Jump directly to the page contents

Following our September screening of 2001: A Space Odyssey (Stanley Kubrick, USA/GB 1965-68), we show the sequel 2010: THE YEAR WE MAKE CONTACT (Peter Hyams, USA 1984) as part of our series of projections in analog large-screen format. Arthur C. Clarke, who co-wrote the screenplay for 2001: A Space Odyssey together with Stanley Kubrick, wrote his sequel novel, “2010: Odyssey Two,” in 1982. (Later followed by third and fourth parts in 1988 and 1997.) Kubrick, however, was uninterested in directing a 2001 sequel and left the adaptation of “2010” to Peter Hyams, again in collaboration with Arthur C. Clarke. Nine years after Earth has lost contact with the Discovery spacecraft, the USA and the USSR are preparing manned flights to Jupiter to explore the mysterious monolith there and investigate what happened on the Discovery. The joint mission is led by Dr. Heywood Floyd (Roy Scheider) and Commander Tanya Kirbuk (Helen Mirren). (1.10.)

Funded by:

  • Logo Minister of State for Culture and the Media