Arsenal Summer School 2017

Maria Eichhorn: 23 short films / 23 film posters (1995/2002)

ONE PLUS ONE
Curating the Archive

August 24–26, 2017

Every year in August the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art offers a Summer School. For three days participants focus on a topic at the crossroads of theory and practice.

Digitizing, restoring, and long-term archiving are currently topics of great concern for the Arsenal. Time is running short, since analog films are already threatened with disintegration, and the costs are so great that as a rule financing first has to be found for every effort. Despite the pressure to act quickly, we should not overlook that collective memory also contributes to how we engage with film history in the long term. Films live on in the memories of those who have seen them. The way that a film gets burned into memory is closely linked with the conditions of its reception. When, how, and under what conditions was a film seen? What other films or film events framed the screening?
One Plus One: The Summer School 2017 assumes that an archival film can only have significance in relation to the present, and cannot be remembered separately from the concrete situation of its presentation. The contributions and workshops are about the practice of curating. How do I create spaces for perceiving archival films, in which film history can become an experience of the present? How can exhibition and screening practice contribute to the formation of memory and thus to the processes of archiving?

With contributions by Bettina Ellerkamp, Mohamed A. Gawad, Milena Gregor, Jörg Heitmann, Birgit Kohler, Markus Ruff, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, and Nicole Wolf.

The events will take place in German.

Attendance/Registration
The number of participants is limited (30 persons). 

Attendance fee: 135 Euro / 115 Euro (members, students, Berlin-Pass) / 95 Euro (members of arsenal-Freundeskreis)

Registration deadline is August 5, 2017

Venues
silent green Kulturquartier
Gerichtstr. 35, 13347 Berlin
& Kino Arsenal
in the Filmhaus at Potsdamer Platz
Potsdamer Str. 2, 10785 Berlin

Contact
Angelika Ramlow | Organization
summerschool(at)arsenal-berlin.de

Download Registration Form

Download Program

Program

Thursday, August 24


9:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Arrival and Welcome

10:00–12:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Presentation of the "Living Archive" and tour of the archive
by Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, with a contribution by Mohamed A. Gawad (Living Archive Alumnus)


10,000 films fill 500 m2 of space and collectively weigh almost 60,000 kg. Yet any archive is only as relevant as its relation to the present, and that consists, now more than ever, in opening up to the world. We call the film archival practice at the Arsenal a “Living Archive”, never losing sight of the artistic and cultural production of knowledge, as well as film reception, thus seeing every user of the archive as a potential archivist.

12:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Lunch in Mars restaurant

13:30–15:30, silent green Kulturquartier
Between Two Films
Stefanie Schulte Strathaus on juxtaposing short films, their ephemerality, and film syntax


Putting together short films can be compared to editing an individual film, to writing a text, or to a composition, in which polyphony must remain recognizable. Every film has its own tone. When it appears on the screen, there is already a danger of being superimposed by the next one. But what happens between the films? Can we grasp or even shape this space of before and after? A curated program turns an old film into a new one, which is exactly what makes it possible to experience it aesthetically.

16:00–17:30
, silent green Kulturquartier
Workshop Conceiving programs

Four selected film are viewed in groups. Afterwards the participants put programs together and work out forms of presentation with which they create both experiential spaces for the individual works, but also something new.

17:30–19:00
, silent green Kulturquartier
Presentation and discussion of the results in the plenum

19:30, silent green Kulturquartier
Dinner together at the Mars Restaurant (included in the fees)

Friday, August 25

10:00–12:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Moving Films: Radical Lefts and Feminist Third/Militant Cinemas – The Films of the Yugantar Film Collective
by Nicole Wolf


The feminist film collective Yugantar (founded in Hyderabad, India) developed four short films between 1980 and 1984 in collaboration with politically engaged women (tobacco factory workers, domestic workers, and other activists). The polyvocal memories of the films speak of complex processes of negotiation, of film events that create or reimagine public spaces, and of the realms of possibility for political thought and movements in the course of the Autonomous Women’s Movement. What moves these films in the present, who moves them, what do they move, and how could new film/political histories be speculatively conceived from there?

12:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Lunch in Mars restaurant

followed by a move to the Arsenal

14:00–16:00, Kino Arsenal
Hunters and Gatherers – Curating between Timeliness and Archive
by Birgit Kohler


The Arsenal Film Archive emerged is close connection with its programming work. Today the degree to which archival holdings make up the Arsenal program is relatively small–film historical series are dependent on other archives, and as for contemporary cinema, current films are used that have yet to be archived–but relations to the Arsenal collection still exist. Concrete examples will be used to work out how and why a film series emerges from the archive, has an effect on the archive, or is put together separately from the archive. This will make it possible to see that the Arsenal Archive, beyond the film prints, also encompasses the programs in which they figure and the texts that accompany them–and that both are evidence of a specific idea and practice of curating.

16:30–18:30, Kino Arsenal
Producing Is the New Archiving
On digitizing, restoring, and other questions posed by history and the present.
Markus Ruff in conversation with Stefanie Schulte Strathaus


Every restoration leads to a new result. How the restoration was done, photochemical or digital, is not decisive, even though the technical possibilities are different. Every restoration is based on decisions that are defined by the reference point used and the corresponding technical possibilities. What aspects of restoration in particular should be taken into account here? What terms are available to film restoration, and how broadly can they be defined? Using case examples, terms central to the discourse about film restoration will be discussed, including “digitization”, “restoration”, “reference”, “single copy”, “original.” Two current restoration projects will be drawn on, SHAIHU UMAR by Adamu Halilu (Nigeria 1976) and LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI by Assia Djebar (Algeria 1982), as well as two (repeat) screenings at this year’s Berlinale, MONANGAMBEEE by Sarah Maldoror (Algeria 1969) and ORG by Fernando Birri (Italy 1967–78).

18:30
Dinner at the Ki-nova restaurant


20:00, Kino Arsenal
The Magical History Tour
Film program with an introduction by Milena Gregor


Film history anthology programming has a long tradition at the Arsenal. Initial, somewhat canonical "100 Best Films" programs were soon replaced by more excessive and more playful program series encompassing 200 or even 365 films. The understanding of critical film history at the Arsenal and in the collection not only influences the highly variable cycles, but levels the ground to the film historical perpetuum mobile. By means of now 33 themes, which change monthly, the Magical History Tour has been proposing a different perspective on film history since 2009: clear through time, regions, styles, always also with a contemporary film history in view, always subjective, always in close exchange with the collection. Film history as film histories–to be continued.

Saturday, August 26

10:00–12:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Form transformations (I)
On film history in the exhibition space
by Stefanie Schulte Strathaus


When we say that every film can only have meaning from the present, we assume that the historical moment of its original present cannot be reproduced. But how does that relate to space? Can the space of the cinema promise more proximity to the original than the exhibition space? Does transferring film to another space potentially correspond to a more historical distance? When can a film leave the cinema and what should it return there? Or has this discussion lost any meaning anyway in light of the internet?

12:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Lunch in Mars restaurant

13:30–15:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Form Transformations (II)
Utopia of the Cinema: A Crematorium becomes a Site of Film Research.
Tour through silent green and its history by Bettina Ellerkamp and Jörg Heitmann


Since 2013 silent green has been in the fortunate situation of occupying Berlin’s oldest crematorium and thus a unique privately owned building in Berlin with a colorful history. It is nothing new that cultural producers in Berlin make use of unused and empty buildings in the city, filling them with new life. In this case, however, it is not a factory building, as is typical. silent green is located in a former crematorium. We therefore not only take on the responsibility for maintaining an architectural jewel, an island in the middle of the city of Berlin. We also see it as our duty to deal responsibly and respectfully with this particular legacy. silent green sees itself as a protected space for thinking, researching, and experimenting. The focus is on works that go beyond traditional forms. The boundaries between artistic disciplines are meant to be shifted in order to link up to new, hybrid forms. Using the title “Film Feld Forschung” [“Film Field Research”] silent green is dedicated to the forms and margins of documentary narration. The idea is to create a center for moving image art–with exhibition projects, discursive and performative formats. This is meant to create a site of overlapping encounter and participation, in which networks and communicative spaces can be formed between practice and theory, research and application, production and presentation.

15:30–17:30, silent green Kulturquartier
Closing discussion

17:30, silent green Kulturquartier
Drinks

Arsenal Summer School 2017

Maria Eichhorn: 23 Kurzfilme / 23 Filmplakate (1995/2002)

ONE PLUS ONE
Curating the Archive


24.–26. August 2017

Jedes Jahr im August bietet das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst eine Summer School an. Drei Tage lang setzen sich die Teilnehmer*innen mit einem Thema an der Schnittstelle von Theorie und Praxis auseinander.

Digitalisierung, Restaurierung und Langzeitarchivierung sind Themen, die das Arsenal derzeit sehr beschäftigen. Die Zeit ist knapp, da analoge Filme vom Zerfall bedroht sind, und die Kosten sind hoch, so dass in der Regel für jede Maßnahme erst einmal eine Finanzierung gefunden werden muss. Trotz dieses Handlungsdrucks darf nicht übersehen werden, dass zu einem nachhaltigen Umgang mit Filmgeschichte auch das kollektive Gedächtnis beiträgt. Filme leben in der Erinnerung derjenigen weiter, die sie gesehen haben. Die Art und Weise, wie sich dabei ein Film ins Gedächtnis einprägt, steht in enger Verbindung mit den Bedingungen der Rezeption: Wann, wie und unter welchen Umständen wurde der Film gesehen? Welche anderen Filme oder filmischen Ereignisse haben seine Vorführung gerahmt?

One Plus One: Die Summer School 2017 geht davon aus, dass ein Archivfilm nur in Bezug auf die Gegenwart Bedeutung haben kann und nicht losgelöst von der konkreten Aufführungssituation erinnert wird. In den Beiträgen und Workshops geht es deshalb um die Praxis des Kuratierens: Wie schaffe ich Wahrnehmungsräume für Archivfilme, in denen die Filmgeschichte zu einer Erfahrung der Gegenwart werden kann? Wie kann die Aufführungspraxis zur Gedächtnisbildung und damit zu Prozessen der Archivierung beitragen?

Mit Beiträgen von Bettina Ellerkamp, Mohamed A. Gawad, Milena Gregor, Jörg Heitmann, Birgit Kohler, Markus Ruff, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus und Nicole Wolf.

Die Veranstaltungen finden in deutscher Sprache statt.

Anmeldung
Die Teilnehmer*innenzahl ist auf 30 Personen begrenzt. Plätze werden nach Eingang der Anmeldungen vergeben.

Teilnahmegebühren: 135 Euro / 115 Euro (Mitglieder, Studierende, Berlin-Pass) / 95 Euro (Mitglieder im arsenal-Freundeskreis)

Anmeldeschluss ist der 5. August 2017

Anmeldeformular als PDF zum Download

Programm als PDF zum Download

Veranstaltungsorte:
silent green Kulturquartier
Gerichtstr. 35, 13347 Berlin
& Kino Arsenal
im Filmhaus am Potsdamer Platz
Potsdamer Str. 2, 10785 Berlin

Kontakt
Angelika Ramlow | Projektkoordination
summerschool(at)arsenal-berlin.de

Programm

Donnerstag, 24.8.


9:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Ankunft und Begrüßung

10:00–12:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Vorstellung des "Living Archive" und Führung durch das Archiv
Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, mit einem Beitrag von Mohamed A. Gawad (Living Archive Alumni)

10.000 Filme füllen 500 m2 Raum und wiegen zusammen fast 60.000 kg. Doch jedes Archiv ist nur so relevant wie sein Bezug zur Gegenwart, und die besteht mehr denn je in einer Öffnung zur Welt: Als "Living Archive" bezeichnen wir die filmarchivarische Praxis des Arsenal, die künstlerische, kulturelle und Wissensproduktion, sowie filmische Rezeption stets mit im Blick hat und deshalb jede*n Nutzer*in des Archivs als potentielle*n Archivar*in sieht.

12:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Mittagessen im Restaurant Mars

13:30–15:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Zwischen zwei Filmen
Stefanie Schulte Strathaus über das Nacheinander kurzer Filme, ihre Vergänglichkeit und filmische Satzbauten

Das Zusammenstellen kurzer Filme kann mit dem Schneiden eines einzelnen Films, mit dem Schreiben eines Textes oder mit einer Komposition verglichen werden, wobei die Polyphonie erkennbar bleiben muss: jeder Film ein eigener Ton. Erscheint er auf der Leinwand, droht er bereits, vom nächsten Film überlagert zu werden. Doch was geschieht zwischen den Filmen? Können wir diesen Raum des Vorher und Nachher erfassen oder sogar gestalten? Ein kuratiertes Programm macht einen alten Film zu einem neuen und genau daraus entsteht seine ästhetische Erfahrbarkeit.

16:00–17:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Workshop
Programme konzipieren


Vier ausgewählte Filme werden in Gruppen gesichtet. Anschließend stellen die Teilnehmer*innen Programme zusammen und erarbeiten Präsentationsformen, mit denen sie Erfahrungsräume für die einzelnen Werke, aber auch etwas Neues schaffen.

17:30–19:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Präsentation und Diskussion der Ergebnisse im Plenum

19:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
gemeinsames Abendessen im Restaurant Mars (im Preis inbegriffen)

Freitag, 25.8.

10:00–12:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Filme bewegen: Radical Lefts and Feminist Third/Militant Cinemas – Die Filme des Yugantar Film Kollektivs
von Nicole Wolf


Das feministische Film-Kollektiv Yugantar (gegründet in Hyderabad, Indien) entwickelte zwischen 1980 und 1984 vier Kurzfilme in Kollaboration mit politisch Agierenden (Tabakfabrikarbeiterinnen, Haushaltshelferinnen und anderen Aktivistinnen). Die vielstimmigen Erinnerungen an diese Filme sprechen von komplexen Prozessen des Aushandelns, von filmischen Ereignissen, die öffentliche Räume schaffen oder neu denken und von Möglichkeitsräumen politischen Denkens und Bewegens im Zuge des Autonomous Women’s Movement. Was bewegt diese Filme in der Gegenwart, wer bewegt sie, was bewegen sie und wie könnten von dort aus, spekulativ, neue film/politische Geschichten gedacht werden?

12:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Mittagessen im Restaurant Mars

anschließend Umzug ins Arsenal

14:00–16:00 Uhr, Kino Arsenal
Jäger und Sammler – Kuratieren zwischen Aktualität und Archiv
von Birgit Kohler


Das Filmarchiv des Arsenals ist einst in enger Beziehung zur Programmarbeit entstanden. Heute wird das Arsenal-Kinoprogramm zwar nur zu einem eher kleinen Teil aus den eigenen Archivbeständen bestückt – filmgeschichtliche Reihen sind auf Kopien aus anderen Archiven angewiesen, und was das Gegenwartskino angeht, kommen aktuelle Filme zum Einsatz, die ihre Archivierung erst noch vor sich haben – doch sind Bezüge zur Sammlung des Arsenals nach wie vor vorhanden. Anhand von konkreten Beispielen geht es darum, wie und warum eine Filmreihe aus dem Archiv heraus entsteht, in das Archiv hineinwirkt oder losgelöst vom Archiv zusammengestellt wird. So gerät in den Blick, dass das Arsenal-Archiv jenseits der Filmkopien auch die Programme umfasst, in denen sie figurieren und die Texte, die sie begleiten – und dass beides Ausweis einer spezifischen Idee und Praxis des Kuratierens ist.

16:30–18:30 Uhr, Kino Arsenal
Produzieren ist das neue Archivieren
Über Digitalisierung, Restaurierung und andere Fragen, die Geschichte und Gegenwart an uns stellen.
Markus Ruff im Gespräch mit Stefanie Schulte Strathaus


Aus jeder Restaurierung geht ein neues Ergebnis hervor. Es ist dabei nicht entscheidend, auf welchem Weg die Restaurierung erfolgte, photochemisch oder digital, wenngleich die technischen Möglichkeiten unterschiedlich sind. Jeder Restaurierung liegen Entscheidungen zugrunde, die ausgehend vom Referenzpunkt und entsprechend der technischen Möglichkeiten bestimmend sind. Welche Aspekte der Restaurierung sind hier insbesondere zu betrachten? Welche Begriffe stehen der Filmrestaurierung zur Verfügung, und wie groß ist ihr Definitionsrahmen? Anhand von Fallbeispielen werden Begriffe diskutiert wie „Digitalisierung“, „Restaurierung“, „Referenz“, „Unikat“, „Original“, die im Diskurs über Filmrestaurierung zentral sind. Herangezogen werden zum einen zwei aktuelle Restaurierungsprojekte, SHAIHU UMAR von Adamu Halilu (Nigeria 1976) und LA ZERDA ET LES CHANTS DE L’OUBLI von Assia Djebar (Algerien 1982), sowie zwei (Wieder)Aufführungen bei der diesjährigen Berlinale, MONANGAMBEEE von Sarah Maldoror (Algerien 1969) und ORG von Fernando Birri (Italien 1967–78).

18:30 Uhr
Abendessen im Restaurant Ki-nova


20:00 Uhr, Kino Arsenal
Die Magical History Tour
Filmprogramm mit einer Einführung von Milena Gregor


Filmhistorische Anthologie-Programme haben eine lange Tradition im Arsenal. Anfängliche, eher kanonische „100-beste-Filme-Programme“ wurden bald von gleichermaßen exzessiveren wie spielerischeren, 200 bzw. 365 Filmen umfassenden Programmreihen abgelöst. Das kritische Filmgeschichtsverständnis des Hauses und der Sammlung prägte nicht nur die variantenreichen Durchläufe, sondern ebnete letztlich den Weg zum filmhistorischen Perpetuum mobile: Anhand von monatlich wechselnden, mittlerweile 33 Themen schlägt die Magical History Tour seit 2009 jeden Monat eine andere Filmgeschichtsperspektive vor: quer durch Zeiten, Regionen, Genres, Stile, immer auch eine heutige Filmgeschichte im Blick, immer subjektiv, immer in engem Austausch mit der Sammlung. Filmgeschichte als Filmgeschichten – to be continued.

Samstag 26.8.

10:00–12:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Formwandlungen (I)
Über Filmgeschichte im Ausstellungsraum
von Stefanie Schulte Strathaus


Wenn wir sagen, dass jeder Film nur aus der Gegenwart heraus Bedeutung haben kann, gehen wir davon aus, dass das historische Moment seiner Uraufführung nicht wieder herstellbar ist. Doch wie verhält sich das mit dem Raum? Kann der Kinoraum mehr Nähe zum Original versprechen als der Ausstellungsraum? Entspricht der Transfer dorthin möglicherweise eher der historischen Distanz? Wann kann ein Film das Kino verlassen und wann sollte er dorthin zurückkehren? Oder hat diese Diskussion angesichts des Internets ohnehin ihre Bedeutung verloren?

12:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Mittagessen im Restaurant Mars

13:30–15:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Formwandlungen (II)
Utopie des Kinos: Ein Krematorium wird zum Ort filmischer Forschung.
Führung durch das silent green und seine Geschichte
von Bettina Ellerkamp und Jörg Heitmann

Seit 2013 ist das silent green in der glücklichen Situation, das älteste Krematorium Berlins und damit ein in Berlin einzigartiges Gebäude mit einer bewegten Geschichte in privater Trägerschaft zu bespielen. Es ist nicht neu, dass Kulturtreibende sich in Berlin den Brachen und leerstehenden Gebäuden der Stadt annehmen, um sie mit neuem Leben zu füllen. In diesem Fall handelt es sich jedoch nicht wie oft üblich um ein Fabrikgebäude. Das silent green befindet sich in einem ehemaligen Krematorium. Wir tragen damit nicht nur die Verantwortung für den Erhalt eines architektonischen Juwels, eine Insel inmitten der Stadt Berlin. Wir sehen es darüber hinaus als unsere Pflicht, mit diesem besonderen Erbe verantwortungs- und respektvoll umzugehen. Das silent green versteht sich als geschützter Raum, in dem gedacht, geforscht und experimentiert werden kann. Im Mittelpunkt steht dabei ein formenübergreifendes Arbeiten: Grenzen einzelner künstlerischer Disziplinen sollen verschoben werden, um sie zu neuen, hybriden Formen zu verknüpfen. Unter dem Titel "Film Feld Forschung" widmet sich das silent green den Formen und Rändern des dokumentarischen Erzählens. Entstehen soll ein Zentrum für Bewegtbildkunst – mit Ausstellungsprojekten, diskursiven und performativen Formaten. Auf diese Weise soll ein Ort der übergreifenden Begegnung und Teilhabe entstehen, in dem sich Netzwerke und Kommunikationsräume zwischen Praxis und Theorie, Forschung und Anwendung, Produktion und Präsentation bilden können.

15:30–17:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Abschlussdiskussion

17:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Drinks