Tales from Planet Kolkata

Ruchir Joshi
1993

08.02.2019 14:00 Eng. subtitles Werkstattkino@silent green
10.02.2019 21:30 Eng. subtitles Kino Arsenal 1

38 min. Bengali, English, Hindi.

Part fiction, part spoof, part essay, part documentary, the film weaves together disparate strands: a critique of western media’s construction, from the 1960s to the 1990s, of Kolkata as ‘the black hole’ and ‘the worst place in the world’; an ‘elegy’ to Deepak Majumdar, one of Kolkata’s great intellectual mavericks, a teacher and friend to Joshi and many others, who died while the film was being made; and the images and song of a patua – a traditional Bengali scroll-painter. Starting with a variation on the opening of Apocalypse Now, moving through the performance-interpretations of the scroll-painter, the filmmaker himself, and an African-American video-artist from New York, the film asks questions about one’s sense of place and belonging, about the links between memory and image, and about the permanence and transience of this thing we call ‘culture.’
While referring to the reconstruction of Kolkata in the Hollywood production of City of Joy, (the film based on Dominique Lapierre’s bestseller) or weaving a fantasy about getting Jack Nicholson to act as Majumdar in a film on the latter’s life, the film asks: can ‘the worst place in the world’ be anywhere else but in your eyes and your heart?

Ruchir Joshi was born in Kolkata, India in 1960. He gained a Bachelor of Arts degree and works as a writer, columnist and filmmaker. TALES FROM PLANET KOLKATA was digitally restored, alongside other films of Joshi.

Production Ruchir Joshi. Production company Hit Films (Kolkata, India). Director Ruchir Joshi. Screenplay Ruchir Joshi, Tony Cokes. Cinematography Ranjan Palit. Editing Reena Mohan. Music Vikram Joglekar, Dee Wood. Sound Suresh Rajamani. Production manager Dinesh Raut. Digital restoration Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst. With Loic (Apocalypse Man), Ruchir Joshi (French Cineaste), Tony Cokes (Rickshaw Puller), Paritosh Sau (Blue Man).

Films

1991: Egaro Mile / Eleven Miles (155 min.), Memories of Milk City (13 min.). 1993: Tales from Planet Kolkata. 1994: Dream Before Wicket (50 min.). 2005: A Mercedes for Ashish (30 min.). 2006: Gurgaon Giraffe (6 min., video loop). 2008: New Dream Local (11 min., video loop). 2010: Shahid – Slow-Hand Groove (6 min.). 2012: My Rio, My Tokyo (52 min. / 75 min.).

Photo: © Ruchir Joshi

Tales from Planet Kolkata

Ruchir Joshi
1993

08.02.2019 14:00 OmEU Werkstattkino@silent green
10.02.2019 21:30 OmEU Kino Arsenal 1

38 Min. Bengali, Englisch, Hindi.

Der Film – zu gleichen Teilen Fiktion, Parodie, Essay und Dokument – verbindet unterschiedlichste Stränge: eine Kritik der westlichen, medialen Konstruktion von Kolkata als „schwarzes Loch“ und „schlimmstem Ort auf Erden“ seit den 1960er-Jahren; einen „Nachruf“ auf Deepak Majumdar, einen der größten intellektuellen Einzelgänger Kolkatas, Freund und Lehrer Joshis und vieler anderer, der während des Drehs verstarb; und die Bilder und Gesänge eines „Patua“ – eines Malers traditioneller bengalischer Rollbilder. Variationen der Eröffnungsszene von Apocalypse Now und performative Interpretationen des Rollbildmalers, des Filmemachers selbst und eines afroamerikanischen Videokünstlers führen zu Fragen zu Ortsbewusstsein und Zugehörigkeit, zur Beziehung von Erinnerung und Bild und zu Permanenz und Vergänglichkeit dieses Dings, das wir „Kultur“ nennen.
Der Film ergeht sich in Referenzen zum Nachbau Kolkatas im Hollywoodfilm City of Joy, der auf Dominique Lapierres Bestseller basiert, oder Fantasien über Jack Nicholson in der Rolle des Majumdar in einem Film über dessen Leben und fragt: Kann „der schlimmste Ort auf Erden“ irgendwo sonst sein als in deinen Augen und deinem Herzen?

Ruchir Joshi wurde 1960 in Kolkata, Indien geboren. 1981 schloss er ein Kunststudium am Goddard College in Vermont ab. Joshi lebt in New Delhi und ist als Autor, Journalist und Filmemacher tätig. TALES FROM PLANET KOLKATA wurde mit anderen Film von Joshi digital restauriert.

Produktion Ruchir Joshi. Produktionsfirma Hit Films (Kolkata, Indien). Regie Ruchir Joshi. Buch Ruchir Joshi, Tony Cokes. Kamera Ranjan Palit. Montage Reena Mohan. Musik Vikram Joglekar, Dee Wood. Ton Suresh Rajamani. Production Manager Dinesh Raut. Digitale Restaurierung Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst. Mit Loic (Apokalypse Mann), Ruchir Joshi (Französischer Cineast), Tony Cokes (Rikscha-Fahrer), Paritosh Sau (Blauer Mann).

Filme

1991: Egaro Mile / Eleven Miles (155 Min.), Memories of Milk City (13 Min.). 1993: Tales from Planet Kolkata. 1994: Dream Before Wicket (50 Min.). 2005: A Mercedes for Ashish (30 Min.). 2006: Gurgaon Giraffe (6 Min., Video-Loop). 2008: New Dream Local (11 min., Video-Loop). 2010: Shahid – Slow-Hand Groove (6 Min.). 2012: My Rio, My Tokyo (52 Min. / 75 Min.).

Foto: © Ruchir Joshi