may 2018, arsenal cinema

Retrospective Pietro Germi

Pietro Germi (1914–1974) was one of the outstanding personalities of Italian cinema from the 40s to the 70s. Born in Genoa, the director, actor, and screenwriter was one of the first generation of Neorealist directors alongside Visconti, De Sica, and Rossellini. Much like those of Antonio Pietrangeli, Germi’s directorial works represent a link between Neorealism and Commedia all’ italiana, “which doesn’t betray the former, but rather moves it forward in popular, satirical fashion” (Gerhard Midding). Germi gained international recognition and fame with his third film IN NOME DELLA LEGGE (1949), a milestone in the history of the mafia film which doubles up as a tribute to John Ford and Sicily, where Germi shot a total of five films. IL CAMMINO DELLA SPERANZA (1950), IL FERROVIERE (1956) and the literary adaptation UN MALEDETTO IMBROGLIO (1959), in which Germi also took on the leading role, established him as a significant force in Italian cinema. The Oscar-winning international success DIVORZIO ALL’ITALIANA followed in 1961, which was the start of a series of socially critical comedies about Italian customs, traditions, and laws which polemicized the discrimination of the woman and the dual morals of the bourgeoisie. What’s characteristic of Germi’s films is their precise observation of Italian life, their enthusiasm for the expressive power of faces, and the director’s humanist view of the world – who Otar Iosseliani saw as “one of the most noble-minded filmmakers ever to have existed”. For all their bitterness in the depiction of social living conditions, they are above all films “in which the heavy weight of life is assuaged by the rich depth of feeling, a warming maturity of the heart.” (Martin Schlappner)

From May 18 - 31, we are presenting eleven films by Pietro Germi from 1948 to 1972 in collaboration with the Italienisches Kulturinstitut. The retrospective is accompanied by four introductions and a lecture by Mario Sesti (19.5.).

may 2018, arsenal cinema

Magical History Tour: Production Design

The "eye of the director" – that's Ken Adams's pithy description of the function of the production designer (who is referred to variously as set designer or scenographer, depending on the production company, country, or period), who takes responsibility for a broad range of different tasks, starting with the conceptual visualization of the script and taking in the design of the cinematic universe all the way to the creation and implementation of the interiors and exteriors. The work of the production designer doesn't just leave its mark on the look of a film, but also on its atmosphere and mood and not just in design-intensive genre films. Despite being impossible to overlook, the key contribution made by production design to the all-embracing nature of cinematic art is too seldom recognized. All the more reason then to dedicate May’s Magical History Tour to the quite literally multiform world of production design.

may 2018, berlinale forum

Section head change for Berlinale Forum

Christoph Terhechte will vacate his position as director of the Berlinale Forum in July of 2018. He was appointed to the Forum selection committee in 1997, and in June of 2001 he took over the Forum director’s position from Ulrich Gregor, founder of the section, which has been presented by the Arsenal – Institute for Film and Video Art since 1971. Terhechte has also been a member of the Berlinale Competition selection committee since 2002. Christoph Terhechte now wishes to take on new career challenges.

arsenal cinema: Harun Farocki: Year by Year / Side by Side (3)

04:30 pm Cinema 1


Der Auftritt

Die Bewerbung

*Der Auftritt The Appearance Germany 1996 DCP OV/EnS 40 min
*Die Bewerbung The Interview Germany 1997 DCP OV/EnS 58 min

arsenal cinema: Harun Farocki: Year by Year / Side by Side (3)

07:00 pm Cinema 1


Sesamstraße: Transport 1 + 2

Container 1 + 2

Der Weg des Geldes

Hammer

Sägen

Dock

Baggerlied

Einschlafgeschichten: Staunen

Einschlafgeschichten: Verkehrsmittel

Einschlafgeschichten: Brücken

Einschlafgeschichten: Schiffe

Einschlafgeschichten: Bahnen

Einschlafgeschichten: Katze

Children's programs by Harun Farocki:
Sesamstraße: Transport 1 + 2 Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky FRG 1973 Digital file 6 min
Container 1 + 2 Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky FRG 1973 Digital file 6 min
Der Weg des Geldes Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky FRG 1973 Digital file 3 min
Hammer Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky FRG 1973 Digital file 3 min
Sägen Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky FRG 1973 Digital file 3 min
Dock Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky FRG 1973 Digital file 3 min
Baggerlied FRG 1973 Digital file 4 min
Einschlafgeschichten: Staunen FRG 1977 Digital file 8 min
Einschlafgeschichten: Verkehrsmittel FRG 1977 Digital file 6 min
Sandmännchen: Einschlafgeschichten: Brücken FRG 1977 DCP 3 min
Einschlafgeschichten: Schiffe FRG 1977 DCP 3 min
Einschlafgeschichten: Bahnen FRG 1977 DCP 3 min
Einschlafgeschichten: Katze FRG 1977 Digital file 4 min

Anna Faroqhi, Stefanie Schlüter in person
arsenal cinema: Magical History Tour
 – Painting in Motion

08:00 pm Cinema 2


My Darling Clementine

My Darling Clementine John Ford USA 1946
With Henry Fonda, Linda Darnell, Victor Mature
DCP OV 103 min

arsenal cinema: Harun Farocki: Year by Year / Side by Side (3)

09:00 pm Cinema 1


Ihre Zeitungen

Brecht die Macht der Manipulateure

De Oppresso Liber

Agitation:
*Ihre Zeitungen Harun Farocki FRG 1968
DCP OV/EnS 17 min
*Brecht die Macht der Manipulateure
Helke Sander FRG 1968 16 mm 48 min
*De Oppresso Liber Carlos Bustamante FRG 1968
16 mm 5 min

Carlos Bustamante, Helke Sander in person

mai 2018, kino arsenal

Retrospektive Pietro Germi

Pietro Germi (1914–1974) war eine der herausragenden Persönlichkeiten des italienischen Films der 40er bis 70er Jahre. Der in Genua geborene Regisseur, Schauspieler und Drehbuchautor zählte neben Visconti, De Sica und Rossellini zu den Neorealisten der ersten Stunde. Germis Regiearbeiten stellen – ähnlich denen von Antonio Pietrangeli – ein Bindeglied zwischen dem Neorealismus und der Commedia all’ italiana dar, „die nicht etwa deren Verrat, sondern vielmehr ihre volkstümlich satirische Fortsetzung ist.“ (Gerhard Midding) Internationale Anerkennung und Bekanntheit erlangte Germi durch seinen dritten Film IN NOME DELLA LEGGE (1949), ein Meilenstein des Mafiafilms, gleichzeitig eine Reverenz an John Ford und Sizilien, wo Germi insgesamt fünf Filme drehte. IL CAMMINO DELLA SPERANZA (1950) sowie IL FERROVIERE (1956) und die Literaturverfilmung UN MALEDETTO IMBROGLIO (1959), in denen Germi auch als Hauptdarsteller agierte, etablierten ihn als bedeutenden Autor des italienischen Kinos. 1961 folgte der oscarprämierte Welterfolg DIVORZIO ALL’ITALIANA als Auftakt einer Reihe sozialkritischer Komödien über italienische Sitten, Bräuche und Gesetze, die gegen die Diskriminierung der Frau und die Doppelmoral des Bürgertums polemisierten. Charakteristisch für Germis Filme sind die genaue Beobachtung des italie-nischen Lebens, seine Begeisterung für die Ausdruckskraft von Gesichtern und das humanistische Weltbild des Regisseurs – für Otar Iosseliani „einer der edelmütigsten Filmemacher, die je existiert haben“. Bei aller Bitternis in der Darstellung der sozialen Lebensumstände der Menschen sind es vor allem Filme, „in denen die Beschwernis des Lebens aufgehoben wird in einer reichen Tiefe des Gefühls, einer wärmenden Reife des Herzens.“ (Martin Schlappner)

Wir präsentieren vom 18.-31. Mai in Kooperation mit dem Italienischen Kulturinstitut elf Filme Pietro Germis aus den Jahren 1948 bis 1972. Die Retrospektive wird durch vier Einführungen sowie einen Vortrag von Mario Sesti (19.5.) begleitet.

mai 2018, kino arsenal

Magical History Tour: Production Design

Das „Auge des Regisseurs“ – so lautet Ken Adams prägnant-knappe Beschreibung der Funktion des Production Designers (je nach Produktion, Land oder Zeitpunkt auch Set Designer, Szenograf oder Ausstatter genannt), der für ein breites Aufgabenspektrum verantwortlich zeichnet, beginnend bei der konzeptuellen Visualisierung des Drehbuchs, dem Entwerfen des filmischen Universums bis hin zur Umsetzung und Gestaltung von Innen- und Außenräumen. Nicht nur der Look, sondern auch Atmosphäre und Stimmung eines Films werden wesentlich von der Arbeit des Production Designers geprägt, und das nicht nur in Design-intensiven Genrefilmen. Trotz seiner „Unübersehbarkeit“ wird der zentrale Beitrag des Production Designs zum „Gesamtkunstwerk“ Film selten genug zur Kenntnis genommen. Ein Grund mehr, die Magical History Tour im Mai der im Wortsinne vielgestaltigen Welt des Production Designs zu widmen.

mai 2018, berlinale forum

Leitungswechsel beim Forum der Berlinale

Christoph Terhechte gibt die Leitung des Forum der Berlinale zum Juli 2018 ab. 1997 wurde Terhechte als Mitglied in das Forum-Auswahlkomitee berufen, im Juni 2001 übernahm er von Forums-Gründer Ulrich Gregor die Leitung der Sektion, die seit 1971 vom Arsenal – Institut für Film und Videokunst e.V. ausgerichtet wird. Seit 2002 war er zudem als Mitglied im Auswahlkomitee des Wettbewerb der Berlinale tätig. Christoph Terhechte möchte sich nun neuen beruflichen Aufgaben stellen.

kino arsenal: Harun Farocki: Nacheinander / Nebeneinander (3)

16:30 Kino 1


Der Auftritt

Die Bewerbung

*Der Auftritt D 1996 DCP OmE 40 min
*Die Bewerbung D 1997 DCP OmE 58 min

kino arsenal: Harun Farocki: Nacheinander / Nebeneinander (3)

19:00 Kino 1


Sesamstraße: Transport 1 + 2

Container 1 + 2

Der Weg des Geldes

Hammer

Sägen

Dock

Baggerlied

Einschlafgeschichten: Staunen

Einschlafgeschichten: Verkehrsmittel

Einschlafgeschichten: Brücken

Einschlafgeschichten: Schiffe

Einschlafgeschichten: Bahnen

Einschlafgeschichten: Katze

Kinderfilme von Harun Farocki
Sesamstraße: Transport 1 + 2 Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky BRD 1973 Digital file 6 min
Container 1 + 2 Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky BRD 1973 Digital file 6 min
Der Weg des Geldes Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky BRD 1973 Digital file 3 min
Hammer Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky BRD 1973 Digital file 3 min
Sägen Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky BRD 1973 Digital file 3 min
Dock Harun Farocki, Hartmut Bitomsky BRD 1973 Digital file 3 min
Baggerlied BRD 1973 Digital file 4 min
Einschlafgeschichten: Staunen BRD 1977 Digital file 8 min
Einschlafgeschichten: Verkehrsmittel BRD 1977 Digital file 6 min
Sandmännchen: Einschlafgeschichten: Brücken BRD 1977 DCP 3 min
Einschlafgeschichten: Schiffe BRD 1977 DCP 3 min
Einschlafgeschichten: Bahnen BRD 1977 DCP 3 min
Einschlafgeschichten: Katze BRD 1977 Digital file 4 min

Zu Gast: Anna Faroqhi, Stefanie Schlüter
kino arsenal: Magical History Tour – 
Malerei in Bewegung

20:00 Kino 2


My Darling Clementine

My Darling Clementine John Ford USA 1946
Mit Henry Fonda, Linda Darnell, Victor Mature
DCP OF 103 min

kino arsenal: Harun Farocki: Nacheinander / Nebeneinander (3)

21:00 Kino 1


Ihre Zeitungen

Brecht die Macht der Manipulateure

De Oppresso Liber

Agitation:
*Ihre Zeitungen Harun Farocki BRD 1968
DCP OmE 17 min
*Brecht die Macht der Manipulateure
Helke Sander BRD 1968 16 mm 48 min
*De Oppresso Liber Carlos Bustamante BRD 1968
16 mm 5 min

Zu Gast: Carlos Bustamante, Helke Sander