Thirza Cuthand

Medicine and Magic
Canada 2020

2-channel video installation, 5 min. English.

The two videos in Medicine and Magic work together to try and bridge these two stories from my maternal grandparents’ family histories. I’ve been raised with stories of the medicine men in my family. A bundle that was used successfully to heal people. Stories of bear spirits that took care of us. I don’t know about my Scottish side as much, but I did know some of the last names of my ancestors over there. There was one case with a last name and a location close to my great grandmother’s hometown that made me pause. It was a white magic case, protecting cattle, and talking with fairies. Relatively benign things. But she was executed for it. I feel like these videos unearth some of this history and my hope is that they lead people to draw their own conclusions about spiritual, magical, medicinal histories. (Thirza Cuthand)

Thirza Cuthand was born in 1978 in Regina, Canada. Since 1995 she has been making short experimental narrative videos and films about sexuality, madness, queer identity and love, and Indigeneity, which have screened in festivals and galleries internationally. She completed her BFA majoring in Film and Video at Emily Carr University of Art and Design in 2005, and her MA in Media Production at Ryerson University in 2015. She has also written three feature screenplays and has performed. She is of Plains Cree and Scots descent, a member of Little Pine First Nation, and currently resides in Toronto.

Production Thirza Cuthand. Production company Fit of Pique Productions (Toronto, Canada). Written and directed by Thirza Cuthand. Cinematography Various. Editing Thirza Cuthand. Sound design Thirza Cuthand. Sound Thirza Cuthand. Executive producer Thirza Cuthand.

Films

1995: Lessons in Baby Dyke Theory (3 min.). 1996: My Sister (with Danielle Ratzlaff, 5 min.), Colonization: The Second Coming (3 min.). 1997: Working Baby Dyke Theory (5 min.), Bisexual Wannabe (3 min.), Earth Flesh (1 min.). 1998: Untouchable (4 min.). 1999: Manipulation/Dictation (4 min.), Thirza Cuthand’s Through the Looking Glass (14 min.), Helpless Maiden Makes an “I” Statement (6 min.). 2001: Anhedonia (9 min.). 2004: Love & Numbers (8 min.). 2008: Madness in Four Actions (9 min.), You Are A Lesbian Vampire (3 min.). 2010: Homelands (53 min.). 2012: Sight (3 min.), Boi Oh Boi (9 min.). 2013: Just Dandy (7 min.). 2015: 2 Spirit Introductory Special $19.99 (4 min.). 2017: The Longform Lesbian Census (with Riki Yandt, 4 min.), 2 Spirit Dreamcatcher Dot Com (4 min.), Thirza Cuthand Is an Indian Within the Meaning of the Indian Act (8 min.). 2018: Reclamation (13 min.). 2019: Devout and Out: Susan (20 min.), Extractions (15 min.), WomanDress (5 min.), Less Lethal Fetishes (9 min.). 2020: NDN Survival Trilogy (37 min., Forum Expanded 2020). 2021: Medicine and Magic.

Photo: © Thirza Cuthand

Thirza Cuthand

Medicine and Magic
Kanada 2020

2-Kanal-Videoinstallation, 5 Min. Englisch.

Zusammen funktionieren die zwei Videos aus Medicine and Magic als Versuch, zwei Geschichten der Familien meiner Großeltern mütterlicherseits zu verbinden. Ich bin mit Geschichten über die Medizinmänner in meiner Familie großgeworden: Ein Bündel, das erfolgreich zur Heilung von Menschen eingesetzt wurde; Geschichten von Bärengeistern, die auf uns aufpassten. Von der schottischen Seite meiner Familie weiß ich weniger, aber mir waren die Nachnamen einiger meiner Vorfahren dort bekannt. Ein Vorfall an einem Ort in der Nähe der Heimatstadt meiner Urgroßmutter, in dem ein Nachname auftaucht, der mir bekannt vorkam, machte mich stutzig. Es ging um weiße Magie, um den Schutz von Vieh und Gespräche mit Feen. Ziemlich harmlose Dinge. Doch sie wurde dafür hingerichtet. Für mich legen diese Videos einen Teil dieser Geschichte frei und ich hoffe, dass sie Menschen dazu bringen, ihre eigenen Schlüsse über spirituelle, magische und medizinische Geschichten zu ziehen. (Thirza Cuthand)

Thirza Cuthand wurde 1978 in Regina, Kanada geboren. Seit 1995 dreht sie kurze, experimentelle Videos und Filme über Sexualität, Wahnsinn, Queer Identity und Liebe sowie Indigenität, die international auf Festivals und in Galerien gezeigt wurden. 2005 schloss sie ihr BFA-Studium mit dem Schwerpunkt Film und Video an der Emily Carr University of Art and Design ab und 2015 ihren MA in Medienproduktion an der Ryerson University. Sie hat drei Drehbücher geschrieben und war als Performerin tätig. Sie ist von Plains Cree- und schottischer Abstammung, Mitglied der Little Pine First Nation und wohnt derzeit in Toronto.

Produktion Thirza Cuthand. Produktionsfirma Fit of Pique Productions (Toronto, Kanada). Regie, Buch Thirza Cuthand. Kamera Various. Montage Thirza Cuthand. Sound Design Thirza Cuthand. Ton Thirza Cuthand. Ausführende*r Produzent*in Thirza Cuthand.

Filme

1995: Lessons in Baby Dyke Theory (3 Min.). 1996: My Sister (mit Danielle Ratzlaff, 5 Min.), Colonization: The Second Coming (3 Min.). 1997: Working Baby Dyke Theory (5 Min.), Bisexual Wannabe (3 Min.), Earth Flesh (1 Min.). 1998: Untouchable (4 Min.). 1999: Manipulation/Dictation (4 Min.), Thirza Cuthand’s Through the Looking Glass (14 Min.), Helpless Maiden Makes an “I” Statement (6 Min.). 2001: Anhedonia (9 Min.). 2004: Love & Numbers (8 Min.). 2008: Madness in Four Actions (9 Min.), You Are A Lesbian Vampire (3 Min.). 2010: Homelands (53 Min.). 2012: Sight (3 Min.), Boi Oh Boi (9 Min.). 2013: Just Dandy (7 Min.). 2015: 2 Spirit Introductory Special $19.99 (4 Min.). 2017: The Longform Lesbian Census (mit Riki Yandt, 4 Min.), 2 Spirit Dreamcatcher Dot Com (4 Min.), Thirza Cuthand Is an Indian Within the Meaning of the Indian Act (8 Min.). 2018: Reclamation (13 Min.). 2019: Devout and Out: Susan (20 Min.), Extractions (15 Min.), WomanDress (5 Min.), Less Lethal Fetishes (9 Min.). 2020: NDN Survival Trilogy (37 Min., Forum Expanded 2020). 2021: Medicine and Magic.

Foto: © Thirza Cuthand