PolakVanBekkum

Lost on Arrival
Netherlands 2020

11.06.2021 21:30 Eng. subtitles Open Air Kino HKW

8 min. Dutch.

A man lived on the Caribbean island of Curaçao for many years during his working life. After his retirement he wants to spend his last years there. The preparations are going well: he sells his house and all his possessions are put into boxes. But then his health fails him. By the time he leaves, dementia has affected his memory. 

This drama is portrayed using extremely minimalist means. Except for the opening scene, all we see is the view from a tropical veranda. At the same time we hear the man having telephone conversations with his son, in which he gradually acknowledges that he is losing his grip on reality. He may have gone to Curaçao, but he never actually arrived. (PolakVanBekkum)

PolakVanBekkum are Esther Polak, born in 1962 in Amsterdam, and Ivar van Bekkum, born in 1965 in Rotterdam. Their work deals with movement and landscape. Over the years, they have developed a cinematographic method for synchronizing audio recordings with mapped routes, thus realizing documentaries based on movement. This allowed them to create films that proceed within projected satellite images from Google Earth. Their films are shown internationally at film festivals.

Production PolakVanBekkum. Production company PolakVanBekkum (Amsterdam, Netherlands). Director PolakVanBekkum. Screenplay PolakVanBekkum. Cinematography PolakVanBekkum. Montage PolakVanBekkum. Sound Arno Peeters. With Jan Van Bekkum, Ivar Van Bekkum.

World sales LIMA

Films

2011: Etak: A navigation Opera (4 min.), What is done cannot be undone (6 min.). 2013: n boy (9 min.). 2014: The Mailman’s Bag (60 min.). 2016: Once We Get There (49 min.). 2017: Homestead II (1 min.), A Collision of Sorts (17 min.). 2018: The Fortune (1 min.), Gaan om te Zijn / Go Move Be (9 min.). 2019: Daily Life at the Crossing (4 min.), De Rit / The Ride (12 min.). 2021: Lost on Arrival.

Photo: © PolakVanBekkum

PolakVanBekkum

Lost on Arrival
Niederlande 2020

8 Min. Niederländisch.

Ein Mann hat während seines Arbeitslebens lange Jahre auf der Insel Curaçao gelebt. Nachdem er sich zur Ruhe gesetzt hat, will er seine letzten Lebensjahre wieder dort verbringen. Die Vorbereitungen laufen gut: Er verkauft sein Haus und all sein Hab und Gut wird in Kartons verpackt. Doch dann macht ihm seine Gesundheit einen Strich durch die Rechnung. Zum Zeitpunkt seiner Abreise hat eine einsetzende Demenz sein Gedächtnis bereits schwer beeinträchtigt.
Der Film zeigt dieses Drama auf minimalistische Weise. Der Blick von einer tropischen Veranda ist alles, was wir sehen, während wir den Telefongesprächen des Mannes mit seinem Sohn zuhören, in denen er allmählich einräumen muss, dass er langsam den Bezug zur Realität verliert. Er mag nach Curaçao gezogen sein, doch wirklich angekommen ist er nie. (PolakVanBekkum)

PolakVanBekkum sind Esther Polak, geboren 1962 in Amsterdam, und Ivar van Bekkum, geboren 1965 in Rotterdam. Ihre künstlerische Arbeit beschäftigt sich mit Bewegung und Landschaft. Über die Jahre habe sie eine kinematographische Methode zur Synchronisation von Tonaufnahmen und kartographierten Routen entwickelt, mit deren Hilfe sie Dokumentarfilme realisierten, die auf Bewegung basieren. Diese Methode erlaubt ihnen, Filme zu erschaffen, die sich innerhalb projizierter Satellitenbilder von Google Earth abspielen. Ihre Filme werden international auf Filmfestivals gezeigt.

Produktion PolakVanBekkum. Produktionsfirma PolakVanBekkum (Amsterdam, Niederlande). Regie PolakVanBekkum. Buch PolakVanBekkum. Kamera PolakVanBekkum. Montage PolakVanBekkum. Ton Arno Peeters. Mit Jan Van Bekkum, Ivar Van Bekkum.

Weltvertrieb LIMA

Filme

2011: Etak: A navigation Opera (4 Min.), What is done cannot be undone (6 Min.). 2013: n boy (9 Min.). 2014: The Mailman’s Bag (60 Min.). 2016: Once We Get There (49 Min.). 2017: Homestead II (1 Min.), A Collision of Sorts (17 Min.). 2018: The Fortune (1 Min.), Gaan om te Zijn / Go Move Be (9 Min.). 2019: Daily Life at the Crossing (4 Min.), De Rit / The Ride (12 Min.). 2021: Lost on Arrival.

Foto: © PolakVanBekkum