zum Leben erweckt wird.
SCHICHT von Alex Gerbaulet (produziert von pong) gewann den Hauptpreis des deutschen Wettbewerbs bei den 61. Internationalen Kurzfilmtagen Oberhausen. Die Jurybegründung:
 „Architektur, persönlicher Wohnraum, persönliche Geschichte, deutsche Geschichte, Geschichte einer Stadt, eine Stadt, die sich aus der Arbeit speist. Ein Herr putzt seinem Hund die Pfoten ab. Eine Frau liebt eine andere. Und der Mutter legt sie keine Blumen aufs Grab. Der Preis des deutschen Wettbewerbs geht an einen Film, der uns einen bewussten Umgang mit Geschichte und Geschichten aufdrängt. Wir waren in Salzgitter. Von Mikro zu Makro entsteht ein schwerer, schöner Klumpen. Er stammt von Alex Gerbaulet und heißt: Schicht. Wir werden ihn nicht mehr los.“
Screening mit anschließender Diskussion

13.30–15.30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Bettina Ellerkamp und Jörg Heitmann

"Wir werden alle Fiesen killen"
Was hat ein Science Fiction von Boris Vian mit einem Berg in Thüringen zu tun? Wie kommt ein Filmemacher aus Berlin zu einem Berg in Thüringen und warum wird er ihn nicht wieder los? Ein Berg als Schicksalswende, als Projektionsfläche menschlicher Machtphantasien, ein Spiegel deutsch-deutscher Geschichte und Geschichten und Ausgangspunkt für ein dokumentarisches Filmprojekt, das noch mitten im Werden ist...
Die Filmemacher_innen Bettina Ellerkamp und Jörg Heitmann zeigen eine Multichannel-Installation aus dem gedrehten Filmmaterial und erzählen einen möglichen Filmverlauf.

16–18 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Abschlussdiskussion mit anschließendem Umtrunk