Arsenal Summer School 2019

[Translate to english:] The Mermaids, or Aiden in Wonderland, Karrabing Film Collective, Australien 2018

FILM AS POLITICAL PRACTICE: Production, Presentation, and Participation


August 22–24, 2019

Each year the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art offers a Summer School. For three days participants engage with a topic located at the interface of theory and practice.

How can the medium of film make room for social discourse and political action in the cinema and in exhibition spaces?

The events and workshops of this year’s Summer School take a look at variety of ways that artistic practice can influence social and political processes, be it through working in a collective, artistic actionism, or spectator-oriented aesthetic strategies that understand reception as participation. The focus is on films or film curatorial concepts that can be considered less as declarations than as political action. Using historical and contemporary examples, the school will look at what had to be done to get things moving in the interplay of image-politics and social practice.

Contributions by Filipa César, Tamer El Said, Katja Eydel, Stephan Geene, Nanna Heidenreich, Karrabing Film Collective, Birgit Kohler, Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese, Savvy Contemporary, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, Clarissa Thieme, and Philip Widmann.

The presentations are partly in German language only.

Attendance/Registration
The number of participants is limited (30 persons). 
Attendance fee: 135 Euro / 115 Euro (members, students, Berlin-Pass) / 95 Euro (members of arsenal-Freundeskreis)
Registration deadline is August 5, 2019

Venues
silent green Kulturquartier
Gerichtstr. 35, 13347 Berlin
&
Kino Arsenal
in the Filmhaus at Potsdamer Platz
Potsdamer Str. 2, 10785 Berlin

Contact
Angelika Ramlow | Organization
summerschool(at)arsenal-berlin.de

Download Registration Form

Download Program


Program

Thursday, August 22
9:30,silent green Kulturquartier
Arrival and Welcome

10:30–12:30, silent green Kulturquartier
Archival Practice - Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.
by Stefanie Schulte Strathaus

The film collection of the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art encompasses around 10,000 titles from the history of independent cinema. If there’s any common thread to them, it’s the term “counter cinema.” The films challenge the senses, enlighten, offer different narratives, break boundaries. They look to change things.
Any archival practice that seeks to do justice to these films must first of all maintain the spaces of possibility that they create.
Realities and the utopias of past times are reflected in archives–and at the same time archived knowledge influences the present. How do archives translate historical realities into present-day narratives? What can archives do for today’s society?

12:30, silent green Kulturquartier
Lunch in Mars restaurant

14:00–16:00, silent green Kulturquartier
A-Clip - 53 Cinema Spots as an Intervention into the Advertising Clips at the Cinema
by Stephan Geene and Katja Eydel

A-Clip was a project based on the idea of using the spectators’ attentiveness in the darkened space of the cinema as a vehicle for political and subjective-artistic statements. Short films were produced, modeled on advertising film aesthetics, and which they in part expand, parody, or break, all dealing with the topic of the “inner insecurity” that seizes people and keeps them for acting in solidarity. The individual clips, each about 50 seconds long, were interspersed among the advertising clips shown before feature films in cinemas. The producers of the A-Clips are filmmakers or artists that sought out new ways to produce a political public. A-Clip, that is, the 53 A-Clips that were shown, were produced in three studios in Berlin, London, and Los Angeles–53 very subjective ways of engaging with the medium of film and the possibilities of cinema. The project A-Clip provided these clips access to a general public, beyond that of art spaces or festival structures. A selection will be shown from the all three of the series that were produced (1997/1998/2002-03).

16:30–18:30, silent green Kulturquartier
Ogawa Pro – Commitment in the Time of the Economic Miracle
by Philip Widmann

The works of Ogawa Shinsuke (1935-1992) and his production collective Ogawa Pro(ductions) are among the most important positions in Japanese documentary film. Their series of films with the peasants from Sanrizuka struggling against the construction of the Narita International Airport during the 1960s and 1970s is an outstanding example of politically motivated film work. Later films by Ogawa Pro examined rural life over several years as a microcosm of the Japanese present and as a complement to the dominant postwar narratives of the economic miracle. The Arsenal Archive holds a number of films by and about Ogawa.

Film examples and short texts show the development and transformation of the work of Ogawa and Ogawa Pro between the mid ‘60s and late 1980s. What were the conditions that made the uncompromising commitment by Ogawa and his partners to their film objects and the people behind them possible? And how is this legacy shown and recontextualized today?

followed by a move to the Arsenal

20:00, Arsenal cinema
Films by the Karrabing Film Collective

Windjarrameru (The Stealing C*nt$) (2015, 36 min) blends Indigenous storytelling with modern worries over environmental degradation and substance abuse in a story about a group of young Indigenous men hiding in a chemically contaminated swamp after being falsely accused of stealing some beer, while all around them miners pollute their land.
WHEN THE DOGS TALKED (2014, 34 min) mixes nonfiction and fiction in a thoughtful yet humorous drama about the difficulties Indigenous communities have living within the strictures of modern white culture while maintaining a sense of their own traditions and relationship to the land. As a group of Indigenous adults argue about whether to save their government housing or their sacred lands, their children struggle with how the ancestral Dreaming makes sense in their contemporary lives filled with hip-hop and dinosaur bones.

Friday, August 24
10:00–11:30
, silent green Kulturquartier
Ethan Jorrock, Angelina Lewis, Elizabeth A. Povinelli, and Kieran Sing for the Karrabing Film Collective in conversation with Filipa César

The Karrabing Film Collective is an Indigenous media collective founded in 2008 and based at the upper end of the Northern Territory in Australia. It sees itself as a grassroots movement that uses its aesthetic practice as a means to self-organization. Their films show their life, create connection to their land, and intervene in the global image of indigeneity. They develop their own artistic language between fiction and documentary as well as past and present, which can be understood as a new form of collective Indigenous action. The medium of film is a kind of survival strategy–a refusal to divest one’s own land and a way to examine the social conditions of inequality.

11:30, silent green Kulturquartier
Lunch in Mars restaurant

13:00–14:30, silent green Kulturquartier
"Can't You See Them?" – The Library Hamdija Kreševljaković Video Archive Sarajevo
Artistic Strategies with and Collaborations Resulting from Subjective Testimony
by Clarissa Thieme

Clarissa Thieme has developed several artistic interventions over the last few years based on her intense engagement with the Library Hamdija Kresevljakovic Video Archive, a private collection of amateur videos, in which the inhabitants of Sarajevo documented their lives during the siege (1992 - 1996). She has been looking into whether making visible the subjectivity of the videos can be a possible strategy to critically oppose dominant discourses of objectifying history with the complexity of a polyphone of memories. To this end she not only puts the testimonies deriving from the archive into dialogue with the present, but incorporates the same people who shot the material into her artistic process, adding a further temporal dimension of subjective testimony to their archival material some 25 years later.

14:30–16:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Savvy Contemporary

SAVVY Contemporary has defined as one of its focal points the urge to deliberate, experiment and experienciate on issues of conviviality and hospitality. Taking into consideration the rise of xenophobic and racial violence, widening gaps in class and economic realities, revamped hegemonial structures over the last years and decades, the necessity to reflect about hospitality seems to be more important than ever. As an art space, discursive platform, eating and drinking spot, njangi house, space for conviviality SAVVY Contemporary situates itself at the threshold of notions and constructs of the West and non-West, primarily to understand and negotiate between, and obviously to deconstruct the ideologies and connotations eminent to such constructs.
An important part of SAVVY Contemporary's culture is working extradisciplinarily. With team members from twelve countries and five continents trained as biotechnologists, art historians, cultural theorists, anthropologists, designers and artists, we think interdisciplinary work is not enough, one must be able to liberate one’s self from the tight corset of one’s own discipline.
In summary, SAVVY Contemporary gives space to reflect on colonialities of power (Anibal Quijano) and how these affect histories, geographies, gender and race. It is a space wherein epistemological disobedience and delinking (Walter Mignolo) are practiced, and it is a space for decolonial practices and aesthetics.

16:30–18:30, silent green Kulturquartier / Kuppelhalle
Screening: Mother, I Am Suffocating. This Is My Last Film About You. (2019, 76 min) 
After the screening: Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese in conversation with Nanna Heidenreich

The people on the dusty streets of Lesotho stare inquisitively at the young woman, who, like Jesus, carries a wooden cross on her back. She looks back into their faces, at mystically beautiful landscapes, a herd of sheep, and a pair of hands that knit unceasingly. What she sees is rendered more visually precise by the black and white, more abstract by the slowed-down images, it is filtered through memories. A raw voice-over – aware that it is not being heard by those being addressed – structures the flow of images into a cinematic lament. In this essay film, Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese succeeds in creating the chronicle of a radicalising sorrow, which steadily increases in scope from a personal farewell to the mother to a politically aware defection from the motherland. The painful process of shifting from an internal view of the small African country to an external one is visualised and commented on in a profoundly personal way – from the perspective of today, in exile, in Berlin. A pretty angel accompanies the passage. In intense, aching fashion, this unusual lament on an African story of migration sheds light on an realm of experience that is taboo and not only in cinema. (Dorothee Wenner)

Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese was born in 1980 and raised in Lesotho, lives in Berlin. MOTHER, I AM SUFFOCATING. THIS IS MY LAST FILM ABOUT YOU., his first feature-length film, had ist worldpremiere at Berlinale Forum 2019.

19:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Dinner together at the Mars Restaurant (included in the fees)

Saturday, August 24
10:00–11:30, silent green Kulturquartier
ONSHORE MEDIATHEQUE
by Filipa César

In dialogue with Cadjigue, a film collective based in Bubaque, Guinea-Bissau, Filipa César and Sana N’Hada initiated the project “Onshore Mediatheque” in order to establish an experimental and critical connection to the Bijagó, the local indigenous population, and their culture. In addition the plan for the future is to initiate a media center for film and audiovisual productions, a mediatheque should serve as an interface to provide space for developing web publications as well as the possibility for an artist-in-residence programme in Bubaque, the central island of the Bissago archipelago.
Creating such a media center, which also offers workshops with artists and others in the field of media practice, could be one way to support the development of an international network, which in turn supports the Bijagó as they articulate their own concerns both artistically and politically and presenting them to the outside world. The aftereffects of colonial rule have led to neo-colonial efforts to further exploit and endanger nature, which the Bijagó are attempting to expose and resist in order to preserve their living environment. In the frame of unavoidable contact with development and western civilisation, the Bijagó struggle is not about isolation anymore but rather how to imagine and design a place for exchange and relation not based on treacherous extraction. The project strives for a lively exchange between local media activists with students and artists in order to establish a long-term sustainable culture interface.

11:30–13:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Participation
by Tamer El Said

After a long preparatory phase, during which the revolution in Egypt took place, a group of independent filmmakers opened the Cimatheque - Alternative Film Centre in 2015 in downtown Cairo. With its cinema, a library, a laboratory, and a steadily growing archive, it serves as a dynamic working space where filmmakers, artists, writers, curators, and others interested in film can network, research, develop projects, and work. The basic requirements are now available: production facilities, resources, training, public screenings, and discussion events.
In particular by providing access to a “counter archive” as well as through curated film programs that create a close relation between the past and the present, new narratives are arising here against the backdrop of exchange and participation. Filmmakers enrich the archive with their private collections, visitors and users take part in shaping the program, knowledge is exchanged in events and workshops.

Co-founder Tamer El Said speaks about curatorial models based on participation that facilitate collective spaces of action.

13:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Lunch in Mars restaurant

14:30–16:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Praxis-Workshop „What to do“?

Participants work on curatorial concepts, film ideas, and manifestos to reflect on and sharpen the thematic fields discussed and presented.

16:30–18:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Presentation and discussion of the results in the plenum

18:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Closing discussion

19:00, silent green Kulturquartier
Drinks

Arsenal Summer School 2019

The Mermaids, or Aiden in Wonderland, Karrabing Film Collective, Australien 2018

FILM ALS POLITISCHE PRAXIS: Produktion, Präsentation und Partizipation


22.–24. August 2019

Jedes Jahr im August bietet das Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst eine Summer School an. Drei Tage lang setzen sich die Teilnehmer*innen mit einem Thema an der Schnittstelle von Theorie und Praxis auseinander.

Wie kann das Medium Film im Kino und im Ausstellungsraum Orte für gesellschaftlichen Diskurs und politisches Handeln herstellen?

Die Beiträge und Workshops der diesjährigen Summer School werfen einen Blick auf unterschiedliche Ausdrucksformen einer künstlerischen Praxis, die die Einflussnahme auf gesellschaftliche und politische Prozesse dezidiert mitdenkt, sei es durch Arbeit im Kollektiv, künstlerischen Aktionismus oder ästhetische Strategien, die auf die Arbeit des*r Zuschauer*in gerichtet sind, indem sie Rezeption als Partizipation begreifen. Im Fokus stehen Filme oder filmkuratorische Konzepte, die weniger als Aussage denn als politische Handlung betrachtet werden können. Anhand von historischen wie gegenwärtigen Beispielen geht es darum, was getan werden muss, um im Zusammenspiel von Bild-Politik und gesellschaftlicher Praxis etwas zu bewegen.

Mit Beiträgen von Filipa César, Tamer El Said, Katja Eydel, Stephan Geene, Nanna Heidenreich, Karrabing Film Collective, Birgit Kohler, Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese, Savvy Contemporary, Stefanie Schulte Strathaus, Clarissa Thieme und Philip Widmann.

Die Veranstaltungen finden teils in deutscher, teils in englischer Sprache statt.

Anmeldung
Die Teilnehmer*innenzahl ist auf 30 Personen begrenzt. Plätze werden nach Eingang der Anmeldungen vergeben. Teilnahmegebühren: 135 Euro / 115 Euro (Mitglieder, Studierende, Berlin-Pass) / 95 Euro (Mitglieder im Arsenal-Freundeskreis)

Anmeldeschluss ist der 5. August 2019.

Anmeldeformular als PDF zum Download

Programm als PDF zum Download


Veranstaltungsorte
silent green Kulturquartier
Gerichtstr. 35, 13347 Berlin
&
Kino Arsenal im Filmhaus am Potsdamer Platz
Potsdamer Str. 2, 10785 Berlin


Kontakt
Angelika Ramlow | Projektkoordination
summerschool(at)arsenal-berlin.de


Programm


Donnerstag, 22.8.
9:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Ankunft und Begrüßung

10:30–12:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Archivpraxis - Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V.
von Stefanie Schulte Strathaus

Die Filmsammlung des Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst umfasst rund 10.000 Titel aus der Geschichte des unabhängigen Kinos. Wenn sie etwas verbindet, dann ist es der Begriff eines „Gegenkinos“:  Die Filme fordern die Sinne heraus, klären auf, bieten andere Narrative, überwinden Grenzen. Sie wollen verändern. Eine Archivpraxis, die diesen Filmen gerecht werden will, muss in erster Linie die Möglichkeitsräume erhalten, die sie schaffen.
In Archiven spiegeln sich Realitäten und Utopien vergangener Zeiten – gleichzeitig prägt archiviertes Wissen die Gegenwart. Wie übersetzen Archive historische Wirklichkeiten in gegenwärtige Erzählungen? Was können Archive für die heutige Gesellschaft leisten?

12:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Mittagessen im Restaurant Mars

14:00–16:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
A-Clip – 53 Kinospots als Intervention im Werbeblock der Kinos
von Stephan Geene und Katja Eydel

A-Clip war ein Projekt, das von der Grundidee ausging, die Aufmerksamkeit des Zuschauers im abgedunkelten Kinoraum für die Platzierung politischer und subjektiv-künstlerischer Aussagen zu nutzen. Dafür wurden Kurzfilme produziert, die sich an der Werbefilmästhetik orientierten, die sie teilweise aufgriffen, persiflierten oder brachen, und die sich mit dem Thema der „inneren Verunsicherung“ auseinandersetzten, die Menschen erfasst und zur Entsolidarisierung führt. Die einzelnen A-Clips, jeweils ca. 50 Sekunden lang, wurden zwischen die vor dem Hauptfilm gezeigten Werbeclips eingeschnitten. Die A-Clip Produzent*innen sind Filmemacher*innen oder Künstlerinnen, die neue Wege suchten, um eine politische Öffentlichkeit herzustellen.
Die 53 gezeigten A-Clips wurden im April 2003 in drei Studios in Berlin, London und Los Angeles produziert. Entstanden sind 53 sehr subjektive Auseinandersetzungen mit dem Medium Film und den Möglichkeiten des Kinos. Das Projekt A-Clip ermöglichte diesen Filmen eine allgemeine, über den Kunstraum oder die Festivalstrukturen hinausgehende Öffentlichkeit.
Es wird eine Auswahl aus den drei produzierten Staffeln gezeigt (1997/1998/2002-03).

16:30–18:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Ogawa Pro – Hingabe in Zeiten des Wirtschaftswunders
von Philip Widmann

Die Arbeiten von Ogawa Shinsuke (1935-1992) und seines Produktionskollektivs Ogawa Pro(ductions) zählen zu den wichtigsten Positionen des japanischen Dokumentarfilms. Ihre Serie von Filmen mit den Landarbeiter*innen, die während der 60er- und 70er-Jahre in Sanrizuka gegen den Bau des internationalen Flughafens Narita kämpften, ist ein außergewöhnliches Dokument politisch motivierter Filmarbeit. Spätere Filme von Ogawa Pro erkundeten in jahrelanger Forschung das bäuerliche Leben als Mikrokosmos japanischer Gegenwart und Komplement zu den dominanten Nachkriegs- und Wirtschaftswundererzählungen. Im Archiv des Arsenal lagern einige Filme von und über Ogawa.

Filmbeispiele und kurze Texte zeigen die Entwicklung und Transformation des Werks von Ogawa und Ogawa Pro zwischen den Mitt-60er und späten 80er Jahren. Unter welchen Bedingungen war die kompromisslose Hingabe von Ogawa und seinen Mitarbeiter*innen an ihre filmischen Gegenstände und die Menschen hinter ihnen möglich? Und wie wird dieses Erbe heute gezeigt und neu kontextualisiert?

anschließend Umzug ins Arsenal

20:00 Uhr, Kino Arsenal
Filme des Karrabing Film Collective

WINDJARRAMERU (THE STEALING C*NT$) (2015, 36 min) verbindet indigenes Geschichtenerzählen mit der beunruhigenden Bestandsaufnahme der sich unaufhaltsam abzeichnenden Umweltzerstörung und des zunehmenden Drogenmissbrauchs. Während um sie herum das Land von Rohstoffminen verseucht wird, sind einige junge indigene Männer gezwungen, sich in einem von chemischen Stoffen kontaminierten Sumpfgebiet zu verstecken, nachdem sie fälschlicherweise verdächtigt wurden, Bier gestohlen zu haben.
Schon mit WHEN THE DOGS TALKED (2014, 34 min) prägte das Karrabing Film Collective seinen Stil des „improvisierten Realismus“. Eine Gruppe Indigener streitet darüber, ob sie entweder ihren öffentlichen Wohnungsbau oder ihre heiligen Landschaftsgebiete retten sollen, während ihre Kinder zu verstehen versuchen, wie das von den Ahnen stammende „Dreaming“ in ihrem heutigen Leben zwischen hip-hop und Dinosaurier-Knochen einen Sinn ergeben könnte. 

Freitag, 23.8.
10:00–11:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Ethan Jorrock, Angelina Lewis, Elizabeth A. Povinelli und Kieran Sing für das Karrabing Film Collective im Gespräch mit Filipa César

Das Karrabing Film Collective ist ein indigenes Medienkollektiv, das sich 2008 gründete und am oberen Ende des Northern Territory in Australien seinen Sitz hat. Es versteht sich als Basisbewegung, die ihre ästhetische Praxis als Mittel zur Selbstorganisation nutzt. Ihre Filme zeigen ihr Leben, schaffen Verbindungen zu ihrem Land und greifen in das globale Bild von Indigenität ein. Sie entwickeln eine eigene künstlerische Sprache zwischen Fiktion und Dokumentation sowie Geschichte und Gegenwart, die als neue Form des kollektiven indigenen Handelns verstanden werden kann. Das Medium Film ist eine Form der Überlebensstrategie – eine Weigerung, das eigene Land zu entäußern und ein Mittel zur Erforschung gesellschaftlicher Bedingungen der Ungleichheit. 

11:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Mittagessen im Restaurant Mars

13:00–14:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
"Can't You See Them?" – The Library Hamdija Kreševljaković Video Archive Sarajevo
Künstlerische Strategien und Kollaborationen resultierend aus subjektiver Zeugenschaft
von Clarissa Thieme

Auf der Grundlage einer intensiven Auseinandersetzung mit dem Library Hamdija Kresevljakovic Video Archive in Sarajevo, einer privaten Sammlung von Amateurvideos, in denen die Einwohner Sarajevos ihr Leben während der Belagerung (1992 - 1996) dokumentierten, entwickelt Clarissa Thieme seit einigen Jahren künstlerische Interventionen.
Dabei geht sie der Frage nach, ob die Sichtbarmachung der Subjektivität der Videos eine mögliche Strategie sein kann, um vorherrschenden Diskursen, die zu einer Objektivierung von Geschichte führen, mit der Komplexität einer Polyfonie von Erinnerungen kritisch entgegenzuwirken.
Zu diesem Zweck setzt sie die Zeugnisse aus dem Archiv nicht nur in Bezug zur heutigen Gegenwart. Vielmehr bezieht sie dieselben Personen, die das Material gedreht haben, in ihren künstlerischen Prozess ein und fügt dem Archivmaterial so nach 25 Jahren eine weitere zeitliche Dimension von subjektiver Zeugenschaft hinzu. 

14:30–16:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Savvy Contemporary

Der Drang, über Fragen von Gemeinsamkeit und Gastlichkeit nachzudenken, mit diesen zu experimentieren und sie erfahrbar zu machen, ist einer der Schwerpunkte der Arbeit von SAVVY Contemporary. In Anbetracht des Anstiegs an xenophober und rassistischer Gewalt, der sich weitenden Gräben zwischen Klassen und wirtschaftlichen Realitäten, der wieder aufpolierten hegemonialen Strukturen in den letzten Jahren und Jahrzehnten, ist es notwendiger denn je, über Gastlichkeit nachzudenken.Als Kunstraum, diskursive Plattform, Ort für gutes Essen und gute Getränke, Njangi-Haus und Raum für Gastlichkeit positioniert sich SAVVY Contemporary an der Schwelle zwischen Vorstellungen und Konstrukten des Westens und des Nicht-Westens, vor allem um zu verstehen und zu verhandeln, und natürlich auch um die Ideologien und besonderen Konnotationen dieser Konstrukte zu zerlegen.
Eine große Rolle spielt das außerdisziplinäre Arbeiten. Bei Teammitgliedern aus zwölf Ländern und fünf Kontinenten, die als Biotechnolog*innen, Kunsthistoriker*innen, Kulturtheoretiker*innen, Anthropolog*innen, Designer*innen und Künstler*innen ausgebildet sind, geht SAVVY Contemporary davon aus, dass interdisziplinäres Arbeiten nicht genug ist; man muss auch fähig sein, sich selbst vom engen Korsett der eigenen Disziplin zu befreien.

Zusammengefasst: SAVVY Contemporary schafft Raum, um die Kolonialitäten von Macht (Anibal Quijano) zu reflektieren und darüber nachzudenken, wie diese Geschichtsschreibungen, Geografien, Gender und Ethnizität beeinflussen. Es ist ein Raum, in dem epistemologischer Ungehorsam und Entkoppeln (Walter Mignolo) praktiziert werden, ein Raum für dekoloniale Praxis und Ästhetik.

16:30–18:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier / Kuppelhalle
Screening: Mother, I Am Suffocating. This Is My Last Film About You. (2019, 76 min)
Anschließend: Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese im Gespräch mit Nanna Heidenreich

Die Menschen auf den staubigen Straßen Lesothos starren neugierig auf die junge Frau, die – wie Jesus – ein Holzkreuz auf dem Rücken trägt. Sie schaut zurück, in Gesichter, auf mystisch-schöne Landschaften, eine Schafherde und ein Paar Hände, die unablässig stricken. Was sie sieht wird visuell durch Schwarzweiß präzisiert, durch Verlangsamungen abstrahiert und durch Erinnerungen gefiltert. Eine raue Off-Stimme, die sich bewusst ist, nicht von denen gehört zu werden, an die sie sich richtet, formt den Bilderfluss zu einem filmischen Klagelied. Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese gelingt es in diesem Essayfilm, die Chronik einer sich radikalisierenden Trauer nachzuerzählen, die sich vom persönlichen Abschied von der Mutter zur politisch bewussten Lossagung vom Mutterland steigert. Der schmerzhafte Prozess der Verschiebung von der Innen- zur Außenperspektive auf das kleine afrikanische Land wird zutiefst persönlich visualisiert und kommentiert – von heute aus, aus dem Berliner Exil. Ein hübscher Engel begleitet den Transit. Dieses ungewöhnliche Lamento zu einer afrikanischen Migrationsgeschichte erhellt schmerzlich und intensiv einen nicht nur im Kino tabuisierten Erfahrungsraum. (Dorothee Wenner)

Lemohang Jeremiah Mosese wurde 1980 geboren und wuchs in Lesotho auf. Er lebt in Lesotho und Berlin. MOTHER, I AM SUFFOCATING. THIS IS MY LAST FILM ABOUT YOU., sein erster abendfüllender Film, hatte seine Weltpremiere beim Berlinale Forum 2019.

19:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
gemeinsames Abendessen im Restaurant Mars (im Preis inbegriffen)

Samstag, 24.8.
10:00–11:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
ONSHORE MEDIATHEQUE
von Filipa César

Im Dialog mit Cadjigue, einem in Bubaque, Guinea-Bissau, ansässigen Filmkollektiv, haben Filipa César und Sana N’Hada vor Ort das Projekt „Onshore Mediatheque“ initiiert, um zu den Bijagós, der dort lebenden indigenen Bevölkerung, wie auch zu ihrer Kultur eine Beziehung aufzubauen. Die Mediatheque soll zukünftig neben der Schaffung eines Medienzentrums für Film und audiovisuelle Produktionen, die Entwicklung von Web-Veröffentlichungen wie auch einer Online-Bibliothek und die Möglichkeit von Künstler*innen-Residenzen in Bubaque, der zentralen Insel des Bissago-Archipels, ermöglichen. Die Schaffung eines solchen Medienzentrums, das auch Workshops mit Künstler*innen und Personen im Feld der Medienpraxis anbietet, könnte die Entfaltung eines internationalen Netzwerkes befördern, das die Bijagós unterstützt, ihre eigenen Belange künstlerisch wie politisch zu artikulieren und nach außen zu tragen.
Die Nachwirkungen der kolonialen Herrschaft münden nun in postkapitalistische Bestrebungen, in der Ausbeutung und Zerstörung der Natur, die die Bijagós aufzudecken und zu bekämpfen versuchen, um ihren Lebensraum zu bewahren. Es geht um einen lebhaften Austausch zwischen Medienaktivist*innen vor Ort und Studierenden wie Künstler*innen aus aller Welt, um langfristig ein sich selbst tragendes autonomes Zentrum zu etablieren.

11:30–13:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Partizipation
von Tamer El Said

Nach einer langen Vorbereitungsphase, während der gleichzeitig die Revolution in Ägypten stattfand, eröffnete eine Gruppe unabhängiger Filmschaffender 2015 die Cimatheque Alternative Film Centre in Downtown Cairo. Mit ihrem Kino, einer Bibliothek, einem Labor und einem stets wachsenden Archiv dient sie als dynamischer Arbeitsraum, an dem Filmemacher*innen, Künstler*innen, Autor*innen, Kurator*innen und Filminteressierte sich vernetzen, forschen, Projekte entwickeln und arbeiten können. Grundlegende Voraussetzungen werden zur Verfügung gestellt: Produktionsstätten, Ressourcen, Ausbildung, öffentliche Vorführungen und Diskussionsveranstaltungen.

Insbesondere durch die Zugänglichmachung eines „Gegenarchivs“ sowie durch kuratierte Filmprogramme, die Geschichte und Gegenwart in engen Bezug zueinander setzen, entstehen hier neue Narrative vor dem Hintergrund von Austausch und Partizipation: Filmschaffende reichern mit ihren Privatbeständen das Archiv an,  Besucher*innen und Nutzer*innen sind an der Programmgestaltung beteiligt, in Veranstaltungen und Workshops wird Wissen ausgetauscht.

Mitbegründer Tamer El Said spricht über kuratorische Modelle, die auf Partizipation beruhen und dabei kollektive Handlungsräume ermöglichen. 

13:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Mittagessen im Restaurant Mars

14:30–16:30 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Praxis-Workshop „Was tun“?

Die Teilnehmer*innen erarbeiten kuratorische oder künstlerische Konzepte, Filmideen oder Manifeste, um die diskutierten Themenfelder zu reflektieren und präzisieren.

16:30–18:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Präsentation und Diskussion der Ergebnisse im Plenum

18:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Abschlussdiskussion

19:00 Uhr, silent green Kulturquartier
Drinks