Minjung Kim

"Le-deu-pil-teo-ga Cheol-hoe-doeb-ni-da." / “The red filter is withdrawn.”
Republic of Korea 2020

12.06.2021 21:30 Eng. subtitles silent green
19.06.2021 21:30 Eng. subtitles Atelier Gardens Freiluftkino @ BUFA

11 min. English, Korean.

Numerous colonial places, including coastal caves and military bunkers on many Oreums (small volcanoes inside a main volcanic crater) as well as memories of uprisings and massacres are found in every corner of Jeju Island.
This work is based on René Magritte's “La Condition Humaine” (1935), which offers a view of the outside of a cave superimposed on a canvas. It also includes some quotes from Hollis Frampton’s performance “A Lecture,” making it the voice for the entire work. (Minjung Kim)

Minjung Kim studied Visual Communication Design at Hongik University, Seoul and earned an MFA in Film and Video from the California Institute of the Arts. Her work has screened at international film festivals and media venues. She has received awards, including Best Ex-is Award, Nemaf Best Korean Propose, and Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker. She currently lives and works in Seoul.

Production Minjung Kim. Production company Minjung Kim (Seoul, Korea). Director Minjung Kim. Montage Minjung Kim. Music Haeyeon Kim. Sound design Minjung Kim. Assistant director Kyungsuk Shin.

Films

2015: Australian Paper (2 min.). 2016: FOOTAGE (2 min.). 2017: (100ft) (3 min.). 2020: "Le-deu-pil-teo-ga Cheol-hoe-doeb-ni-da." / “The red filter is withdrawn.”.

Photo: © Minjung Kim

Minjung Kim

"Le-deu-pil-teo-ga Cheol-hoe-doeb-ni-da." / “The red filter is withdrawn.”
Republik Korea 2020

11 Min. Englisch, Koreanisch.

Orte mit kolonialen Bezügen, darunter Höhlen an der Küste, Militärbunker (angesiedelt auf den Oreums, den unzähligen kleineren Vulkanen innerhalb des Hauptvulkankraters), sowie Erinnerungen an Aufstände und Massaker lassen sich in jedem Winkel der Insel Jeju finden.
The red filter is withdrawn basiert auf René Magrittes Gemälde „La Condition Humaine“ (1935), das eine, in einem Höhleneingang stehende Staffelei mit Leinwand zeigt, auf der die hinter ihr liegende Landschaft zu sehen ist. Aus Hollis Framptons Performance „A Lecture“ entlehnte Zitate werden zum Sprachrohr für die gesamte Arbeit. (Minjung Kim)

Minjung Kim hat Visuelles Kommunikationsdesign an der Hongik Universität in Seoul, Korea studiert und machte am California Institute of the Arts einen MFA-Abschluss in Film und Video. Ihre Arbeiten wurden international auf Filmfestivals und in Medienkunsträumen gezeigt. Ihre Filme wurden vielfach ausgezeichnet, unter anderem mit dem Best Exis Award, dem Nemaf Best Korea Propose Preis und dem Tom Berman Award for Most Promising Filmmaker. Sie lebt und arbeitet in Seoul.

Produktion Minjung Kim. Produktionsfirma Minjung Kim (Seoul, Korea). Regie Minjung Kim. Montage Minjung Kim. Musik Haeyeon Kim. Sound Design Minjung Kim. Regieassistenz Kyungsuk Shin.

Filme

2015: Australian Paper (2 Min.). 2016: FOOTAGE (2 Min.). 2017: (100ft) (3 Min.). 2020: "Le-deu-pil-teo-ga Cheol-hoe-doeb-ni-da." / “The red filter is withdrawn.”.

Foto: © Minjung Kim