Emily Wardill

Night for Day
Portugal, Austria 2020

11.06.2021 21:30 Eng. subtitles Open Air Kino HKW

47 min. English, Portuguese.

Night for Day sets out with a fake mother-son relationship between three real people living in contemporary Lisbon. The ‘mother’ is Isabel do Carmo, who co-ran the Revolutionary Brigades in Portugal that helped to overthrow the longest fascist dictatorship in Europe, and the ‘sons’ are two young men, Alexander Bridi and Djelal Osman–astrophysicists running a start-up in Lisbon that attempts to programme computers to recognise moving images. The film collages a subjectivity from fragments of cameras struggling to see at night, of presences out in the cold watching families inside their homes, and images that attempt to describe a loved one in frequencies of three. Their imaginary house is the real family home of the architect António Teixeira Guerra, finished just before 1974, designed in the shape of a triangle and shot at the time he always chose to invite guests–the magic hour. (Emily Wardill)

Emily Wardill, born 1977 in the United Kingdom, lives and works in Lisbon, Portugal and Malmo, Sweden. Her films, photographs and objects probe the complexity of perception and communication, the question of how reality appears authentic to us, and the displacements of substance and form effected by the individual nature of the imagination. The films that she started making in the mid-2000s are typically defined by a narrative framework, but the plots as such tend to be secondary. The focus is on other aspects: the mechanics of storytelling, the relationship of imaginary space to language and the interplay between gesture and word. Wardill’s work has been exhibited in museums, art spaces and biennials internationally. Currently, Wardill works as a Professor at Malmo Art Academy, Sweden and as a visiting tutor at Maumaus, School of Visual Arts, in Lisbon.

Production company Stenar Projects (Lissabon, Portugal). Written and directed by Emily Wardill. Cinematography Emanuel Garcia, José Marques, Emily Wardill. Editing Emily Wardill, Francisco Moreira. Music The Louis Moholo Octet, Dominic Fitzgerald, Emily Wardill. Sound design Dominic Fitzgerald. Commissioned by Vienna Secession. With Isabel do Carmo (voice, herself), Djelal Osman (voice, himself), Alexander Bridi (voice, himself), Kimberley Pearl Febich (woman on the beach 1), Paula Barco (woman on the beach 2), Aurora Santos (woman on the beach 3), Christina Gonçalves (woman on the beach 4), Carloto Cotta (man at home).

Films

2006: Ben (10 min.), Basking in what feels like ‘An Ocean of Grace’ I soon realise that I am not looking at it, but rather, I AM it, recognising myself (8 min.), Born Winged Animals and Honey Gatherers of the Soul (9 Min.). 2007: Sick Serena and Dregs and Wreck and Wreck (12 min.). 2008: Sea Oak (51 min.), The Diamond (Descartes Daughter) (10 min.). 2009: Game Keepers without Game (72 min.). 2010: The Pips (7 min.). 2011: Full Firearms (81 min.). 2012: Found himself in a walled garden... (45 min.), The Third Person (43 min.). 2013: The Palace (7 min.). 2014: When you fall into a trance (72 min.). 2016: I gave me love a cherry that had no stone (8 min.). 2017: No Trace of Accelerator (48 min.). 2019: Bi (14 min.). 2020: Night For Day.

Photo: © Stenar Projects

Emily Wardill

Night for Day
Portugal, Österreich 2020

47 Min. Englisch, Portugiesisch.

Night for Day beginnt mit einer fiktionalen Mutter-Sohn-Beziehung zwischen drei echten Menschen, die im heutigen Lissabon leben. Die „Mutter“ ist Isabel do Carmo, eine der Anführerinnen der portugiesischen Revolutionären Brigaden, die mithalfen, die längste faschistische Diktatur Europas zu stürzen. Die „Söhne“ sind zwei junge Männer – Alexander Bridi und Djelal Osman. Sie sind Astrophysiker und betreiben in Lissabon ein Start-Up, das versucht, Computer so zu programmieren, dass sie bewegte Bilder erkennen können. Der Film collagiert eine Subjektivität aus Bildfragmenten verschiedenster Quellen: Kameras, die nachts zu sehen versuchen; Entitäten in der Kälte, die Familien in ihren Häusern beobachten; und Bilder, die versuchen, eine geliebte Person in drei Frequenzen darzustellen. Das fiktive Haus der Protagonist*innen ist das echte Einfamilienhaus des Architekten António Teixeira Guerra, das kurz vor 1974 fertiggestellt wurde. Es ist in Form eines Dreiecks angelegt und wurde zur „blauen Stunde“ gefilmt – der Zeit, zu der der Hausherr seine Gäste einzuladen pflegte. (Emily Wardill)

Emily Wardill, geboren 1977 im Vereinigten Königreich, lebt und arbeitet in Lissabon, Portugal und Malmö, Schweden. Ihre Filme, Fotografien und Objekte erforschen die Komplexität von Wahrnehmung und Kommunikation, gehen der Frage nach, auf welche Weise uns Realität als authentisch erscheint und untersucht die Verschiebungen von Substanz und Form, die durch individuelle Vorstellungskraft hervorgerufen werden. Die Filme, die sie Mitte der 2000er Jahre begann zu produzieren, besitzen in der Regel einen Handlungsrahmen, doch der Plot als solcher nimmt meist eine nachgeordnete Rolle ein. Der Fokus liegt auf anderen Aspekten: der Mechanik des Geschichtenerzählens, dem Verhältnis zwischen Imaginationsraum und Sprache und dem Wechselspiel zwischen Geste und Wort. Wardills Arbeiten sind international in Museen, Kunsträumen und Biennalen gezeigt worden. Zur Zeit ist Wardill Professorin an der Kunstakademie Malmö in Schweden sowie Gastdozentin an der Schule für bildende Kunst in Lissabon.

Produktion Anže Peršin, Emily Wardill. Produktionsfirma Stenar Projects (Lissabon, Portugal). Regie, Buch Emily Wardill. Kamera Emanuel Garcia, José Marques, Emily Wardill. Montage Emily Wardill, Francisco Moreira. Musik The Louis Moholo Octet, Dominic Fitzgerald, Emily Wardill. Sound Design Dominic Fitzgerald. In Auftrag gegeben von Vienna Secession. Mit Isabel do Carmo (Stimme, sie selbst), Djelal Osman (Stimme, er selbst), Alexander Bridi (Stimme, er selbst), Kimberley Pearl Febich (Frau am Strand 1), Paula Barco (Frau am Strand 2), Aurora Santos (Frau am Strand 3), Christina Gonçalves (Frau am Strand 4), Carloto Cotta (Mann im Haus).

Filme

2006: Ben (10 Min.), Basking in what feels like ‘An Ocean of Grace’ I soon realise that I am not looking at it, but rather, I AM it, recognising myself (8 Min.), Born Winged Animals and Honey Gatherers of the Soul (9 Min.). 2007: Sick Serena and Dregs and Wreck and Wreck (12 Min.). 2008: Sea Oak (51 Min.), The Diamond (Descartes Daughter) (10 Min.). 2009: Game Keepers without Game (72 Min.). 2010: The Pips (7 Min.). 2011: Full Firearms (81 Min.). 2012: Found himself in a walled garden... (45 Min.), The Third Person (43 Min.). 2013: The Palace (7 Min.). 2014: When you fall into a trance (72 Min.). 2016: I gave me love a cherry that had no stone (8 Min.). 2017: No Trace of Accelerator (48 Min.). 2019: Bi (14 Min.). 2020: Night For Day.

Foto: © Stenar Projects