december 2018, arsenal cinema

Leo McCarey Retrospective

Leo McCarey (1896–1969) was one of Hollywood’s most successful directors in the 30s and 40s, drawing on his great talent for comic and timing and a predilection for improvisation to make some of the most beautiful films of the classical Hollywood era, a unique blend of emotion, humor, vitality, and humanity. Yet despite this success and the admiration of such directorial colleagues as Frank Capra, Jean Eustache, John Ford, Howard Hawks, Ernst Lubitsch, Jean Renoir, Alain Resnais, and François Truffaut, Leo McCarey is almost unknown today. From December 6 - 30, ee are showing a selection of his comprehensive oeuvre in collaboration with the Locarno Film Festival.

 

december 2018, arsenal cinema

Magical History Tour - Theatre and Film

The relationship between film and theater oscillates between proximity and distance, inspiration and emancipation. Despite all thoughts of competition, the need for aesthetic and formal independence and the vehement refusal of particular artistic traditions – all aspects which characterized the relationship between film and theater at the beginning of the 20th century – the theatre offers a pool of subjects, models and forms as comprehensive as it is complex, via which the older medium repeatedly inscribes itself within film history. Approaching this relationship from the other way around, film also plays no small part in the "myth of theater" and has opened up long-concealed theatrical spaces and dynamics to the (theater) audience.

We have collected several examples of the diverse connections between theater and film in this month's Magical History Tour, which span various different film historical periods, genres and styles. They draw on the wide-ranging potential of theater within cinema – theater as a source of inspiration or a microcosm, bringing together life and the stage and fiction and reality, blurring boundaries whilst also sometimes seeming to mirror the very world itself.

november 2018, berlinale forum

Cinema Release: "Yours in Sisterhood"

arsenal distribution is releasing YOURS IN SISTERHOOD by Irene Lusztig as of December 6, another film which premiered at this year's Forum.

Irene Lusztig’s documentary set-up succeeds in bringing a wealth of experiences from an earlier generation of the feminist movement into a complex dialogue with the present: In the film women from all walks of life read out and comment upon letters originally sent to the liberal feminist magazine “Ms.” in the 70s in a range of everyday locations across the US.

arsenal cinema: Archive außer sich: Italy ’68

07:00 pm Cinema 2


Della conoscenza

La sequenza del fiore di carta

Tre ipotesi sulla morte di G. Pinelli

Totem

Short Film Program “The New Left – New Form"
*Della conoscenza
Alessandra Bocchetti Italy 1968
16 mm OV/GeS 30 min
La sequenza del fiore di carta Pier Paolo Pasolini I 1969
Print: CSC Cineteca Nazionale 35 mm OV/GeS 12 min
Tre ipotesi sulla morte di G. Pinelli
Elio Petri Italy 1970 Blu-ray OV/GeS 13 min
Totem Giancarlo Buonfino Italy 1970 Beta SP OV/GeS 27 min

Introduced by Fabian Tietke
arsenal cinema: Magical History Tour: Production Design

08:00 pm Cinema 1


Blade Runner

Blade Runner Ridley Scott USA 1982
With Harrison Ford, Rutger Hauer Final Cut
DCP OV/GeS 117 min

arsenal cinema: Archive außer sich: Italy ’68

09:00 pm Cinema 2


La casa è un diritto non è un privilegio

Lotta per le case

Short Film Program “Political Practice and Urban Space”
La casa è un diritto non è un privilegio
Anna Lajolo, Alfredo Leonardi, Guido Lombardi, Paola Scarnati
Italy 1970 Beta SP OV/GeS 40 min
Lotta per le case Lotta Continua
Italy 1972 16 mm OV/GeS 30 min

dezember 2018, kino arsenal

Retrospektive Leo McCarey

Leo McCarey (1896–1969), in den 30er und 40er Jahren einer der erfolgreichsten Filmemacher Hollywoods, realisierte mit einem großen Talent für Komik und Timing und einer Vorliebe für Improvisation in einer ihm eigenen Mischung aus Emotion, Humor, Vitalität und Menschlichkeit einige der schönsten Filme des klassischen Hollywoodkinos. Trotz des Erfolgs und der Verehrung durch Regiekollegen wie Frank Capra, Jean Eustache, John Ford, Howard Hawks, Ernst Lubitsch, Jean Renoir, Alain Resnais und François Truffaut ist der Name Leo McCarey heute nahezu unbekannt.

Vom 6.-30. Dezember zeigen wir in Kooperation mit dem Filmfestival Locarno eine Auswahl seines umfangreichen Filmschaffens.

dezember 2018, kino arsenal

Magical History Tour - Theater und Film

Das Verhältnis von Film und Theater oszilliert zwischen Nähe und Distanz, Inspiration und Emanzipation. Trotz aller Konkurrenzgedanken, dem Bedürfnis ästhetischer und formaler Eigenständigkeit und der vehementen Ablehnung bestimmter künstlerischer Traditionen – Aspekte, die die Beziehung zwischen Film und Theater zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts geprägt haben – bietet das Theater einen so umfangreichen wie komplexen Sujet-, Modell- und Formen-Fundus, über den sich das ältere Medium kontinuierlich in die Filmgeschichte einschreibt. Umgekehrt hat der Film keinen unerheblichen Anteil am „Mythos Theater“ und hat dem (Theater-)Zuschauer lange verborgene Theaterräume und -dynamiken erschlossen.

Einige Bespiele der unterschiedlichen Verbindungen zwischen Theater und Film quer durch die filmhistorischen Epochen, Genres und Stile haben wir in der Magical History Tour in diesem Monat versammelt – sie verweisen auf das vielgestaltige Potential des Theaters als Inspirationsquelle oder als Mikrokosmos, in dem Bühne und Leben, Fiktion und Realität ineinandergreifen, Grenzen durchlässig werden und in dem sich mitunter auch die Welt zu spiegeln scheint.

november 2018, berlinale forum

Kinostart "Yours in Sisterhood"

Mit YOURS IN SISTERHOOD von Irene Lusztig bringt arsenal distribution einen weiteren Film aus dem diesjährigen Forum in die Kinos.

Darin lesen und kommentieren Frauen unterschiedlicher Hintergründe und Herkunft Briefe, die in den 70er Jahren an das liberal-feministische „MS. Magazine“ geschrieben wurden. In ihrer dokumentarischen Inszenierung gelingt es Irene Lusztig, einen Fundus der Frauenbewegung von damals in eine vielschichtige Beziehung mit der Gegenwart zu bringen.

kino arsenal: Archive außer sich: Italien ’68

19:00 Kino 2


Della conoscenza

La sequenza del fiore di carta

Tre ipotesi sulla morte di G. Pinelli

Totem

Kurzfilmprogramm „Neue Linke – Neue Formen“
*Della conoscenza Vom Bewusstsein
Alessandra Bocchetti Italien 1968
16 mm OmU 30 min
La sequenza del fiore di carta Sequenz der Paperblume Pier Paolo Pasolini I 1969
Kopie der CSC Cineteca Nazionale 35 mm OmU 12 min
Tre ipotesi sulla morte di G. Pinelli Drei Hypothesen über den Tod von G. Pinelli
Elio Petri Italien 1970 Blu-ray OmU 13 min
Totem Giancarlo Buonfino Italien 1970 Beta SP OmU 27 min

Einführung: Fabian Tietke
kino arsenal: Magical History Tour: Production Design

20:00 Kino 1


Blade Runner

Blade Runner Ridley Scott USA 1982
Mit Harrison Ford, Rutger Hauer Final Cut
DCP OmU 117 min

kino arsenal: Archive außer sich: Italien ’68

21:00 Kino 2


La casa è un diritto non è un privilegio

Lotta per le case

Kurzfilmprogramm „Politische Praxis und urbaner Raum“
La casa è un diritto non è un privilegio Wohnen ist ein Recht und kein Privileg
Anna Lajolo, Alfredo Leonardi, Guido Lombardi, Paola Scarnati
Italien 1970 Beta SP OmU 40 min
Lotta per le case Kampf um die Häuser Lotta Continua
Italien 1972 16 mm OmU 30 min