Rosalind Morris

The Zama Zama Project,
USA, South Africa, Canada 2020

Video installation, 19 min. Zulu, Ndebele, English, Tongan, Sesotho.

The Zama Zama Project is an experimental documentation of ruinous postindustrial mining life in southern Africa. It is also an act of witnessing. The men and women of The Zama Zama Project are the forgotten, the ghosts in the machine of modern extractivism, the scavengers of its extravagant waste. They are also the authors of the stories told to Rosalind Morris, and form the core of this expressive and probing assemblage. Based on long term collaborative research, Morris’s project, branching off from her feature length-documentary, We are Zama Zama, comprises a number of short works of various formats in which the sensuous experience of mortally dangerous labor is pursued alongside the political and economic forces that drive people to risk everything in radical speculations on life and value. From mythopoetic encounters with the underground sublime to reflections on the politics and techniques of filmmaking in tunnels and shafts many kilometers below the earth’s surface and vociferous debates on the nature of democracy after wage-labor, The Zama Zama Project is an aesthetically compelling, open-ended address from the necropolitical world.

Rosalind Morris, born in Canada in 1963, is an anthropologist, cultural critic and media practitioner, who is Professor of Anthropology at Columbia University. Morris has worked for more than two decades to document the transforming life-worlds around the gold mines of the Witwatersrand in South Africa. She is the author of seven books, over 70 essays, and has been honored with numerous awards. Morris has collaborated extensively with South African artists, including William Kentridge, with whom she has written three books, Clive van den Berg, and Ebrahim Hajee. She has also collaborated on two operas with the South African poet and novelist, Yvette Christiansë and Syrian-born composer, Zaid Jabri.

Production Rosalind Morris. Production company ROCAM Productions, LLC (New York, USA). Director Rosalind Morris. Cinematography Ebrahim Hajee. Editing Pascal Troemel. Executive producer Rosalind Morris. With Rogers 'Bhekani' Mumpande, Prosper Ncube, Darren Munenge, Sarah Muchimba, Fanie Magwaza.

Films

2013: Brewsie and Willie (82 Min.). 2020: The Zama Zama Project.

Photo: © Rosalind Morris

Rosalind Morris

The Zama Zama Project,
USA, Südafrika, Kanada 2020

Videoinstallation, 19 Min. Zulu, Ndebele, Englisch, Tongaisch, Sesotho.

The Zama Zama Project ist eine experimentelle Dokumentation des Lebens in und mit der ruinösen postindustriellen Bergbauindustrie Südafrikas. Es ist auch ein Akt der Zeugenschaft. Die Männer und Frauen des Projekts sind die Vergessenen, die Geister in der Maschine des modernen Extraktivismus, die Resteverwerter*innen seines extravaganten Mülls. Sie sind auch die Autor*innen der Geschichten, die Rosalind Morris erzählt wurden und die den Kern dieser Assemblage bilden. Die Gruppe von kurzen Arbeiten verschiedener Formate ist ein Seitenarm des Dokumentarfilms We are Zama Zama. Die auf kollaborativer Langzeitrecherche basierenden Filme vermitteln gleichermaßen die körperliche, lebensgefährliche Arbeit in den Minen, wie die politischen und ökonomischen Kräfte, die Menschen dazu bringen, tagtäglich in riskanten Wetten auf Leben und Wert alles aufs Spiel zu setzen. Von mythopoetischen Begegnungen mit dem Erhabenen der Welt unter Tage, über Gedanken zu den Politiken und Techniken des Filmens in den kilometertiefen Tunnels und Schächten bis hin zu leidenschaftlichen Debatten über die Demokratie nach der Lohnarbeit formuliert The Zama Zama Project eine nicht abgeschlossene Ansprache aus der nekropolitischen Welt.

Rosalind Morris, geboren 1963 in Kanada, ist Anthropologin, Kulturkritikerin und Medienpraktikerin. Sie ist Professorin für Anthropologie an der Columbia Universität in New York. Morris hat über zwei Jahrzehnte lang die Transformation der Lebenswelten rund um die Goldminen im Witwatersrand-Höhenzug in Südafrika dokumentiert. Sie ist die Autorin von sieben Büchern und über 70 Essays und wurde mit zahlreichen Preisen ausgezeichnet. Morris hat mit verschiedenen südafrikanischen Künstler*innen zusammengearbeitet, darunter William Kentridge, mit dem sie drei Bücher verfasste, sowie Clive van den Berg und Ebrahim Hajee. Darüber hinaus hat sie gemeinsam mit der südafrikanischen Dichterin und Schriftstellerin Yverre Christiansë und dem syrischen Komponisten Zaid Jabri an zwei Opern gearbeitet.

Produktion Rosalind Morris. Produktionsfirma ROCAM Productions, LLC (New York, USA). Regie Rosalind Morris. Kamera Ebrahim Hajee. Montage Pascal Troemel. Ausführende*r Produzent*in Rosalind Morris. Mit Rogers 'Bhekani' Mumpande, Prosper Ncube, Darren Munenge, Sarah Muchimba, Fanie Magwaza.

Filme

2013: Brewsie and Willie (81 Min.). 2020: The Zama Zama Project.

Foto: © Rosalind Morris