Moritz Siebert

Zahlvaterschaft / Fatherland
Germany 2021

11.06.2021 21:30 Eng. subtitles Open Air Kino HKW

22 min. German.

Gerson Liebl, grandson of a German colonial officer from Togo, has been fighting to get German citizenship and residency permission for the last 30 years. As a last-ditch effort he resorts to a hunger strike. Images of his unwavering persistence in front of the Rotes Rathaus in Berlin are accompanied on the soundtrack by statements, testimonies, clauses from laws, legal texts, political positions, and prevarications—then and now. (Moritz Siebert)

Moritz Siebert, born in Stuttgart, Germany, in 1973, initially studied medicine and cultural anthropology in Berlin before completing studies in documentary filmmaking at the National Film and Television School in the UK. In 2016 his film Les Sauteurs was shown in the Berlinale Forum. Moritz Siebert lives and works as a filmmaker and physician in Berlin.

Production Moritz Siebert. Production company siebertfilms (Berlin, Germany). Director Moritz Siebert. Screenplay Hanna Keller, Moritz Siebert. Cinematography Moritz Siebert. Editing Moritz Siebert. Sound design Niklas Kammertöns. Executive producers Moritz Siebert, Hanna Keller. With Gerson Liebl.

Films

2005: Belgrade Backspin (with Anne Misselwitz, 34 min.). 2008: My Name is Karl (32 min.). 2009: Anne and Gail (15 min.), Long Distance (30 min.). 2010: Blue Elephant (15 min.). 2013: Erntehelfer / Harvest Hand (72 min.). 2016: Les Sauteurs / Those Who Jump (80 min., Forum 2016). 2019: ma nouvelle vie européenne (22 min.). 2021: Zahlvaterschaft / Fatherland.

Photo: © Moritz Siebert

Moritz Siebert

Zahlvaterschaft / Fatherland
Deutschland 2021

22 Min. Deutsch.

Gerson Liebl, Enkel eines deutschen Kolonialbeamten aus Togo, kämpft seit 30 Jahren für den Erhalt der deutschen Staatsangehörigkeit und ein Aufenthaltsrecht in Deutschland. Als letztes Mittel greift er zum Hungerstreik. Die Bilder seines unbeirrbaren Ausharrens vor dem Berliner Roten Rathaus werden auf der Tonspur begleitet von Aussagen, Zeugnissen, Paragraphen, Gesetzestexten, politischen Standpunkten und Ausflüchten – damals und heute. (Moritz Siebert)

Moritz Siebert, geboren 1973 in Stuttgart, schloss zunächst ein Studium der Medizin und Kulturanthropologie in Berlin ab, bevor er an der National Film and Television School (NFTS) in Großbritannien ein weiteres Studium absolvierte. Sein Film Les Sauteurs wurde 2016 im Berlinale Forum gezeigt. Moritz Siebert lebt und arbeitet als Filmemacher und Arzt in Berlin.

Produktion Moritz Siebert. Produktionsfirma siebertfilms (Berlin, Deutschland). Regie Moritz Siebert. Buch Hanna Keller, Moritz Siebert. Kamera Moritz Siebert. Montage Moritz Siebert. Sound Design Niklas Kammertöns. Ausführende Produzent*innen Moritz Siebert, Hanna Keller. Mit Gerson Liebl.

Filme

2005: Belgrade Backspin (mit Anne Misselwitz, 34 Min.). 2008: My Name is Karl (32 Min.). 2009: Anne and Gail (15 Min.), Long Distance (30 Min.). 2010: Blue Elephant (15 Min.). 2013: Erntehelfer / Harvest Hand (72 Min.). 2016: Les Sauteurs / Those Who Jump (80 Min., Forum 2016). 2019: ma nouvelle vie européenne (22 Min.). 2021: Zahlvaterschaft / Fatherland.

Foto: © Moritz Siebert