october 2020, arsenal cinema

It goes on...

From this month on, we will be screening films again on a daily basis albeit in one cinema only, Arsenal 1. In line with the new hygiene concept of the state of Berlin, our cinema now has a maximum capacity of 119 (increasing from 69 previously). To make up for the related reduction in mimumum distance, cinemagoers are requested to keep on their masks also while seated in the cinema. And yet, what better place could there be for Michael Mann’s thrillers and action films, most of which were shot in widescreen, to unfold. While Arsenal 2 has to remain closed for reasons of cost unfortunately, we have revamped our virtual cinema arsenal 3, which will in future relate directly to our institution's activities: the cinema program, Arsenal Distribution and Living Archive, our archival practice based on participation and production. From September 15th to 30th, we dedicating the space to our symposium

and the filmmakers Navina Sundaram, Harun Farocki and Sohrab Shahid Saless, who worked closely with NDR, WDR and ZDF.
september 2020, arsenal cinema

The Professional – Michael Mann Retrospective

The author, director and producer Michael Mann (*1943) is one of the most outstanding US filmmakers of our time. Over the past four decades, he has set new standards in genre cinema with his artistic expression and precise craft. His visually ambitious films, often made in collaboration with the cameraman Dante Spinotti, are characterized by a joyful enthusiasm for movement, an exposed dramaturgy of colors and a particular feel for music. Because of his intensive preparatory work, meticulous research and perfectionism, Mann has frequently been compared to Stanley Kubrick. A central theme of his work is professional ethos; and the definition of people through their jobs, the relationship between work and morals, between work and masculinity, as well as solitude and loneliness, are recurring motifs Arsenal is showing all 12 of Mann's films from September 11-30.

august 2020, transfer

Back Again: Kinozauber

Kinozauber, Arsenal’s film education project for pre-school children, kicked off again: Now that the new school year has started, the artists of Arsenal Filmatelier will finally be able to continue their cooperation with EKT Regenbogen-Kidz and also expand the project to two more kindergartens. The project involves groups of pre-school children making several visits to Arsenal to watch experimental shorts from our collection and engage creatively with aspects such as light, shadow, color, sound, film material and projection.

arsenal cinema: AFRIKAMERA 2019: Africa Lusofonia

03:00 pm Cinema 1


On the Move/All On Board

Weltfilme Special: On the Move/All On Board
Short film program Ghana/Sierra Leone 2017–2018
Digital file OV/EnS approx. 78 min

arsenal cinema: AFRIKAMERA 2019: Africa Lusofonia

04:30 pm Cinema 1


Between God and I

Between God and I Yara Costa Mozambique 2018
DCP OV/EnS 60 min

arsenal cinema: AFRIKAMERA 2019: Africa Lusofonia

06:30 pm Cinema 1


Our Madness

Our Madness João Viana
Mozambique/Guinea-Bissau/Katar/Portugal/France 2018
DCP OV/EnS 90 min

arsenal cinema: Peter Lilienthal Retrospective (2) 


07:00 pm Cinema 2


Das Schweigen des Dichters

*Das Schweigen des Dichters
FRG 1987 DCP 102 min

arsenal cinema: AFRIKAMERA 2019: Africa Lusofonia

09:00 pm Cinema 1


Resgate

Resgate Mickey Fonseca Mozambique 2019
Digital file OV/EnS 100 min

Director Mickey Fonseca in person

oktober 2020, kino arsenal

Es geht weiter...

Ab September bieten wir wieder allabendlich ein Programm an, wenn auch nur in einem Saal, dem Arsenal 1, in dem ab sofort 119 Plätze (statt zuletzt 69) zur Verfügung stehen. Nach dem neuen Hygienekonzept des Berliner Senats muss bei einem reduzierten Mindestabstand von einem Meter auch während der Vorführung eine Mund-Nasen-Bedeckung im Kino getragen werden. Doch wo könnten die mehrheitlich im Breitwandformat gedrehten Thriller und Actionfilme von Michael Mann ihre Wirkung besser entfalten als auf der großen Leinwand? Während das Arsenal 2 aus Kostengründen bzw. Sparzwängen leider geschlossen bleiben muss, haben wir unser virtuelles Kino arsenal 3 neu konzipiert. Es nimmt Bezug auf die unmittelbaren Aktivitäten unserer Institution: das Kinoprogramm, das Verleihangebot von Arsenal Distribution oder unsere auf Partizipation und Produktion beruhende Archivpraxis Living Archive.

Vom 15. Bis zum 30. September widmen wir das Programm dem Symposium Recht auf Öffentlichkeit – Arbeit mit TV-Archiven und den Filmemacher*innen Navina Sundaram, Harun Farocki und Sohrab Shahid Saless, die vor allem mit NDR, WDR und ZDF eng zusammengearbeitet haben.

 

september 2020, kino arsenal

The Professional – Retrospektive Michael Mann

Der Autor, Regisseur und Produzent Michael Mann (*1943) ist einer der herausragenden amerikanischen Filmemacher unserer Zeit. Mit großem künstlerischen Formwillen und hand-werklicher Präzision hat er in den letzten vier Jahrzenten neue Maßstäbe im Genrekino gesetzt. Kennzeichnend für seine visuell ambitionierten Filme, die mehrfach in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Kameramann Dante Spinotti entstanden, sind eine sinnenfreudige Begeisterung für Bewegung, eine exponierte Farbdramaturgie sowie ein besonderes Gespür für Musik. Aufgrund seiner intensiven Vorbereitung, akribischen Recherche und einem Hang zur Perfektion wurde Mann wiederholt mit Stanley Kubrick verglichen. Die Hingabe an ein professionelles Ethos ist denn auch ein zentrales Thema in Manns Werk. Die Definition von Menschen über ihre Arbeit, das Verhältnis von Arbeit und Moral, Arbeit und Männlichkeit sowie Einzelgängertum und Einsamkeit sind weitere wiederkehrende Motive. Das Arsenal zeigt vom 11.-30.9., begleitet von Einführungen, alle zwölf Kinofilme Michael Manns.

august 2020, transfer

Kinozauber geht weiter

Kinozauber, das Filmvermittlungsprojekt des Arsenal Filmateliers für Vorschulkinder, ist wieder angelaufen: Mit Beginn des neuen Schuljahrs können die Künstler*innen des Filmateliers die Zusammenarbeit mit der EKT Regenbogen-Kidz endlich fortsetzen. Gleichzeitig startet Kinozauber in eine neue Runde und erweitert das Angebot für zwei weitere Kitas. Im Rahmen des Projekts kommen die Vorschulkindergruppen mehrmals ins Arsenal, um sich kurze experimentelle Filme aus der Sammlung des Arsenal anzusehen und sich gestaltend mit Aspekten wie Licht, Schatten, Farbe, Klang, Filmmaterial und Projektion auseinanderzusetzen.

kino arsenal: AFRIKAMERA 2019: Africa Lusofonia

15:00 Kino 1


On the Move/All On Board

Weltfilme Special: On the Move/All On Board
Kurzfilmprogramm Ghana/Sierra Leone 2017–2018
Digital file OmE ca. 78 min

kino arsenal: AFRIKAMERA 2019: Africa Lusofonia

16:30 Kino 1


Between God and I

Between God and I Yara Costa Mosambik 2018
DCP OmE 60 min

kino arsenal: AFRIKAMERA 2019: Africa Lusofonia

18:30 Kino 1


Our Madness

Our Madness João Viana
Mosambik/Guinea-Bissau/Katar/Portugal/Frankreich 2018
DCP OmE 90 min

kino arsenal: Werkschau 
Peter Lilienthal (2)

19:00 Kino 2


Das Schweigen des Dichters

*Das Schweigen des Dichters
BRD 1987 DCP 102 min

kino arsenal: AFRIKAMERA 2019: Africa Lusofonia

21:00 Kino 1


Resgate

Resgate Mickey Fonseca Mosambik 2019
Digital file OmE 100 min

In Anwesenheit des Regisseurs Mickey Fonseca