Delphine et Carole, insoumuses

Delphine and Carole
Callisto Mc Nulty
2019

08.02.2019 14:00 Eng. subtitles Kino Arsenal 1
09.02.2019 20:00 Eng. subtitles Werkstattkino@silent green
16.02.2019 15:00 Eng. subtitles Kino Arsenal 1

70 min. French.

In the 1970s, legendary actress Delphine Seyrig could be seen on the big screen as a singing fairy, a lesbian vampire, an ethereal ambassador’s spouse, and a potato-peeling housewife. She was active as a feminist at the same time, which equally meant taking the camera into her own hands. Along with Carole Roussopoulos, she was one of the first video activists in France, not only documenting protests by the French women’s movement, but also using the new medium to counter the dominant representation of women on TV and elsewhere with their own images and commentaries. As part of this project of narrating their own stories, they held video workshops too and founded the feminist archive Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir. Making use of a generous selection of excerpts from feminist works by the video groups “Les Insoumuses” and “Video Out” as well as from talk shows featuring Simone de Beauvoir, Marguerite Duras, and Chantal Akerman among others, this film both writes a chapter in the history of feminism and traces the beginnings of a creative political practice that used boldness, humour, and subversion to unite collective action, media intervention, and archival documentation. (Birgit Kohler)

Callisto Mc Nulty was born in Paris, France in 1990. She studied Culture, Criticism and Curation at Central Saint Martins – University of the Arts London, and Gender Studies at Goldsmiths, University of London. She works as an author, filmmaker, translator and curator. Delphine et Carole, insoumuses is her second feature-length film.

Film, video, and feminism

DELPHINE ET CAROLE, INSOUMUSES documents the encounter between and the feminist engagement of the French actress Delphine Seyrig and Swiss video pioneer Carole Roussopoulos. Through the portrait of these two fearless accomplices, and of their subversive, militant use of video and cinema, the film also depicts the ‘enchanted’ feminist period of the 1970s, which was marked by biting humour and creative energy.
The film is anchored in a historical and a personal context, which offered me the opportunity to engage with my grandmother Carole Roussopoulos’s work and vision. Her last project, which she worked on until shortly before her death in 2009, became the film’s starting point. She had started an archive-based documentary film about her friend and feminist ally Delphine Seyrig. In her notes, Carole describes her urgent wish to pay tribute to this disobedient muse, to honour and celebrate her feminist engagement and her achievements as an actress.
I was immediately inspired by her vision and I decided to take over the project together with Alexandra Roussopoulos and Géronimo Roussopoulos. Remaining faithful to Carole’s humanist motto – giving voice to those who have been silenced and letting people speak for themselves – I decided to only use archival material: photographs, interviews, and excerpts from their films and videos. Delphine and Carole should tell their own stories.
I discovered a fascinating 12-hour-long interview, conducted by Hélène Fleckinger in 2007 and 2008, in which Carole talks about her work as a filmmaker, the feminist movement and her dear friend Delphine. I felt compelled to include Carole’s powerful presence and voice in the film.

Their first encounter
Delphine and Carole first met in Paris in 1974. Carole, who was already politically engaged at the time, purchased the second video camera that arrived on the French market in 1969 (Godard allegedly bought the first one), and used it to document the struggles of the lesbian and gay movement (the F.H.A.R.) and of the Black Panther Party. In 1970, she founded the first militant video collective in France, Video Out.
Delphine Seyrig’s ambivalence towards her acting profession – her understanding of gendered, stereotypical roles, and of the power wielded by directors and producers – led her to the studio where Carole gave video workshops to a group of women. There, Delphine discovered the subversive potential of the medium of video.
When Delphine Seyrig knocked at her door, Carole did not recognise the famous actress. After the workshop, they became friends and started working together on various films, including MASO ET MISO VONT EN BATEAU(1976) and S.C.U.M. MANIFESTO (1976). They co-founded the feminist video collective Insoumuses (a neologism that merges the French words for ‘insubordinate’ and ‘muse’). In 1982, together with Ioana Wieder, they also founded the Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir, the first archive of audiovisual works by and about women.

A new unencumbered medium
With DELPHINE ET CAROLE, INSOUMUSES, I want to give an account of two women’s striking trajectories in the fields of video and cinema, and of their encounter within the context of the enchanted feminist decade that lasted from the beginning of the 1970s until 1982. The film also sheds light on the emergence of video as a creative and emancipatory tool, as a new and unencumbered medium available to women.
I also wanted to pay tribute to the encounter between these two women. Their collaboration, meetings and communication became important stimuli for initiating change and questioning the existing order of things. Their films and actions are proof that humour can be a weapon for the mass destruction of patriarchy!
I was inspired by their conception of feminism – a kind of ‘fairynism’ – and this conception should also emerge from the film, because it relates to joie de vivre, because it blurs the boundary between the political and the private, and because it rejects victimhood. Carole said that she did not want to divide her life into ‘slices of salami,’ that work, activism and friendship belong together and complement one another.
Since DELPHINE ET CAROLE, INSOUMUSES is entirely made up of archival material, while making the film, my primary preoccupation was weaving together and connecting the women’s images and voices. Editing the film was a challenge and my collaboration with Josiane Zardoya was invaluable. I tried to convey Delphine and Carole’s biting sense of humour and their irreverence by juxtaposing various kinds of images, which I drew from excerpts of their video productions, from films featuring Delphine Seyrig as an actress, from interviews with both women, and from photographs. Cinema, video and feminism thereby inform and echo one another.
There are striking parallels between the feminist struggles of the 1970s that I depict in the film and the struggles of today’s women, be it with regards to the stereotypical roles attached to women and to actresses in particular (which expose inherent sexism and racism as if through a magnifying glass), to the power relations within the workplace and the private sphere, or to reproductive rights as well as lesbian and sex workers’ rights.
I believe that Delphine and Carole’s contagious, creative energy can be a source of strength for us. Their type of political engagement and the joyful radicalism that they embody is more important than ever, especially at a time when so many are dismissed as ‘feminist killjoys’.
Preserving the memory of Delphine and Carole does not only contribute to the record of a history written from the perspective of women, but also gifts us with information and energy from which to draw understanding and confidence. (Callisto Mc Nulty)

Production Sophie de Hijes, Nicolas Lesoult, Britta Rindelaub, Nicole Fernandez Ferrer, Sylvie Cazin. Production companies Les films de la butte (Paris, France), Alva Film (Geneva, Switzerland), Le Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir (Paris, France), Ina – Institut national de l'audiovisuel (Bry-sur-Marne, France). Director Callisto Mc Nulty. Screenplay Callisto Mc Nulty, Alexandra Roussopoulos, Géronimo Roussopoulos. Editing Josiane Zardoya. Music Manu Sauvage. Sound design Philippe Ciompi. Sound Philippe Ciompi.

World sales MPM Premium
Premiere February 08, 2019, Forum

Films

2017: Éric’s Tape (70 min., co-directed by Anne Destival). 2019: Delphine et Carole, insoumuses / Delphine and Carole.

Photo: © Archives Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir

Delphine et Carole, insoumuses

Delphine and Carole
Callisto Mc Nulty
2019

08.02.2019 14:00 OmEU Kino Arsenal 1
09.02.2019 20:00 OmEU Werkstattkino@silent green
16.02.2019 15:00 OmEU Kino Arsenal 1

70 Min. Französisch.

Die legendäre Schauspielerin Delphine Seyrig war in den 70er Jahren als singende Fee, lesbische Vampirin, ätherische Botschaftergattin und Kartoffeln schälende Hausfrau im Kino zu sehen. Gleichzeitig engagierte sie sich als Feministin und nahm als solche selbst die Kamera in die Hand. Zusammen mit Carole Roussopoulos gehörte sie zu den ersten Videoaktivistinnen in Frankreich, die nicht nur Demonstrationen der französischen Frauenbewegung dokumentierten, sondern das neue Medium auch nutzten, um die dominante Darstellung von Frauen im TV und anderswo mit eigenen Bildern und Kommentaren zu kontern. Auch Video-Workshops und die Gründung des feministischen Archivs „Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir“ waren Teil des Projekts, sich selbst zu erzählen. Anhand von zahlreichen Ausschnitten aus feministischen Arbeiten der Videogruppen „Les Insoumuses“ und „Video Out“ sowie aus Talkshows mit u.a. Simone de Beauvoir, Marguerite Duras und Chantal Akerman schreibt der Film ein Kapitel der Geschichte des Feminismus und skizziert die Anfänge einer kreativen politischen Praxis, die kollektive Aktion, mediale Intervention und archivarische Dokumentation frech, subversiv und mit Humor verband. (Birgit Kohler)

Callisto Mc Nulty wurde 1990 in Paris geboren. Sie studierte Culture, Criticism and Curation am Central Saint Martins – University of the Arts London sowie Gender Studies am Goldsmiths, University of London. Sie ist als Autorin, Filmemacherin, Übersetzerin und Kuratorin tätig. Delphine et Carole, insoumuses ist ihr zweiter abendfüllender Film.

Video, Film und Feminismus

DELPHINE ET CAROLE, INSOUMUSES dokumentiert das feministische Engagement und das Zusammentreffen der französischen Schauspielerin Delphine Seyrig und der Schweizer Videopionierin Carole Roussopoulos. Das filmische Porträt dieser beiden furchtlosen Komplizinnen und ihres subversiven, kämpferischen Umgangs mit Film und Video zeichnet die Zeit des von beißendem Humor und kreativer Energie geprägten – des  „verzauberten“ – Feminismus der 1970er-Jahre nach.
Der Film ist ebenso in einem historischen wie in einem persönlichen Kontext verankert, was mir Gelegenheit bot, mich mit der Arbeit und den Ansichten meiner Großmutter Carole Roussopoulos auseinanderzusetzen. Ihr letztes Projekt, mit dem sie sich bis kurz vor ihrem Tod 2009 beschäftigte, wurde zum Ausgangspunkt meines Films. Sie hatte mit der Arbeit an einem auf Archivmaterial basierenden Dokumentarfilm über ihre Freundin und feministische Verbündete Delphine Seyrig begonnen. In ihren Aufzeichnungen beschrieb Carole ihren dringenden Wunsch, diese ungehorsame Muse zu ehren, ihr feministisches Engagement und ihre Erfolge als Schauspielerin zu würdigen und zu feiern.
Ihr Vorhaben begeisterte mich sofort, und ich beschloss, das Projekt gemeinsam mit Alexandra Roussopoulos und Géronimo Roussopoulos weiterzuführen. Getreu Caroles humanistischem Motto, denen eine Stimme zu geben, die zum Schweigen gebracht worden sind, und Menschen für sich selbst sprechen zu lassen, entschied ich mich, ausschließlich mit Archivmaterial zu arbeiten: mit Fotografien, Ausschnitten aus Filmen und Videoarbeiten sowie mit Interviews. Delphine und Carole sollten sich selbst mitteilen.
Ich entdeckte ein faszinierendes zwölfstündiges Interview (2007 und 2008 von Hélène Fleckinger geführt), in dem Carole über ihre Arbeit als Filmemacherin, über die Frauenbewegung und ihre Freundin Delphine spricht. Ich konnte nicht anders, als Caroles starke Präsenz und Stimme in den Film mit aufzunehmen.

Die erste Begegnung
Delphines und Caroles erste Begegnung fand 1974 in Paris statt. Carole, die damals bereits politisch aktiv war, hatte die zweite Videokamera gekauft, die 1969 in Frankreich auf den Markt gekommen war (angeblich kaufte Godard die erste), und dokumentierte damit die Kämpfe der Lesben- und Schwulenbewegung (der FHAR = Front homosexuel d’action révolutionnaire; Amn. d. Red.) bzw. die der Black Panther Party. 1970 gründete sie das erste militante Videokollektiv Frankreichs, Video Out.
Die ambivalente Haltung, die Delphine Seyrig ihrem Beruf als Schauspielerin entgegenbrachte – ihr Wissen um die geschlechtsspezifischen, stereotypen Rollen sowie die Machtposition von Regisseuren und Produzenten – hatte sie in das Studio geführt, in dem Carole einen Videoworkshop für eine Gruppe von Frauen veranstaltete. Dort entdeckte Delphine das subversive Potential des Mediums Video.
Als Delphine Seyrig an die Tür klopfte, erkannte Carole die berühmte Schauspielerin zunächst nicht. Nach Ende des Workshops wurden die beiden Freundinnen und begannen, eine Reihe von gemeinsamen Filmen zu realisieren, darunter MASO ET MISO VONT EN BATEAU (1976) und S.C.U.M. MANIFESTO(1976). Ebenfalls gemeinsam gründeten sie das feministische Videokollektiv Insoumuses (Wortspiel aus franz. insoumis = aufsässig und franz. muse = Muse; Anm. d. Red) sowie im Jahr 1982 zusammen mit Ioana Wieder das Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir, das erste Archiv, das audiovisuelles Material von Frauen und über Frauen archivierte.

Ein neues, unbelastetes Medium
Mit DELPHINE ET CAROLE, INSOUMUSES beschreibe ich die bemerkenswerte Entwicklung zweier Frauen im Bereich Video und Film, die sich in den Jahren des „verzauberten“ Feminismus, zwischen Anfang der 1970er-Jahre und 1982, immer wieder trafen. Der Film zeigt auch, wie Video als kreatives und emanzipatorisches Werkzeug, als neues, unbelastetes Medium aufkam, dessen sich Frauen bedienen konnten.
Außerdem wollte ich die Begegnung der beiden Frauen würdigen: Für beide wurden die Zusammenarbeit, die Treffen und die Kommunikation miteinander zu wichtigen Impulsen, um Veränderungen anzustoßen und die bisherige Ordnung der Dinge in Frage zu stellen. Ihre Filme und Aktionen machen deutlich, dass Humor eine Waffe sein kann, um eine umfassende Zerstörung des Patriarchats herbeizuführen!
Auch ihre Auffassung von Aktivismus soll in dem Film deutlich werden – eine Art „Feenminismus“ –, die mich inspirierte, weil es dabei um Lebensfreude geht, weil die Grenzen zwischen dem Politischen und dem Privaten verwischen und weil sie eine Opferhaltung ablehnten. Carole sagte, dass sie ihr Leben nicht in „Salami-Scheiben aufteilen wollte“, dass Arbeit, Aktivismus und Freundschaft zusammengehören und einander ergänzen.
Da DELPHINE ET CAROLE, INSOUMUSES ausschließlich aus Archivmaterial besteht, ging es bei der Arbeit an dem Film vor allem darum, die Bilder der Frauen und ihre Stimmen zu verflechten und zueinander in Bezug zu setzen. Die Montage des Films war eine Herausforderung und die Zusammenarbeit mit Josiane Zardoya überaus wertvoll. Ich habe versucht, Delphines und Caroles beißenden Humor und ihre Respektlosigkeit durch die Gegenüberstellung verschiedener Arten von Bildern sichtbar zu machen und verwendete Ausschnitte aus Videoproduktionen, aus Filmen mit Delphine Seyrig als Schauspielerin, aus Interviews mit beiden Frauen sowie Fotografien. Auf diese Weise nehmen Kino, Video und Feminismus aufeinander Bezug, fungieren jeweils als Echo aufeinander.
Der Kampf der Feministinnen in den 1970er-Jahren, den ich in meinem Film zeige, hallt auf überraschende Weise in den Kämpfen der Frauen von heute nach – sei es in Bezug auf stereotype Rollen, in denen Frauen und besonders Schauspielerinnen gezeigt werden (und die wie durch ein Vergrößerungsglas den inhärenten Sexismus und Rassismus entlarven), oder auf die Machtverhältnisse am Arbeitsplatz wie auch im privaten Umfeld, auf das Reproduktionsrecht oder auf die Rechte von Lesben oder Sexarbeiterinnen.
Ich bin davon überzeugt, dass Delphines und Caroles ansteckende, kreative Energie eine Kraftquelle für uns sein kann. Ihre Art des politischen Engagements und der freudvollen Radikalität, die sie verkörperten, ist wichtiger denn je in der heutigen Zeit, in der so viel als „feministische Spielverderberei“ abgetan wird.
Die Erinnerung an Delphine und Carole zu bewahren, trägt nicht nur dazu bei, eine aus der Perspektive von Frauen geschriebene Geschichte zu dokumentieren, sondern schenkt uns Informationen und Energie, aus denen wir Erkenntnisse ziehen und Vertrauen schöpfen können. (Callisto McNulty)

Produktion Sophie de Hijes, Nicolas Lesoult, Britta Rindelaub, Nicole Fernandez Ferrer, Sylvie Cazin. Produktionsfirmen Les films de la butte (Paris, Frankreich), Alva Film (Genf, Schweiz), Le Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir (Paris, Frankreich), Ina – Institut national de l'audiovisuel (Bry-sur-Marne, Frankreich). Regie Callisto Mc Nulty. Buch Callisto Mc Nulty, Alexandra Roussopoulos, Géronimo Roussopoulos. Montage Josiane Zardoya. Musik Manu Sauvage. Sound Design Philippe Ciompi. Ton Philippe Ciompi.

Weltvertrieb MPM Premium
Uraufführung 08. Februar 2019, Forum

Filme

2017: Éric’s Tape (70 Min., Co-Regie: Anne Destival). 2019: Delphine et Carole, insoumuses / Delphine and Carole.

Foto: © Archives Centre audiovisuel Simone de Beauvoir