Sharief Zohairy

Saba' Sanawat Hawl Delta Al-Neel / Seven Years Around The Nile Delta
Egypt 2020

331 min. Arabic.

Delta (Δ) is the symbol of change in the Greek culture and it is the 4th letter in the Phoenician alphabet that links the Greek language to the ancient Egyptian language. During his childhood and adolescence Sharief Zhairy used to travel four times each year, with his father in his car, between Alexandria, where he was studying, and Al-Zarqa, his birthplace. It was a three-hour trip along the agricultural road system that links distant parts of lower Egypt. After a year of the political instability that happened in Egypt, Zohairy got encouraged in 2012 to rediscover the old journey using a Handycam to document the emotional experience of a traveler inside the Nile Delta. The result of his eight-year-long cinematic journey is a mix of road movie and travelogue, contemplating the diversity of thirty-two cities and villages of the Nile Delta and documenting the contemporary daily activities in this ecologically endangered area.

Sharief Zohairy is an independent director, screen writer, and producer based in Alexandria. He graduated from the Faculty of Medicine, then by the end of 2006 he directed his first short fiction film. Several other film projects followed. Since 2013 he has focused on writing screenplays, two of which have received awards.

Production Sharief Zohairy, Abdullah Dawestashy. Production company Sharief Zohairy's Production (Alexandria, Egypt). Written and directed by Sharief Zohairy. Cinematography Sharief Zohairy. Editing Sharief Zohairy. Sound design Sharief Zohairy. Production manager Sharief Zohairy.

Films

2006: Maybe Switched Off. 2009: Resemblances. 2012: The Journey. 2020: Happening Over Night, Saba' Sanawat Hawl Delta Al-Neel / Seven Years Around The Nile Delta.

Photo: © Sharief Zohairy

Sharief Zohairy

Saba' Sanawat Hawl Delta Al-Neel / Seven Years Around The Nile Delta
Ägypten 2020

331 Min. Arabisch.

Der Buchstabe Delta (Δ) steht in der griechischen Kultur für Veränderungen. Im phönizischen Alphabet ist er der vierte Buchstabe und verbindet so die griechische Sprache mit der Sprache des alten Ägyptens.
In seiner Kindheit und Jugend fuhr Sharief Zohairy jedes Jahr vier Mal mit seinem Vater in dessen Auto von Alexandria, wo er zur Schule ging, nach Al-Zarqa, seinem Geburtsort. Die Reise dauerte drei Stunden und führte über die Landwirtschaftsstraßen, die die entlegenen Gebiete Unterägyptens miteinander verbinden. Nach einem Jahr der politischen Instabilität in Ägypten beschloss Zohairy 2012 diese alte Route erneut zu bereisen. Mit seiner Videokamera begann er, die Eindrücke eines Reisenden im Nildelta zu dokumentieren. Das Ergebnis seiner achtjährigen filmischen Reise ist eine Mischung aus Roadmovie und Reisebericht und zeigt die Diversität von 32 Städten und Dörfern im Delta genauso wie das Alltagsleben in dieser von Umweltverschmutzung bedrohten Gegend.

Sharief Zohairy ist ein unabhängiger Filmemacher, Drehbuchautor und Produzent. Nach dem Abschluss seines Medizinstudiums im Jahr 2006 führte er bei seinem ersten Kurzspielfilm Regie. Weitere Filme folgten. Seit 2013 fokussiert er sich auf das Verfassen von Drehbüchern. Zwei seiner Bücher wurden mit Preisen ausgezeichnet. Er lebt und arbeitet in Alexandria, Ägypten.

Produktion Sharief Zohairy, Abdullah Dawestashy. Produktionsfirma Sharief Zohairy's Production (Alexandria, Ägypten). Regie, Buch Sharief Zohairy. Kamera Sharief Zohairy. Montage Sharief Zohairy. Sound Design Sharief Zohairy. Produktionsleitung Sharief Zohairy.

Filme

2006: Maybe Switched Off. 2009: Resemblances. 2012: The Journey. 2020: Happening Over Night, Saba' Sanawat Hawl Delta Al-Neel / Seven Years Around The Nile Delta.

Foto: © Sharief Zohairy