Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V. > berlinale forum > news
february 2020, berlinale forum

Forum Expanded Post Screening Discussions

A big part of the Forum and Forum Expanded tradition is not just watching films and art works but also talking about them. All screenings are followed by discussions with the filmmakers and artists. Screenings at silent green are followed by extended panel discussions. From February 21 to 28, the filmmakers, artists and other invited guests will pick up and explore themes and discourses.

Here is an overview of the screenings and panel guests.

february 2020, berlinale forum

Discussions at silent green

In addition to the regular Q&As after Forum screenings, silent green Kulturquartier will host panel discussions following some of our films. From February 22 to 25, the filmmakers and other invited guests will pick up and explore themes and discourses from the films after the screenings.

Here you can find an overview of the films and discussions:

february 2020, berlinale forum

The Programme Is Now Online

The complete Forum and Forum Expanded programme for 2020 is now online!

Tickets will be on sale from Monday, February 17. For members of Arsenal, there are reduced ticket prices! You can get tickets for all Berlinale Forum and Forum Expanded screenings for 6€ per screening or 24€ for 6 screenings. An Arsenal membership costs 12€/9€ for six months. You can become a member at the Arsenal counter.

Here are links to all films of the Forum main programme, the Forum 50 anniversary programme, the panel day and the programme of Forum Expanded.

february 2020, berlinale forum

O.K. in the Forum Anniversary Programme

In 1970, the German entry to the Competition split the Berlinale: the black-and-white film O.K., directed by Michael Verhoeven and produced by Rob Houwer. Most of the members of the jury perceived it to be anti-American.

A major controversy flared up and the Berlinale ended without awarding the Bears. O.K. now returns to Berlin in 2020 as the official closing film of the Berlinale Forum’s anniversary programme.

january 2020, berlinale forum

50th Berlinale Forum: Galloping between Different Eras

The Berlinale Forum is celebrating its anniversary: 50 years of dedication to independent, adventurous, daring cinema. A perfect opportunity to look back at the past, celebrate what’s been achieved and think about what the future will bring. This dual gaze - backwards and forwards at the same time – characterises numerous films in the programme. Only those aware of what was can shape what will come.

january 2020, berlinale forum

15th Forum Expanded: Part of the Problem

The new decade begins at a time which has produced a great deal of speechlessness and thus a need for ever clearer words to be found. How does such a present change the curatorial gaze? What is the role of cinema and art?

39 installations and films are dedicated to such themes as migration, racism, sexism, state violence, capitalism, colonialism, extractivism, the climate crisis, fears of the future, the loss of history and more. But above all, they refer to themselves as being part of the wider structure from which they emerged.

december 2019, berlinale forum

The Berlinale Forum and Forum Expanded Present Their 2020 Anniversary Programme

The Berlinale Forum takes place for the 50th time in 2020. In collaboration with Forum Expanded, the section will be presenting the films shown in the year it was founded to celebrate this anniversary. Bringing the 1971 programme back to the big screen offers a way of examining an era as eventful in society as it was in culture. The relationship between the films, their historical context, and our own present day will form the subject of a day of panel discussions on February 27, 2020.

december 2019, berlinale forum

First Works Confirmed for Forum Expanded

Al-Houbut (The Landing) by Akram Zaatari

The selection of the 15th Forum Expanded is nearly complete. Works already con-firmed include new films by Ana Vaz and Akram Zaatari and installations by Filipa César, Kika Thorne, Joe Namy, Forensic Architecture and The Otolith Group.

Following last year’s successful inaugural show at silent green Kulturquartier, this year’s group exhibition will be taking place there at the underground Betonhalle once again.


november 2019, berlinale forum

Golden Lola for "Fortschritt im Tal der Ahnungslosen"

[Translate to english:] Bild aus Fortschritt im Tal der Ahnungslosen

At this year's German Short Film Award Ceremony, FORTSCHRITT IM TAL DER AHNUNGSLOSEN (Progress in the Valley of the People Who Don't Know) by Florian Kunert has received the special award for medium length films. The award is endowed with 20.000 Euros which are given to the director and the producers Stefan Gieren and Sarah Schreiner in order to develop a a new film project.

FORTSCHRITT IM TAL DER AHNUNGSLOSEN premiered as part of the Forum programme earlier this year.

november 2019, berlinale forum

Cinema Release: "Querência"

On November 21, arsenal distribution is releasing QUERÊNCIA (Homing) by Helvécio Marins Jr., which received its world premiere as part of this year's Forum programme.

The film tells of Marcelo de Sousa, a cowboy in the Brazilian pampa. After he’s unable to prevent a vicious raid on the ranch, which results in a hundred cattle in his charge being stolen, nothing is the same. He becomes depressed and gives up his job. Luckily, he has good friends and a big passion, blossoming in his role as the master of ceremonies at rodeo shows. His rousing rap-style announcements pay homage not only to the cowboy culture but also to the solidarity of the rural community, which has little trust in the country’s political leadership.

The director will be present for screenings in Frankfurt, Cologne, Hamburg and Berlin.