Jump directly to the page contents

66 min. Korean.

The owner of this cafe in a traditional district of Seoul is never shown. But we do discover he likes classical music. To the sound of Franz Schubert, Richard Wagner, or Jacques Offenbach, Hong Sangsoo offers another variation on the recurring motif of all his films – when happens when men and women meet.
A young woman accuses a young man of being responsible for her girlfriend’s suicide. A little later, she pays him a compliment. He stares at the floor, embarrassed. In the middle of the conversation, there’s a whip-pan on to the neighbouring table where a woman is sitting at her laptop. She overhears snatches of dialogue and develops them further. Is she the author of the subsequent relationship portraits in miniature whose stories and themes mirror one other? At times, she gets involved in the plot; at others, characters seek her advice. In this Hong Sangsoo film too, soju, Korean schnapps, is served at the table. At this moment, the camera pans out, capturing a young couple in traditional costume, taking photos of each other. Resignation or a new beginning? In the games that play out between the sexes, perhaps you must sometimes look back before you can move forward. (Anke Leweke)

Hong Sangsoo was born in Seoul, South Korea in 1960. After studying at Chung-Ang University in Seoul, the California College of Arts and Crafts, and the Art Institute of Chicago, he spent several months at the Cinémathèque Française in Paris. Since making his first feature film, The Day a Pig fell into the Well, which was presented at Forum in 1997, he has written and directed more than twenty films.

Production Hong Sangsoo. Production company Jeonwonsa Film Co. (Seoul, Republic of Korea). Written and directed by Hong Sangsoo. Director of photography Kim Hyungkoo. Editing Son Yeonji. Sound Kim Mir. With Kim Minhee (Areum), Jung Jinyoung (Kyungsoo), Ki Joobong (Changsoo), Seo Younghwa (Sunghwa), Kim Saebyuk (Jiyoung), Ahn Jaehong (Hongsoo), Gong Minjeung (Mina).

World sales Finecut


1996: Daijiga umule pajinnal / The Day a Pig Fell Into the Well (115 min., Forum 1997). 1998: Kangwon-do ui him / The Power of Kangwon Province (108 min.). 2000: Oh Soo-jung / Virgin Stripped Bare by her Bachelors ( 126 min.). 2002: Saenghwalui balgyeon / Turning Gate (115 min.). 2004: Yeojaneun namjaui miraeda / Woman is the Future of Man (87 min.). 2005: Geuk jang jeon / A Tale of Cinema (89 min.). 2006: Haebyuneui Yeoin / Woman on the Beach (127 min., Panorama 2007). 2008: Bam gua Nat / Night and Day (145 Min., Competition 2008). 2009: Jal al-ji-do mot-ha-myeon-seo / Like You Know It All (126 min.). 2010: Hahaha (116 min.), Ok-hui-ui yeonghwa / Oki’s Movie (80 min.). 2011: Book-chon-bang-hyang / The Day He Arrives (79 min.). 2012: Da-reun na-ra-e-seo / In Another Country (89 min.). 2013: Nugu-ui ttal-do anin Haewon / Nobody’s Daughter Haewon (90 min., Competition 2013), U ri Sunhi / Our Sunhi (88 min.). 2014: Jayueui onduk / Hill of Freedom (67 min.). 2015: Jigeumeun matgo geuttaeneun teullida / Right Now, Wrong Then (121 min.). 2016: Dangsinjasingwa dangsinui geot / Yourself and Yours (86 min.). 2017: Bamui haebyun-eoseo honja / On the Beach at Night Alone (101 min., Competition 2017), Keul-le-eo-ui ka-me-la / Claire’s Camera (69 min.), Geu-hu / The Day After (92 min.). 2018: Grass.

Photo: © JEONWONSA Film Co.

Funded by:

  • Logo Minister of State for Culture and the Media
  • Logo des Programms NeuStart Kultur