De quelques événements sans signification

About Some Meaningless Events
Mostafa Derkaoui
1974

13.02.2019 15:00 Eng. subtitles Kino Arsenal 1
15.02.2019 20:00 Eng. subtitles Kino Arsenal 1

76 min. Arabic.

Around the port’s streets and popular bars of Casablanca, a group of filmmakers conduct discussions with people about their expectations of, and aspirations for, the emerging Moroccan national cinema. When a disgruntled worker kills his superior accidentally, their inquest shifts focus, and they begin to probe the context and motives of the killing. At the heart of De quelques événements sans signification is an interrogation on the role of cinema (and art) in society, documentary and the Real, and what constitutes an urgency for a national cinema that is being born. This unique filmic experience was conceived as an independent and collective effort of militant filmmakers, actors, musicians, poets and journalists at a time of heightened repression on freedom of expression in Morocco and was funded by the sale of paintings by several contemporary painters. The film was first screened in Paris in 1975 but was immediately taxed with censorship and forbidden from exhibition and export. It was forgotten until a negative print was found in the archives of the Filmoteca de Catalunya in 2016 and restored there. 45 years after its completion, the film will finally be released. (Rasha Salti)

Mostafa Derkaoui was born in Oujda, Morocco in 1944. Between 1963 and 1964, he studied at the French film school Institut des Hautes Études Cinématographiques (IDHEC, now La Fémis) in Paris before studying at the Polish film school Państwowa Wyższa Szkoła Filmowa i Teatralna in Łódź from 1965 to 1972. In 1974, Derkaoui and his brother founded the production company Basma Productions. De quelques événements sans signification was his first feature-length film.

A collective project through and through

In January 1974, Mostafa Derkaoui returned to Casablanca from his studies at the film college in Łódź, Poland. Together with his brother Abdelkrim, he shot his first film in the city’s bars and streets, in the harbour and the poorer districts. The independently produced film was borne by a collective energy unique in the cultural history of the country, even if Moroccan cinema was only starting to develop at the time.
Censorship kept the film from being screened in public for so many years that, in the end, the participants could only remember the extraordinary shoot. And many people had participated: first of all, the modern painters (Melehi, Chebaa, Hamidi and others) who helped fund the film by selling their works; then the group of people who were always near Mostafa Derkaoui, most importantly his brother, but also the actors from the municipal theatre, the musicians of the popular group Jil Jalala, as well as the politically engaged writers, journalists and poets (Mostafa Nissabory and Mohamed Zeftzaf) – at least those who were not in prison.
For more than a decade, these rebellious spirits, most of whom had recently returned from studying art, film or literature abroad, had been subjected to strong repression. The magazine “Souffles”, which had offered them opportunities for free expression, was banned and its founder Abdellatif Laabi was arrested, along with many other underground sympathisers and activists of the Marxist-Leninist parties working towards revolution. Two failed military coups in 1971 and 1972 exacerbated the political situation in Morocco, intensifying the country’s isolation and King Hassan II’s accompanying repression. This background explains why the film was banned, as it depicts a Marxist youth culture and the revolt of a worker who kills his boss. Mostafa Derkaoui wanted to make a film about ‘a normal Moroccan and everything that can happen to him, and a film against authoritarian power relations’. A film aimed against those who consider themselves oppositional and hold aloft the ideals of emancipation, while actually helping oppress the people by acting as ‘henchmen of the regime’. In Derkaoui’s film, the rebels are not the director and his group of Marxist artist friends who interview people and reflect on culture and society; the rebel is the young man who kills his employer because he can no longer stand being exploited. (All quotations are from a talk between Mostafa Derkaoui and Léa Morin, held in June 2015 at Mostafa Derkaoui’s home)

A unique funding system

In a talk with Nourredine Sail, Mostafa Derkaoui explained (…) that his project should be understood as a ‘thoroughly collective work’. ‘That, I think, is its essence. And we wanted to preserve this collective character on all levels of the project. That’s why the production was also firmly grounded in the concrete material support of a number of Moroccan artists.’ Mostafa Derkaoui is alluding to the unique funding system that was invented to produce DE QUELQUES ÉVÉNEMENTS SANS SIGNIFICATION and guarantee the film’s independence. A number of renowned painters contributed, including Melehi, Hamidi, Chabaa, Bekkai, Miloud, Belcadi, Kacimi and Aziz Sayed. (Maghreb Information, talk with Nourredine Sail, April 1974)

A radical cinema

From the very beginning, ‘I didn’t want to work narratively or fictionally, but to examine cinema with means that grant me a better understanding of how it functions and to familiarise the audience with them as much as possible. While I was shooting my first feature-length film, DE QUELQUES ÉVÉNEMENTS SANS SIGNIFICATION, in Morocco, with Abdelkrim as cameraman, a phase began for us in which we could confront our idea of what film is, what it should investigate, with the reality out there (…).’ (Études cinématographiques, revue du FNCCM, July 1985, talk with Mostafa and Abdelkrim Derkaoui, conducted by Driss Chouika and Mohamed Kaouti)

Filmmakers did not have any rights 

In his still unpublished ‘A History of Moroccan Cinema’, the filmmaker and writer Ahmed Bouanani says that ‘this film’s shoot will go down in the annals of Moroccan film because never before did a similar project release so much enthusiasm and so much energy. (…) But the public will undoubtedly never have the opportunity to judge this work for itself. In every respect, this film – like others – drastically demonstrates to the novice as well as the cinephilic viewer that, in the ’70s and ’80s, Moroccan filmmakers did not have the right to use the camera in the way that, say, one uses a microscope in the lab, and that they had to accept certain constraints. At another time and under different circumstances – in other words, if an established Moroccan cinema had existed – the search for a new audiovisual language would presumably have met with good will and encouragement.’ (La septième porte. A History of Moroccan Cinema, 1907 to 1986, Ahmed Bouanani, 1987, unpublished. The book will soon appear with Kulte Editions, Rabat 2019.)

A different approach

Bouanani highlights the problem that in Morocco there is a ‘cinema of searching and exploring’ (‘cinéma de recherche’), comparable to the alternative or underground cinema that often develops as a counter-movement in countries with an already established film culture – and this is the case despite the fact that Moroccan cinema is still in its infancy. Derkaoui is aware of this, but refuses to produce ‘traditional’ cinema; he does not want to defer to the expectations of the public and the critics. After many years spent abroad studying film, the filmmaker wants to proceed ‘differently’ in his metier. In an interview with the poet Mostafa Nissaboury, he elucidates his reasons: ‘The structures of cinema are, on the one hand, incompatible with our way of seeing things; on the other hand, we want to try out something entirely our own, something that neither refers to the experiences of people in capitalist countries, nor to those in Third World countries, like Algeria, Egypt and Brazil.’ (Pour une dynamique du cinéma collectif, Mostafa Nissaboury, Integral, March/April 1974)

What is cinema?

This political film, situated between narrative and documentary film and banned by the censors, reflects on the nature of cinematic language and its relationship to society.
At a meeting with film students in Marrakech in February 2016, Mostafa spoke about his approach. ‘For me, cinema must speak for itself and must face the question, What is cinema? We approached people in the bistro or the harbour and asked them questions about cinema. Abbas Fassi-Fihri asks a woman, ‘What is your favourite film?’ She answers, ‘Moroccan cinema, of course, Moroccan films.’ At this point, Fassi-Fihri digs deeper, ‘Which Moroccan films have you seen, then?’ ‘None.’ Nonetheless, she likes Moroccan film best. One can like Moroccan cinema, even if no films are made there.’ (La Serre, Cyber Parc de Marrakech, Atelier de L’Observatoire, talk between Léa Morin and Mostafa Derkaoui)

The restoration of the film

After the end of the shoot, the 16mm original negative was developed in the Spanish laboratory Fotofilm. The editing was done in Morocco, and the material then moved from Madrid to Barcelona, where it was blown up from 16mm to 35mm. In 1975, the film was shown at a film festival in Paris. Since it was neither allowed to be shown or exported, its distribution from then on was restricted to secret screenings.
In the early 2000s, thanks to the collector Mostafa Dziri, a friend of Derkaoui, some VHS copies and later some low-quality DVDs circulated in cinephilic circles. In 2011, the filmmaker Ali Essafi used excerpts from the film in his short film WANTED. The original negatives went missing after the Fotofilm lab declared insolvency in 1999.
Only when Léa Morin, a film scholar specialising in the history of Moroccan cinema, began her research in 2016 did she come across the negatives in the Filmoteca de Catalunya in Barcelona. This discovery and the ensuing correspondence between her, the Derkaoui brothers and the team at the Filmoteca de Catalunya led to the protracted restoration of the film, so that forty years after it was made it could finally be discovered and shown internationally.
The film was restored in parallel to Léa Morin’s research (L’Observatoire, art et recherche). The latter led to a book, an exhibition and a series of events in which filmmakers, art historians, film critics and artists took part.
With the support of L’Observatoire, the Musée Collectif de Casablanca, the Filmoteca de Catalunya, the Arab Fund for Art and Culture (AFAC), Akademie Schloss Solitude and Kibrit.

What Moroccan film does and does not do

The film shows a group of filmmakers, drunk on wine and Marxist principles. They ask themselves what the collective purpose of their art is, and they look for a theme for their film (...). Since they want to launch a debate about cinema, the group goes out into Casablanca, seeking a hypothetical public that would allow them work on something related to audience expectations. Encounter follows encounter, statement follows statement. ‘Politically engaged Moroccan cinema,’ they say, ‘has to take an interest in the problems of society.’ – ‘Moroccan cinema doesn’t even exist.’ – ‘As viewers, we find it difficult to say what you should do.’ – ‘Shoot a film first, then we can talk about it.’ – ‘I love Moroccan cinema. I would take part in any Moroccan production,’ avers a young employee of the prefecture. (Reda Zaireg, Le cinéma marocain confronté au réel, Orient XXI, November 2017)

(Texts compiled by Léa Morin)

Production Mostafa Derkaoui. Production company Basma Production (Casablanca, Morocco). Written and directed by Mostafa Derkaoui. Cinematography Mohamed Abdelkrim Derkaoui. Editing Mostafa Derkaoui. Music Jazz-Band "Nahorny". Sound Stan Wiszniewski, Noureddine Gounejjar, Larbi Essakalli, Miloud Bourbouh, Menouar Samiri. Digital restoration Centre de Conservació i Restauració de la Filmoteca de Catalunya, Barcelona, L’Observatoire, le Musée Collectif de Casablanca. With Abdellatif Nour, Abbas Fassi-Fihri, Hamid Zoughi, Mostafa Dziri, Aïcha Saâdoun, Mohamed Derham, Salah-Eddine Benmoussa, Abdelkader Moutaâ, Khalid Jamaï, Chafik Shimi, Malika El Mesrar, Omar Chenbout, Mostafa Nissabouri.

World sales Léa Morin | Observatoire

Films

1964: Les quatre murs. 1968: Amghar (4 min.), Adoption (4 min.). 1969: Les gens du caveau (20 min.), Les États généraux du Cinéma. 1970: Un jour quelque part (20 min.). 1974: De quelques événements sans signification / About Some Meaningless Events. 1976: Les cendres du clos (105 min., collective film). 1982: Les beaux jours de Chahrazade (97 min.). 1984: Titre provisoire (120 min.). 1988: La femme rurale au Maroc. 1992: Fiction première (120 min.), Le silence (18 min., episode of omnibus film La Guerre du golfe …. et après?). 1993: Le doux murmure du vent après l’orage (22 min.). 1994: Je(u) au passé (81 min.), Les sept portes de la nuit (100 min.), La grande allégorie (67 min.). 2000: Les amours de haj Mokhtar Soldi (130 min.). 2003: Casablanca by Night (100 min.). 2004: Casablanca Daylight (100 min.).

Photo: © Observatoire/Filmoteca de Catalunya/Basma

De quelques événements sans signification

About Some Meaningless Events
Mostafa Derkaoui
1974

13.02.2019 15:00 OmEU Kino Arsenal 1
15.02.2019 20:00 OmEU Kino Arsenal 1

76 Min. Arabisch.

In den Straßen rund um den Hafen von Casablanca diskutiert eine Gruppe von Filmemacher*innen mit Passanten über deren Erwartungen an das junge marokkanische Kino. Als ein wütender Arbeiter seinen Vorgesetzten tötet, verlagert sich die Befragung auf den Kontext und die Motive der Tat. De quelques événements sans signification ist im Kern ein Film über die gesellschaftliche Rolle von Kino (und Kunst), Dokumentarismus und Realität und die Frage, welche Themen für ein im Entstehen begriffenes nationales Kino relevant sind. Der Film ist das Resultat einer Zusammenarbeit streitbarer Filmemacher*innen, Schauspieler*innen, Musiker*innen, Dichter*innen und Journalist*innen, die erleben mussten, wie in ihrem Land der Druck auf die Meinungsfreiheit zunehmend erhöht wurde. Finanziert wurde das Projekt über den Verkauf von Gemälden zeitgenössischer Künstler*innen. Erstmals 1975 in Paris gezeigt, wurde der Film in Marokko umgehend zensiert und für Vorführungen und den in-ternationalen Vertrieb gesperrt. Er geriet in Vergessenheit – bis 2016 in den Archiven der Filmoteca de Catalunya ein Negativprint gefunden und restauriert wurde. 45 Jahre nach seiner Entstehung kommt der Film in die Kinos. (Rasha Salti)

Mostafa Derkaoui wurde 1944 in Oujda (Marokko) geboren. Von 1963 bis 1964 studierte er an der französischen Filmhochschule Institut des Hautes Études Cinématographiques (IDHEC, heute La Fémis) in Paris, bevor er von 1965 bis 1972 ein Studium an der polnischen Filmhochschule Państwowa Wyższa Szkoła Filmowa i Teatralna in Łódź absolvierte. Gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder gründete Derkaoui 1974 die Filmproduktion Basma Productions. De quelques événements sans signification war sein erster abendfüllender Film.

Durch und durch ein Kollektivprojekt

Im Januar 1974 kehrte Mostafa Derkaoui von seinem Studium an der Filmhochschule im polnischen Łódź nach Casablanca zurück. Gemeinsam mit seinem Bruder Abdelkarim drehte er seinen ersten Film in den Bars und Straßen, im Hafen und in den ärmeren Vierteln der Stadt. Der unabhängig produzierte Film war von einer in der kulturellen Geschichte des Landes einzigartigen kollektiven Energie getragen, auch wenn das marokkanische Kino damals erst am Anfang seiner Entwicklung stand.
Aus Zensurgründen wurde der Film so viele Jahre lang nicht in der Öffentlichkeit gezeigt, dass die Mitwirkenden sich am Ende nur noch an die außergewöhnlichen Dreharbeiten erinnern konnten. Und mitgewirkt hatten viele: zuallererst die modernen Maler (Melehi, Chebaa, Hamidi und andere), die zur Finanzierung des Films beitrugen, indem sie ihre Werke verkauften; dann die Gruppe von Leuten, die ständig in der Nähe von Mostafa Derkaoui waren, in erster Linie sein Bruder, aber auch die Schauspieler des städtischen Theaters, die Musiker der beliebten Gruppe Jil Jalala und außerdem die damals engagiertesten Schriftsteller, Journalisten und Dichter (Mostafa Nissabory und Mohamed Zeftzaf) – zumindest diejenigen, die nicht im Gefängnis saßen.
Denn schon seit mehr als einem Jahrzehnt waren diese aufrührerischen Geister, die zum großen Teil kurz zuvor von ihrem Kunst-, Film- oder Literaturstudium aus dem Ausland zurückgekehrt waren, starken Repressionen ausgesetzt. Die Zeitschrift „Souffles“, die ihnen freie Ausdrucksmöglichkeiten geboten hatte, war verboten und ihr Gründer Abdellatif Laabi verhaftet worden, zusammen mit zahlreichen anderen im Untergrund tätigen Sympathisanten und Aktivisten der marxistisch-leninistischen Parteien, die auf eine Revolution hinarbeiteten. Die politische Situation in Marokko verschärfte sich 1971 und 1972 durch zwei gescheiterte Militärputschs, welche die Isolation und die damit einhergehende Repression durch König Hassan II. noch verstärkten. Vor diesem Hintergrund erklärt sich das Verbot des Films, der eine marxistische Jugend und die Revolte eines Arbeiters zeigt, der seinen Vorgesetzten umbringt.
Mostafa Derkaoui wollte einen Film machen über „einen normalen Marokkaner und alles, was ihm widerfahren kann, und einen Film gegen die autoritären Herrschaftsverhältnisse“. Einen Film, der sich gegen diejenigen richtet, die sich für Oppositionelle halten und die Ideale der Emanzipation hochhalten, während sie in Wirklichkeit als „Handlanger des Regimes“ das Volk unterdrücken helfen. In Derkaouis Film ist nicht der Regisseur der Rebell mit seiner Gruppe marxistischer Künstlerfreunde, die die Leute befragen und sich Gedanken über die Kultur und die Gesellschaft machen; der Rebell ist der junge Mann, der seinen Chef umbringt, weil er es nicht mehr erträgt, ausgebeutet zu werden. (Alle Zitate aus einem Gespräch zwischen Mostafa Derkaoui und Léa Morin, Juni 2015)

Ein ungewöhnliches Finanzierungsmodell

In einem Gespräch mit Nourredine Sail erklärte Mostafa Derkaoui (…), dass sein „Projekt zutiefst als Kollektivarbeit“ zu verstehen sei. „Das macht es, glaube ich, im Wesentlichen aus. Und diesen Kollektivcharakter wollten wir auf allen Ebenen des Projekts bewahren. Deshalb beruhte die Produktion auch sehr stark auf der konkreten materiellen Unterstützung einiger marokkanischer Künstler (...).“
Mostafa Derkaoui spielt hier auf das einzigartige Finanzierungssystem an, das erfunden wurde, um DE QUELQUES ÉVÉNEMENTS SANS SIGNIFICATION zu produzieren und die Unabhängigkeit dieses Films zu sichern. Dazu beigetragen haben so renommierte Maler wie Melehi, Hamidi, Chabaa, Bekkai, Miloud, Belcadi, Kacimi und Aziz Sayed. (Maghreb Information, Gespräch mit Nourredine Sail, April 1974)

Ein radikales Kino

Von Anfang an „wollte ich nicht erzählerisch, nicht fiktional arbeiten, sondern das Kino mit Mitteln untersuchen, die mich seine Funktionsweise besser verstehen lassen und diese soweit möglich auch dem Publikum nahebringen würden. Während ich in Marokko meinen ersten Spielfilm DE QUELQUES ÉVÉNEMENTS SANS SIGNIFICATION drehte, bei dem Abdelkarim die Kamera übernahm, begann für uns eine Phase, in der wir unsere Vorstellung davon, was Film ist, was Film untersuchen soll, mit der Wirklichkeit draußen konfrontieren konnten (…).“ (Études cinématographiques, revue du FNCCM, Juli 1985, Gespräch mit Mostafa und Abdelkrim Darkoui, geführt von Driss Chouika und Mohamed Kaouti)

Filmemacher hatten keine Rechte

In seiner bisher unveröffentlichten „Geschichte des marokkanischen Kinos“ erzählt der Filmemacher und Schriftsteller Ahmed Bouanani, dass „die Dreharbeiten für diesen Film in die Annalen des marokkanischen Kinos eingehen werden, weil nie zuvor ein ähnliches Projekt so viel Enthusiasmus und so viel Energie freigesetzt hat. (...) Aber das Publikum wird zweifelsohne niemals die Gelegenheit haben, diese Arbeit selbst zu beurteilen. In jeglicher Hinsicht führt dieser Film – ebenso wie andere auch – dem unerfahrenen wie dem kinobegeisterten Zuschauer drastisch vor Augen, dass marokkanische Filmemacher in den 70er- und 80er-Jahren nicht das Recht hatten, die Kamera zu benutzen, wie man etwa ein Mikroskop im Labor benutzt, und dass sie sich bestimmten Anforderungen zu beugen hatten. Zu anderen Zeiten und unter anderen Umständen – mit anderen Worten: wenn es ein etabliertes marokkanisches Kino gäbe – hätte man die Suche nach einer neuen audiovisuellen Sprache vermutlich mit Wohlwollen und Ermutigung bedacht.“ (La septième porte. Eine Geschichte des marokkanischen Kinos von 1907 bis 1986, Ahmed Bouanani, 1987, unveröffentlicht. Das Buch wird demnächst bei Kulte Éditions, Rabat 2019, erscheinen.)

Eigene Wege, eigenes Kino

Bouanani wirft das Problem auf, dass in Marokko ein „Kino des Suchens und Erforschens“ („cinéma de recherche“) existiert, vergleichbar mit dem alternativen oder Untergrundkino, das sich häufig in Ländern mit einer bereits etablierten Filmkultur als Gegenbewegung entwickelt – und das, obgleich das marokkanische Kino noch im Entstehen ist. Derkaoui ist sich dessen bewusst, weigert sich aber, „traditionelles“ Kino zu machen; er will den Erwartungen des Publikums und der Kritik nicht nachgeben. Nach vielen Jahren, die er im Ausland verbracht hat, um Film zu studieren, möchte der Filmemacher in seinem Metier „anders“ vorgehen. In einem Interview mit dem Dichter Mostafa Nissaboury erläutert er seine Gründe: „Die Strukturen des Kinos sind einerseits nicht vereinbar mit unserer Art, die Dinge zu sehen; andererseits wollen wir etwas Eigenes ausprobieren, etwas, das weder die Erfahrungen der Menschen in den kapitalistischen Ländern aufgreift noch derjenigen in den Ländern der Dritten Welt wie Algerien, Ägypten und Brasilien.“ (Pour une dynamique du cinéma collectif, Mostafa Nissaboury, Integral, März/April 1974)

Was ist Kino?

Dieser politische Film, zwischen Spiel- und Dokumentarfilm angesiedelt und von der Zensur verboten, unternimmt eine Reflexion über die Wesensart der filmischen Sprache und ihre Beziehung zur Gesellschaft.
Bei einem Treffen in Marrakesch im Februar 2016 mit Filmstudierenden kam Mostafa auf seinen Ansatz zurück. „Für mich muss das Kino von sich selbst sprechen, sich die Frage stellen: Was ist Kino? Leuten, die wir im Bistro, im Hafen angesprochen hatten, stellten wir Fragen zum Kino. Abbas Fassi-Fihri fragt eine Frau: ‚Welches ist ihr Lieblingsfilm?‘ Sie antwortet: ‚Das marokkanische Kino natürlich, marokkanische Filme.‘ An dieser Stelle hakt Fassi-Fihri nach: ‚Welche marokkanischen Filme haben Sie denn gesehen?’ ‚Keinen.‘ Trotzdem mag sie das marokkanische Kino am liebsten. Man kann das marokkanische Kino mögen, selbst wenn es dort kein Filmschaffen gibt.“ (La Serre, Cyber Parc de Marrakech, Atelier de L’Observatoire, Gespräch von Léa Morin mit Mostafa Derkaoui)

Die Restaurierung des Films

Nach Ende der Dreharbeiten wurde das 16-mm-Originalnegativ im spanischen Labor Fotofilm entwickelt. Der Schnitt fand in Marokko statt, danach wanderte das Material von Madrid nach Barcelona, wo es von 16 mm auf 35 mm aufgeblasen wurde. 1975 wurde der Film bei einem Filmfestival in Paris gezeigt. Weil man ihn weder vorführen noch exportieren durfte, beschränkte sich seine Verbreitung von da an auf geheime Vorführungen.
Anfang der 2000er-Jahre zirkulierten in filminteressierten Kreisen nur einige VHS-Kopien und später einige DVDs von schlechter Qualität, die sich dem Sammler Mostafa Dziri, einem Freund Derkaouis, verdankten. Der Filmemacher Ali Essafi benutzte 2011 Auszüge daraus für seinen Kurzfilm WANTED. Die Originalnegative gingen mit der Insolvenz des Labors Fotofilm 1999 verloren.
Erst als die auf die Geschichte des marokkanischen Kinos spezialisierte Filmwissenschaftlerin Léa Morin 2016 mit ihren Recherchen begann, stieß sie in der Filmoteca de Catalunya in Barcelona auf die Negative. Diese Entdeckung und der darauffolgende  Briefwechsel zwischen ihr, den Brüdern Derkaoui und dem Team der Filmoteca de Catalunya bewirkten, dass man sich an die langwierige Restaurierung des Films machte, damit er vierzig Jahre nach seiner Entstehung endlich entdeckt und international gezeigt werden kann.
Die Restaurierung des Films fand parallel zu Léa Morins Recherchen (L’Observatoire, art et recherche) statt. Daraus hervorgegangen sind ein Buch, eine Ausstellung und eine Veranstaltungsreihe, an der Filmemacher, Kunsthistoriker, Filmkritiker und Künstler teilnahmen.
Mit Unterstützung von L’Observatoire, dem Musée Collectif de Casablanca, der Filmoteca de Catalunya, dem Arab Fund for Art and Culture (AFAC), Akademie Schloss Solitude und Kibrit.

Was der marokkanische Film tut und lässt

Der Film zeigt eine Gruppe Filmemacher, trunken von Wein und marxistischen Grundprinzipien. Sie fragen sich, was der kollektive Zweck ihrer Kunst sei, und suchen ein Thema für ihren Film (...). Weil sie eine Auseinandersetzung über das Kino anstoßen wollen, schwärmt die Gruppe in Casablanca aus und sucht nach einem hypothetischen Publikum, das sie etwas machen lässt, das mit den Erwartungen der Zuschauer zu tun hat. Begegnung folgt auf Begegnung, Aussage auf Aussage. „Das engagierte marokkanische Kino“, sagen sie, „muss sich für die Probleme der Gesellschaft interessieren.“ – „Das marokkanische Kino gibt es gar nicht.“ – „Als Zuschauer fällt es uns schwer zu sagen, was Sie machen sollten.“ – „Machen Sie erst mal einen Film, danach können wir darüber reden.“ – „Ich liebe das marokkanische Kino. Ich würde bei jeder marokkanischen Produktion mitmachen“, beteuert ein junger Mitarbeiter der Präfektur. (Reda Zaireg, Le cinéma marocain confronté au réel, Orient XXI, November 2017)

(Textsammlung: Léa Morin)

Produktion Mostafa Derkaoui. Produktionsfirma Basma Production (Casablanca, Marokko). Regie, Buch Mostafa Derkaoui. Kamera Mohamed Abdelkrim Derkaoui. Montage Mostafa Derkaoui. Musik Jazz-Band "Nahorny". Ton Stan Wiszniewski, Noureddine Gounejjar, Larbi Essakalli, Miloud Bourbouh, Menouar Samiri. Digitale Restaurierung Centre de Conservació i Restauració de la Filmoteca de Catalunya, Barcelona, L’Observatoire, le Musée Collectif de Casablanca. Mit Abdellatif Nour, Abbas Fassi-Fihri, Hamid Zoughi, Mostafa Dziri, Aïcha Saâdoun, Mohamed Derham, Salah-Eddine Benmoussa, Abdelkader Moutaâ, Khalid Jamaï, Chafik Shimi, Malika El Mesrar, Omar Chenbout, Mostafa Nissabouri.

Weltvertrieb Léa Morin | Observatoire

Filme

1964: Les quatre murs. 1968: Amghar (4 Min.), Adoption (4 Min.). 1969: Les gens du caveau (20 Min.), Les États généraux du Cinéma. 1970: Un jour quelque part (20 Min.). 1974: De quelques événements sans signification / About Some Meaningless Events. 1976: Les cendres du clos (105 Min.; Kollektivfilm). 1982: Les beaux jours de Chahrazade (97 Min.). 1984: Titre provisoire (120 Min.). 1988: La femme rurale au Maroc. 1992: Fiction première (120 Min.), Le silence (18 Min., Episode des Omnibusfilms La Guerre du golfe …. et après?). 1993: Le doux murmure du vent après l’orage (22 Min.). 1994: Je(u) au passé (81 Min.), Les sept portes de la nuit (100 Min.), La grande allégorie (67 Min.). 2000: Les amours de haj Mokhtar Soldi (130 Min.). 2003: Casablanca by Night (100 Min.). 2004: Casablanca Daylight (100 Min.).

Foto: © Observatoire/Filmoteca de Catalunya/Basma