Pablo Alvarez Mesa

Bicentenario
Columbia, Canada 2020

12.06.2021 21:30 Eng. subtitles silent green
19.06.2021 21:30 Eng. subtitles Atelier Gardens Freiluftkino @ BUFA

43 min. Spanish.

On the 200th anniversary of Simon Bolivar’s liberation journey across Colombia, Bicentenario reflects on the far-reaching consequences of the liberator’s legacy, a legacy kept alive through a wide range of intentional and unintentional rituals of remembrance. Summoning Bolivar’s spirit in the exact landscapes that witnessed the battles, Bicentenario reveals the contemporary social rituals that perpetuate the ongoing violence residing deep within the social and political unconscious. Two hundred years after his campaign, Simon Bolivar’s spirit has become a mix of political mysticism, unquestioned doctrine, and enigma—or perhaps a curse that has fixed itself in the collective imaginary of an entire continent. It is this curse that Bicentenario seeks to invoke, and perhaps exorcise. (Pablo Alvarez Mesa)

Pablo Alvarez Mesa, born in 1980 in Colombia, is a filmmaker and cinematographer working mainly in nonfiction. His award-winning films have played at international film festivals including Berlinale, IFFR, Visions du Reel, and Rencontres Internationales du Documentaire de Montréal. Alvarez Mesa is a Berlinale Talents and Canadian Film Centre alumnus and holds a BFA from Simon Fraser University and an MFA in Film Production from Concordia University.

Production Pablo Alvarez Mesa. Production company Pablo Alvarez Mesa (Montreal, Canada). Director Pablo Alvarez Mesa. Cinematography Pablo Alvarez Mesa. Editing Pablo Alvarez Mesa. Sound design Pablo Alvarez Mesa. Sound Galen Elfert, Olga Cecilia Mesa, Christian Olsen, Erin Elizabeth Ryan. Sound mixing Christian Olsen. Colour correction Victor Ghizaru.

Films

selection: 2009: Presidio Modelo (16 min.). 2010: Jelena's Song (30 min.). 2017: La Pesca (23 min.). 2020: Bicentenario.

Photo: © Pablo Alvarez Mesa

Pablo Alvarez Mesa

Bicentenario
Kolumbien, Kanada 2020

43 Min. Spanisch.

Zum 200. Jahrestag von Simon Bolivars Befreiungszug durch Kolumbien untersucht Bicentenario das Erbe des Befreiers und dessen weitreichende Auswirkungen. Sein Andenken wird durch eine Vielzahl bewusster und unbewusster Erinnerungsrituale am Leben gehalten. In eben jenen Landschaften, die Zeugen der Schlachten wurden, wird Bolivars Geist beschworen. So enthüllt der Film die zeitgenössischen sozialen Riten, die die andauernde Gewalt fortschreiben, welche in den Tiefen des sozialen und politischen Unbewussten verankert ist. Zwei Jahrhunderte nach seinem Feldzug ist Simon Bolivars Geist zu einer Mischung aus politischem Mystizismus, unhinterfragter Doktrin und Gespenst geworden – oder vielleicht ist er ein Fluch, der sich an das kollektive Imaginäre eines ganzen Kontinents geheftet hat. Dieser Fluch ist es, den Bicentenario zu beschwören – und vielleicht auszutreiben – versucht. (Pablo Alvarez Mesa)

Pablo Alvarez Mesa, geboren 1980 in Kolumbien, ist Filmemacher und Kameramann und arbeitet vorwiegend dokumentarisch. Seine Filme wurden auf internationalen Filmfestivals gezeigt, darunter die Berlinale, das Internationale Filmfestival Rotterdam, Visions du Reel und die Rencontres Internationales du Documentaire de Montréal. Alvarez Mesa hat an den Programmen der Berlinale Talents und des Canadian Film Centre teilgenommen und besitzt Abschlüsse von der Simon Fraser University (BFA) und der Concordia University (MFA).

Produktion Pablo Alvarez Mesa. Produktionsfirma Pablo Alvarez Mesa (Montreal, Kanada). Regie Pablo Alvarez Mesa. Kamera Pablo Alvarez Mesa. Montage Pablo Alvarez Mesa. Sound Design Pablo Alvarez Mesa. Ton Galen Elfert, Olga Cecilia Mesa, Christian Olsen, Erin Elizabeth Ryan. Mischung Christian Olsen. Farbkorrektur Victor Ghizaru.

Filme

Auswahl: 2009: Presidio Modelo (16 Min.). 2010: Jelena's Song (30 Min.). 2017: La Pesca (23 Min.). 2020: Bicentenario.

Foto: © Pablo Alvarez Mesa