december 2018, arsenal cinema

Leo McCarey Retrospective

Leo McCarey (1896–1969) was one of Hollywood’s most successful directors in the 30s and 40s, drawing on his great talent for comic and timing and a predilection for improvisation to make some of the most beautiful films of the classical Hollywood era, a unique blend of emotion, humor, vitality, and humanity. Yet despite this success and the admiration of such directorial colleagues as Frank Capra, Jean Eustache, John Ford, Howard Hawks, Ernst Lubitsch, Jean Renoir, Alain Resnais, and François Truffaut, Leo McCarey is almost unknown today. From December 6 - 30, ee are showing a selection of his comprehensive oeuvre in collaboration with the Locarno Film Festival.

 

december 2018, arsenal cinema

Magical History Tour - Theatre and Film

The relationship between film and theater oscillates between proximity and distance, inspiration and emancipation. Despite all thoughts of competition, the need for aesthetic and formal independence and the vehement refusal of particular artistic traditions – all aspects which characterized the relationship between film and theater at the beginning of the 20th century – the theatre offers a pool of subjects, models and forms as comprehensive as it is complex, via which the older medium repeatedly inscribes itself within film history. Approaching this relationship from the other way around, film also plays no small part in the "myth of theater" and has opened up long-concealed theatrical spaces and dynamics to the (theater) audience.

We have collected several examples of the diverse connections between theater and film in this month's Magical History Tour, which span various different film historical periods, genres and styles. They draw on the wide-ranging potential of theater within cinema – theater as a source of inspiration or a microcosm, bringing together life and the stage and fiction and reality, blurring boundaries whilst also sometimes seeming to mirror the very world itself.

november 2018, berlinale forum

Cinema Release: "Yours in Sisterhood"

arsenal distribution is releasing YOURS IN SISTERHOOD by Irene Lusztig as of December 6, another film which premiered at this year's Forum.

Irene Lusztig’s documentary set-up succeeds in bringing a wealth of experiences from an earlier generation of the feminist movement into a complex dialogue with the present: In the film women from all walks of life read out and comment upon letters originally sent to the liberal feminist magazine “Ms.” in the 70s in a range of everyday locations across the US.

arsenal cinema: Big Cinema, Small Cinema #24

04:00 pm Cinema 1


Aufsätze

What Mozart Saw on Mulberry Street

Wenn ich erst zur Schule geh...

Rose for Red

*Aufsätze Peter Nestler FRG 1963 DCP 11 min
*What Mozart Saw on Mulberry Street
Rudy Burckhardt & Joseph Cornell USA 1956 16 mm 6 min
*Wenn ich erst zur Schule geh... Winfried Junge GDR 1961 35 mm 13 min
*Rose for Red Diana Wilson USA 1980 16 mm without dialogue 2 min

Moderated by Ute Aurand and Robert Beavers For everyone ages 6 and above
arsenal cinema: Vaginal Davis presents Contemporary Vinegar Syndrome followed by Late Night Fermentation Salon by Wu Tsang

06:00 pm


White Christmas

*White Christmas Harun Farocki FRG 1968
16 mm OV 4 min
White Christmas Michael Curtiz USA 1954
DCP OV 120 min
+ Late Night Fermentation Salon
At Gropius Bau

Presented by Vaginal Davis and guests Screening and Salon: 25 € (for Arsenal members 22 €), Screening only: 8 € (for Arsenal members 5 €) Online tickets at www.gropiusbau.de and at the box office at Gropius Bau
arsenal cinema: Magical History Tour - Theatre and Film

07:00 pm Cinema 2


Vanya on 42nd Street

*Vanya on 42nd Street Louis Malle
USA 1994 With Julianne Moore, Wallace Shawn
35 mm OV 120 min

arsenal cinema: Leo McCarey Retrospective

08:00 pm Cinema 1


Once Upon a Honeymoon

Once Upon a Honeymoon USA 1942
With Cary Grant, Ginger Rogers, Walter Slezak
35 mm OV 115 min
Preserved by the Library of Congress

dezember 2018, kino arsenal

Retrospektive Leo McCarey

Leo McCarey (1896–1969), in den 30er und 40er Jahren einer der erfolgreichsten Filmemacher Hollywoods, realisierte mit einem großen Talent für Komik und Timing und einer Vorliebe für Improvisation in einer ihm eigenen Mischung aus Emotion, Humor, Vitalität und Menschlichkeit einige der schönsten Filme des klassischen Hollywoodkinos. Trotz des Erfolgs und der Verehrung durch Regiekollegen wie Frank Capra, Jean Eustache, John Ford, Howard Hawks, Ernst Lubitsch, Jean Renoir, Alain Resnais und François Truffaut ist der Name Leo McCarey heute nahezu unbekannt.

Vom 6.-30. Dezember zeigen wir in Kooperation mit dem Filmfestival Locarno eine Auswahl seines umfangreichen Filmschaffens.

dezember 2018, kino arsenal

Magical History Tour - Theater und Film

Das Verhältnis von Film und Theater oszilliert zwischen Nähe und Distanz, Inspiration und Emanzipation. Trotz aller Konkurrenzgedanken, dem Bedürfnis ästhetischer und formaler Eigenständigkeit und der vehementen Ablehnung bestimmter künstlerischer Traditionen – Aspekte, die die Beziehung zwischen Film und Theater zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts geprägt haben – bietet das Theater einen so umfangreichen wie komplexen Sujet-, Modell- und Formen-Fundus, über den sich das ältere Medium kontinuierlich in die Filmgeschichte einschreibt. Umgekehrt hat der Film keinen unerheblichen Anteil am „Mythos Theater“ und hat dem (Theater-)Zuschauer lange verborgene Theaterräume und -dynamiken erschlossen.

Einige Bespiele der unterschiedlichen Verbindungen zwischen Theater und Film quer durch die filmhistorischen Epochen, Genres und Stile haben wir in der Magical History Tour in diesem Monat versammelt – sie verweisen auf das vielgestaltige Potential des Theaters als Inspirationsquelle oder als Mikrokosmos, in dem Bühne und Leben, Fiktion und Realität ineinandergreifen, Grenzen durchlässig werden und in dem sich mitunter auch die Welt zu spiegeln scheint.

november 2018, berlinale forum

Kinostart "Yours in Sisterhood"

Mit YOURS IN SISTERHOOD von Irene Lusztig bringt arsenal distribution einen weiteren Film aus dem diesjährigen Forum in die Kinos.

Darin lesen und kommentieren Frauen unterschiedlicher Hintergründe und Herkunft Briefe, die in den 70er Jahren an das liberal-feministische „MS. Magazine“ geschrieben wurden. In ihrer dokumentarischen Inszenierung gelingt es Irene Lusztig, einen Fundus der Frauenbewegung von damals in eine vielschichtige Beziehung mit der Gegenwart zu bringen.

kino arsenal: Großes Kino, kleines Kino #24

16:00 Kino 1


Aufsätze

What Mozart Saw on Mulberry Street

Wenn ich erst zur Schule geh...

Rose for Red

*Aufsätze Peter Nestler BRD 1963 DCP 11 min
*What Mozart Saw on Mulberry Street
Rudy Burckhardt & Joseph Cornell USA 1956 16 mm 6 min
*Wenn ich erst zur Schule geh... Winfried Junge DDR 1961 35 mm 13 min
*Rose for Red Diana Wilson USA 1980 16 mm kein Dialog 2 min

Moderation: Ute Aurand und Robert Beavers Für alle ab 6 Jahre
kino arsenal: Vaginal Davis presents Contemporary Vinegar Syndrome followed by Late Night Fermentation Salon by Wu Tsang

18:00


White Christmas

*White Christmas Harun Farocki BRD 1968
16 mm OF 4 min
White Christmas Michael Curtiz USA 1954
DCP OF 120 min
+ Late Night Fermentation Salon
Im Gropius Bau

Präsentiert von Vaginal Davis und Gästen Eintritt Filmvorführung und Salon 25 € (für Arsenal-Mitglieder 22 €), Eintritt Filmvorführung 8 € (für Arsenal-Mitglieder 5 €) Online-Vorverkauf unter www.gropiusbau.de und an der Abendkasse im Gropius Bau
kino arsenal: Magical History Tour - Theater und Film

19:00 Kino 2


Vanya on 42nd Street

*Vanya on 42nd Street Louis Malle
USA 1994 Mit Julianne Moore, Wallace Shawn
35 mm OF 120 min

kino arsenal: Retrospektive Leo McCarey

20:00 Kino 1


Once Upon a Honeymoon

Once Upon a Honeymoon USA 1942
Mit Cary Grant, Ginger Rogers, Walter Slezak
35 mm OF 115 min
Preserved by the Library of Congress