February 2020, berlinale forum

Prizes of the Independent Juries for "Ping Jing", "Seishin 0" and "Chico ventana también quisiera tener un submarino"


The independent juries of the Berlinale have awarded prizes to another three Forum films: The Conféderation Internationale des Cinémas D'Art et Essai (C.I.C.A.E.) awarded PING JING (The Calming) by Song Fang. The jury consisted of Ariane Hofmann, Aliki Kalagasidu and André Soto.

The award of the Ecumenical Jury, worth 2,500 Euros, was given to Kazuhiro Soda's SEISHIN 0 (Zero). The prize goes to directors who have succeeded in portraying actions or human experiences that are in keeping with the Gospels, or in sensitising viewers to spiritual, human or social values. The jury consisted of Kodjo Ognandou Ayetan, Alexander Bothe, Rinke Dellebeke-van Hell, Melanie Pollmeier, James Thessin, jury president: Roland Wicher.

Last but not least, the Tagesspiegel Readers' Jury awarded CHICO VENTANA TAMBIÉN QUISIERA TENER UN SUBMARINO (Window Boy Would Also Like to Have a Submarine) by Alex Piperno. Their statement reads: "Alex Piperno’s film makes reality and fiction merge in entertaining fashion and in clear, beautiful images. Half-dreamlike and half-thoughtful, he finds seemingly impossible doors and passages in the many different walls and borders of our world. The film links together the demanding and the aesthetic in exceptional fashion and is a plea for openness: only when we pass through doors can global togetherness succeed." Jury members were: Peter Apel, Heike Bottke, Chris Feustel, Luisa Horn, Ingrid Lühr, Anuya Rane, Matthias Richter, Thomas Schippmann and Dagmar Seydell.