Films by Ibrahim Shaddad

Al Habil / The Rope, 1985
Jagdpartie / Hunting Party, 1964
Jamal / A Camel, 1981

During the late seventies and early eighties, a group of filmmakers who were then the staff of the Cinema Section at the Department of Culture issued a periodical named CINEMA. This same group then founded the Sudanese Film Group (SFG) in April 1989 to give them more independence from the state. The purpose of the group was to be fully engaged in all aspects of film production, screening, and teaching, as well as maintaining the passion of the Sudanese for the cinema. But on June 30, 1989 the coup d’état, which brought with it a suspicion of all forms of art, terminated any cultural aspirations and banned all civic society organizations. Finally in 2005 the heavy hand of the state was loosened somewhat, and the SFG was able to re-register.
Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art digitally restored seven works by these Sudanese filmmakers in 2018.

Al Habil / The Rope

15.02.2019 15:00 Eng. Subtitles Werkstattkino@silent green

The short film AL HABIL (1985) documents two blind men making their way through the desert accompanied by a donkey. Connected by a rope, sometimes the two men decide the way, and sometimes the donkey leads them through the desert.

Production company Department of Culture, Cinema Section (Khartoum, Sudan). Written and directed by Ibrahim Shaddad. Cinematography Tawfig O. Fagir. Editing Abdel Gadir Daoud. Music Abdalla M. Abdalla. Sound Awad Eldaw, Salah Saeed. Assistant director Eltayeb Mahdi. Production managers Manar Elhilo, A. Rahman Nagdi. Digital restoration Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst. With Khatab H. Ahmed, Mohd. A. Gorani, Mariam M. Eltayeb, A. Gadir Daoud.

Jagdpartie / Hunting Party

15.02.2019 15:00 Eng. subtitles Werkstattkino@silent green

Ibrahim Shaddad’s graduation film JAGDPARTIE (1964), which he shot at the Deutsche Hochschule für Filmkunst Potsdam-Babelsberg (now: Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF), is a treatise on racism. Shot in a forest in Brandenburg, it uses a Western look to portray the hunt for a Black man.

Production company Deutsche Hochschule für Filmkunst Potsdam-Babelsberg (Potsdam, German Democratic Republic). Director Ibrahim Shaddad. Screenplay Ibrahim Shaddad, Claus Neumann. Cinematography Claus Neumann. Editing Ruth Ebel. Sound design Gerhard Rodenfeld. Production design E.R. Pech. Production manager V. Pech. Digital restoration Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst. With Ambroise Ruzidana, Petra Hinze, Heinz Schröder, Günter Meier.

Jamal / A Camel

15.02.2019 15:00 Eng. subtitles Werkstattkino@silent green

The short film JAMAL (1981) is a report from the life of a camel, most of which plays out in a dreary, small room – a sesame mill.

Production company Department of Culture, Cinema Section (Khartoum, Sudan). Written and directed by Ibrahim Shaddad. Cinematography Elhadi Ahmed Ibrahim, Salah Eddeen Awad. Editing Abdel Gadir Daoud. Sound Awad Eldaw, Salah Saeed. Production manager Manar Elhilo. Digital restoration Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst.

Ibrahim Shaddad, born in Halfa, Sudan in 1945, studied at the Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF. He has written and directed many films and some plays. Practically all films and plays in Sudan were discontinued by producers or banned by governments. He is a founding member of the Sudanese Film Group and a member of the editorial board of the magazine Cinema.

Films

1964: Jagdpartie / Hunting Party. 1981: Jamal / A Camel. 1984: Al Habil / The Rope (32 min.). 1994: Insan (25 min.).

Photo: © Ibrahim Shaddad

Filme von Ibrahim Shaddad

Al Habil / The Rope, 1985
Jagdpartie / Hunting Party, 1964
Jamal / A Camel, 1981

In den späten 1970er- und frühen 1980er-Jahren gab eine Gruppe von Filmemachern, die zu dem Zeitpunkt in der Filmabteilung des Kulturministeriums arbeiteten, das Magazin CINEMA heraus. Diese Gruppe gründete im April 1989 die Sudanese Film Group (SFG), um unabhängiger vom Staat agieren zu können. Ihr Ziel bestand darin, an allen Aspekten der Filmproduktion, der Filmvorführung und der Lehre beteiligt zu sein und die Leidenschaft der Sudanes*innen für das Kino aufrechtzuerhalten. Am 30. Juni 1989 beendete jedoch der Putsch, der ein Misstrauen gegenüber allen Formen der Kunst mit sich brachte, jegliche kulturellen Bestrebungen. Alle zivilgesellschaftlichen Organisationen wurden verboten. Im Jahr 2005 wurde schließlich die feste Hand des Staates etwas gelockert und die SFG konnte sich erneut registrieren.
Das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst ließ 2018 sieben Werke dieser sudanesischen Filmemacher digital restaurieren.

Al Habil / The Rope

15.02.2019 15:00 OmEU Werkstattkino@silent green

Der Kurzfilm AL HABIL (1985) dokumentiert den Weg zweier blinder Männer in Begleitung eines Esels durch die Wüste. Verbunden durch ein Seil, wird der Weg mal von den beiden vorgegeben, mal leitet der Esel sie durch die Wüste.

Produktionsfirma Department of Culture, Cinema Section (Khartum, Sudan). Regie, Buch Ibrahim Shaddad. Kamera Tawfig O. Fagir. Montage Abdel Gadir Daoud. Musik Abdalla M. Abdalla. Ton Awad Eldaw, Salah Saeed. Regieassistenz Eltayeb Mahdi. Production Managers Manar Elhilo, A. Rahman Nagdi. Digitale Restaurierung Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst. Mit Khatab H. Ahmed, Mohd. A. Gorani, Mariam M. Eltayeb, A. Gadir Daoud.

Jagdpartie

15.02.2019 15:00 OmEU Werkstattkino@silent green

Der Abschlussfilm von Ibrahim Shaddad, den er an der Filmuniversität Babelsberg KONRAD WOLF (zur Zeit der Produktion: Deutsche Hochschule für Filmkunst Potsdam-Babelsberg) drehte, ist eine Abhandlung über Rassismus. In einem Wald in Brandenburg gedreht, erzählt JAGDPARTIE (1964) im Western-Look von der Jagd auf einen Schwarzen.

Produktionsfirma Deutsche Hochschule für Filmkunst Potsdam-Babelsberg (Potsdam, Deutsche Demokratische Republik). Regie Ibrahim Shaddad. Buch Ibrahim Shaddad, Claus Neumann. Kamera Claus Neumann. Montage Ruth Ebel. Sound Design Gerhard Rodenfeld. Production Design E.R. Pech. Production Manager V. Pech. Digitale Restaurierung Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst. Mit Ambroise Ruzidana, Petra Hinze, Heinz Schröder, Günter Meier.

Jamal / A Camel

15.02.2019 15:00 OmEU Werkstattkino@silent green

Der Kurzfilm JAMAL (1981) berichtet aus dem Leben eines Kamels, dessen Großteil sich in einem düsteren, kleinen Raum – einer Sesammühle – abspielt.

Produktionsfirma Department of Culture, Cinema Section (Khartum, Sudan). Regie, Buch Ibrahim Shaddad. Kamera Elhadi Ahmed Ibrahim, Salah Eddeen Awad. Montage Abdel Gadir Daoud. Ton Awad Eldaw, Salah Saeed. Production Manager Manar Elhilo. Digitale Restaurierung Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst.

Ibrahim Shaddad, geboren 1945 in Halfa, Sudan, ist ein Absolvent der Filmuniversität Babelsberg Konrad Wolf (seinerzeit Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen der DDR). Fast all seine Filme und Theaterstücke wurden von den Produzenten eingestellt oder von der sudanesischen Regierung verboten. Er ist Gründungsmitglied der Sudanese Film Group sowie Redaktionsmitglied des Magazins Cinema.

Filme

1964: Jagdpartie / Hunting Party. 1981: Jamal / A Camel. 1984: Al Habil / The Rope (32 Min.). 1994: Insan (25 Min.).

Foto: © Ibrahim Shaddad