Jump directly to the page contents

The Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art has accumulated a collection of more than 8,000 films over its 50 years. 41 artists, filmmakers, performers, musicians, curators, and scholars pursued one goal over two years: to burrow into a film archive which, at first glance, seemed to provide no way of access. Their excavations brought to light the history of an institution and re-animated the viewed films. The research process led to new artistic and scholarly productions, which extend well beyond the cinema. This resulted in video works, performances, installations, sound works, and film educational projects.

LIiving Archive discursively combines research, preservation, and the publication of film history with an artistic and curatorial practice of the present. The project deals with the archive in a way appropriate to our times, not only serving the goal of self-preservation, but at the same time generating something new and creating points of access.

With contributions by: Madeleine Bernstorff, John Blue, Ellen Blumenstein, Oksana Bulgakowa/Dietmar Hochmuth, Filipa César, Vaginal Davis, Madhusree Dutta, Martin Ebner, Darryl Els, Heinz Emigholz, Entuziazm (Michael Baute, Volker Pantenburg, Stefan Pethke), Harun Farocki, Anselm Franke, Stephan Geene, Nanna Heidenreich, Tobias Hering, Merle Kröger, Eunice Martins, Angela Melitopoulos, Avi Mograbi, Sabine Nessel and students of the FU Berlin, Winfried Pauleit, Joel Pizzini, Constanze Ruhm, Susanne Sachsse, Ines Schaber, Stefanie Schlüter, Sabine Schöbel, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, Marcel Schwierin, Marc Siegel, Senta Siewert, Students of the lensbased class at UdK, Dorothee Wenner, Ian White and Johannes Paul Raether, Nicole Wolf, Florian Wüst, Ala Younis, Florian Zeyfang.

2013, 288 pages, texts in original language German or English, 25 €

English translations of the German texts:
p. 32–37: Madeleine Bernstorff
p. 40–45: Oksana Bulgakowa/Dietmar Hochmuth
p. 63–68: Martin Ebner
p.76–81: Heinz Emigholz
p. 82–95: Entuziazm
p. 96–97: Harun Farocki
p. 98–101: Anselm Franke
p. 102–106: Stephan Geene
p. 110–117: Tobias Hering
p. 118–123: Merle Kröger
p. 124–127: Eunice Martins
p. 128–131: Angela Melitopoulos
p. 134–139: Sabine Nessel
p. 140–147: Winfried Pauleit
p. 150–162: Constanze Ruhm
p. 163–167: Nanna Heidenreich
p. 168–176: Stefanie Schlüter
p. 177–185: Sabine Schöbel
p. 186–189: Marcel Schwierin
p. 196-197: Senta Siewert
p. 202–207: Dorothee Wenner
p. 221–225: Florian Wüst
p. 232–243: Florian Zeyfang

German translations/deutsche Übersetzungen

Funded by:

  • Logo Minister of State for Culture and the Media