may 2019, arsenal cinema

Guest: Lana Gogoberidze

The German translation of the autobiography of the Georgian director Lana Gogoberidze (*1928) has just been published, with the title “Ich trank Gift wie kachetischen Wein” (“I drank poison like Kakhetian wine”). We will present the book at a reading followed by a screening of RAMDENIME INTERVIU PIRAD SAKITCHEBZE (Some Interviews on Personal Matters, Lana Gogoberidze, USSR/Georgia 1978), which was recently released on DVD. In the film, a journalist called Sofiko interviews all kinds of women about their lives and desires, while at the same time trying herself to find a fragile balance between professional fulfillment and family-related duties. With great sensitivity, Lana Gogoberidze uses a documentary-esque style and dynamic camera movements to tell the story of how the personal and the political are intertwined. Focused on the daily struggle of an emancipated woman, the film is considered one of the first feminist films made in the Soviet Union. (al) (1.5.)

april 2019, arsenal cinema

Life at Any Price –
 Bo Widerberg Retrospective

Passionate rebellion and his desperate need to tell stories at any cost brought him to film, realizing his vision of a cinema combining social engagement and romantic devotion in his 13 features, shaping, examining, and celebrating humankind’s struggle for a dignified, self-determined life in great images of tremendous clarity: Swedish filmmaker Bo Widerberg (1930–1997) left behind a shimmering, multi-faceted oeuvre and was already regarded as one of the most important Swedish directors alongside Ingmar Bergman and Victor Sjöström in his lifetime. Unlike them, however, his work is hardly known outside his home country.

The retrospective runs from April 12–28.

april 2019, arsenal cinema

Magical History Tour: Clothes in Motion – Costumes, Styles and Fashion in Film

This month's Magical History Tour invites audiences to take a look into the studios of international costume-makers, fashion designers and artists from seven decades: White suits, red shoes, black coasts, dark sunglasses – there is many a piece of clothing or accessory to be found over the course of film history that seems to encapsulate an entire film, even outside of its immediate context. Yet even before costumes attain this iconic status, they tell stories within the film, give their wearers new life, conceal hidden depths, create atmospheres, and leave their mark on the look, texture, and often even the soundtrack of films. The dramatic, narrative, and psychological function of costumes in film is undisputed, as is their influence on the zeitgeists, fashion trends, and styles which they call into existence, play a role in, and launch.

arsenal cinema: AFRIKAMERA 2018: The Horn of Africa

03:00 pm Cinema 1


Supa Modo

Supa Modo Likarion Wainaina
Kenya/Germany 2018
DCP OV/EnS 74 min

arsenal cinema: The Cinema I care about is at the level of poetry

04:30 pm Cinema 2


Three Portrait Sketches

Portrait of Ga

Happy Bees

Where I Am Is Here

Aerial

Colour Poems

Tailpiece

Garden Pieces

Three Portrait Sketches Margaret Tait UK 1951 16 mm 10 min
*Portrait of Ga Margaret Tait UK 1952 16 mm 4 min
Happy Bees Margaret Tait UK 1955 16 mm 17 min
*Where I Am Is Here Margaret Tait UK 1964 16 mm 35 mn
*Aerial Margaret Tait UK 1974 without dialogue 16 mm 4 min
*Colour Poems Margaret Tait UK 1974 16 mm 12 min
Tailpiece Margaret Tait UK 1976 16 mm 9 min
*Garden Pieces Margaret Tait UK 1998 16 mm 12 min

arsenal cinema: AFRIKAMERA 2018: The Horn of Africa

05:00 pm Cinema 1


Tunisia Factory

Tunisia Factory Short film program
Tunisia/France 2018
DCP OV/EnS 60 min

arsenal cinema: AFRIKAMERA 2018: The Horn of Africa

06:30 pm Cinema 1


Sudan Shorts Kurzfilmprogramm

Sudan Shorts Short Film Program
Sudan 2015–2017
Digital file OV/EnS approx. 70 min

arsenal cinema: The Cinema I care about is at the level of poetry

07:00 pm Cinema 2


Calypso

Blue Black Permanent

Calypso Margaret Tait UK1955
35 mm 4 min
Blue Black Permanent Margaret Tait UK 1992
35 mm OV 84 min

Presented by Ute Aurand
arsenal cinema: AFRIKAMERA 2018: The Horn of Africa

08:30 pm Cinema 1


Five Fingers for Marseilles

Five Fingers for Marseilles
Michael Matthews South Africa 2017
Blu-ray OV/EnS 120 min

mai 2019, kino arsenal

Lana Gogoberidse zu Gast

Unter dem Titel „Ich trank Gift wie kachetischen Wein“ ist soeben die Autobiografie der georgischen Regisseurin Lana Gogoberidse (*1928) auf Deutsch erschienen. Wir präsentieren das Buch in einer Lesung mit anschließender Vorführung von RAMDENIME INTERWIU PIRAD SAKITCHEBSE (Einige Interviews zu persönlichen Fragen, Lana Gogoberidse, UdSSR/Georgien 1978), der vor Kurzem auf DVD erschienen ist. Die Protagonistin Sofiko interviewt als Journalistin unterschiedlichste Frauen zu ihren Lebensbedingungen und Wünschen und bemüht sich gleichzeitig selbst um eine fragile Balance zwischen beruflicher Erfüllung und familiären Pflichten. Feinfühlig erzählt Lana Gogoberidse in dokumentarisch anmutendem Stil und mit dynamischer Kameraführung von der Verzahnung des Privaten mit dem Politischen. Mit seinem Fokus auf die alltäglichen Kämpfe einer emanzipierten Frau gilt EINIGE INTERVIEWS ZU PERSÖNLICHEN FRAGEN als einer der ersten feministischen Filme der Sowjetunion. (al) (1.5.)

april 2019, kino arsenal

Leben um jeden Preis – Retrospektive Bo Widerberg

Leidenschaftliches Aufbegehren, der Sturm und Drang des unbedingten Erzählen-Müssens brachten ihn zum Film, und in seinen 13 Langfilmen verwirklichte er seine Vision von einem Kino, das soziales Engagement und romantische Hingabe vereint, den Kampf des Menschen für ein würdevolles und selbstbestimmtes Leben in großen, klaren Bildern gestaltet, untersucht und feiert: Der schwedische Filmemacher Bo Widerberg (1930–1997) hinterließ ein schillerndes, facettenreiches Werk und galt schon zu Lebzeiten neben Ingmar Bergman und Victor Sjöström als einer der wichtigsten schwedischen Regisseure. Im Gegensatz zu ihnen ist sein Œuvre außerhalb seiner Heimat nur unzureichend bekannt. Wir zeigen es in einer Retrospektive vom 12. – 28. April.

april 2019, kino arsenal

Magical History Tour: Kleider in Bewegung – Kostüme, Stile und Mode im Film

Die Magical History Tour im April lädt ein zu einem Blick in die Ateliers internationaler Kostümbildner*innen, Modedesigner*innen und Künstler*innen aus sieben Jahrzehnten: Weiße Anzüge, rote Schuhe, schwarze Mäntel, dunkle Sonnenbrillen – in der Filmgeschichte findet sich so manches Kleidungsstück oder Accessoire, das auch außerhalb des filmischen Kontexts den gesamten Film in sich zu vereinen scheint. Doch noch bevor Kostüme diesen ikonischen Status erlangen, erzählen sie im Film Geschichten, verheißen ihren Trägern neues Leben, verdecken Abgründe, schaffen Atmosphären, prägen den Look, die Textur und nicht selten auch die Tonspur der Filme. Die dramaturgische, narrative, psychologische Funktion der Kostüme im Film ist unbenommen, wie auch ihr Einfluss auf Zeitgeist, Modetrends und -stile, die sie mitverantworten, kreieren, lancieren.

 

märz 2019, living archive

Archive außer sich: Projekt-Webseite

Das vom Arsenal initiierte Projekt „Archive außer sich“ beschäftigt sich seit 2017 mit dem filmkulturellen Erbe und seinen Archiven. Aufbauend auf der Idee des Archivs als Ort der Produktion entstehen interdisziplinäre Forschungs-, Veranstaltungs- und Ausstellungsprojekte, die untersuchen, welche Gegenwart und Zukunft aus archivarischen Konstellationen entworfen werden können. Zusammen mit den Partnerinstitutionen Internationale Kurzfilmtage Oberhausen, Film Feld Forschung, Harun Farocki-Institut, SAVVY Contemporary, pong und dem Masterstudiengang „Filmkultur: Archivierung, Programmierung, Präsentation“ der Goethe-Universität Frankfurt gibt es nun eine gemeinsame Projekt-Website: archive-ausser-sich.de versammelt Neuigkeiten, Filmprogramme, Ausstellungen, öffentliche Sichtungen und Publikationen, die im Rahmen des Projekts entstehen.

kino arsenal: AFRIKAMERA 2018: Horn von Afrika

15:00 Kino 1


Supa Modo

Supa Modo Likarion Wainaina
Kenia/Deutschland 2018
DCP OmE 74 min

kino arsenal: The Cinema I care about is at the level of poetry

16:30 Kino 2


Three Portrait Sketches

Portrait of Ga

Happy Bees

Where I Am Is Here

Aerial

Colour Poems

Tailpiece

Garden Pieces

Three Portrait Sketches Margaret Tait GB 1951 16 mm 10 min
*Portrait of Ga Margaret Tait GB 1952 16 mm 4 min
Happy Bees Margaret Tait GB 1955 16 mm 17 min
*Where I Am Is Here Margaret Tait GB 1964 16 mm 35 mn
*Aerial Margaret Tait GB 1974 ohne Dialog 16 mm 4 min
*Colour Poems Margaret Tait GB 1974 16 mm 12 min
Tailpiece Margaret Tait GB 1976 16 mm 9 min
*Garden Pieces Margaret Tait GB 1998 16 mm 12 min

kino arsenal: AFRIKAMERA 2018: Horn von Afrika

17:00 Kino 1


Tunisia Factory

Tunisia Factory Kurzfilmprogramm
Tunesien/Frankreich 2018
DCP OmE 60 min

kino arsenal: AFRIKAMERA 2018: Horn von Afrika

18:30 Kino 1


Sudan Shorts Kurzfilmprogramm

Sudan Shorts Kurzfilmprogramm
Sudan 2015–2017
Digital file OmE ca. 70 min

kino arsenal: The Cinema I care about is at the level of poetry

19:00 Kino 2


Calypso

Blue Black Permanent

Calypso Margaret Tait GB 1955
35 mm 4 min
Blue Black Permanent Margaret Tait GB 1992
35 mm OF 84 min

Präsentiert von Ute Aurand
kino arsenal: AFRIKAMERA 2018: Horn von Afrika

20:30 Kino 1


Five Fingers for Marseilles

Five Fingers for Marseilles
Michael Matthews Südafrika 2017
Blu-ray OmE 120 min