Jump directly to the page contents

13 min. English.

Composed of vignettes in different techniques and materialities, Untitled Sequence of Gaps uses the form of an essay film to approach trauma-related memory loss via reflections on light outside the visible spectrum – on what is felt but never seen. Shifting between planetary macro scales, physical phenomena, and individual accounts of affective subject formation, the film considers violence and its workings, class and queerness not through representation but from within.
The montage is slow and rhythmic, yet uneven. The flow of images is interrupted by gaps no less significant than the imagery itself. Footage in which public memory stands in for personal remembrance stands along sequences recorded via infrared imaging, under ultraviolet light or microwave radiation. While pondering the effects of the invisible and the power inherent in shifting violence beyond visibility, the piece reflects digital archives and technologies that help shape the relation to past, present and future. Ghosts appear from holes ripped into time by an unremembered childhood, and a witch-burning ritual in the artist’s rural hometown serves as a foil against which to question the politics of visibility.

Vika Kirchenbauer, born in 1983, is an artist, writer, and music producer based in Berlin. In her work she explores opacity in relation to representation of the “othered” and discusses the role of emotions in contemporary art, labor, and politics. She has given lectures at various universities and art schools. Her award-winning works have been shown at art institutions and film festivals worldwide.

Production Vika Kirchenbauer. Production company Vika Kirchenbauer (Berlin, Germany). Written and directed by Vika Kirchenbauer. Cinematography Vika Kirchenbauer, Rita Macedo. Editing Vika Kirchenbauer. Music COOL FOR YOU. Sound design Vika Kirchenbauer. Sound Vika Kirchenbauer. Camera assistant Judith Sieber. Artistic adviser Judith Sieber. Script adviser Philip Hucknall.


2012: Like Rats Leaving a Sinking Ship (25 min.). 2014: Please Relax Now (13 min.). 2015: You Are Boring! (14 min.). 2016: She Whose Blood Is Clotting in My Underwear (4 min.). 2017: Welcome Address (12 min.). 2018: The Island of Perpetual Tickling (36 min.). 2020: Untitled Sequence of Gaps.

Photo: © Vika Kirchenbauer

Funded by:

  • Logo Minister of State for Culture and the Media
  • Logo des Programms NeuStart Kultur